We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this castle!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Chillon

Chateau de Chillon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$162.97*
and up
Montreux, Château de Chillon, and Chaplin's World Day Winter Trip from Geneva
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Don't miss this castle!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The visit takes you from the cellar to the attic of the Castle. There are guided visits (also ipod guided ones), and lots of interesting things to see and discover. Also, temporary exhibition are nice.

It is not stroller-friendly, though, nor is it for people with difficulties to walk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marmidotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,953
    819
    114
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost a must if you are in Montreux”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Chateau is a free to enter with a Swiss Pass (it's not mentioned in the list of free 'museums' as fas as I could see) but I can confirm that it's free in May 2014. The lakeside location is itself an amazement. We spent about 2 happy hours just wandering within the castle (we completely ignored the free paper handout but managed to enjoyed our visit as it felt like we were on an exploring mission).

We also enjoyed the Playmobil exhibition which added good contrast to this historical building.

Also worth mentioning is the video / audio info stations available free within the castle (in many different languages). You are able to play clips on topics like daily life, history, architecture, prison life etc - very informative.

Don't miss the views from the watchtower - the steps will be worth it when you get to the top.

The Chateau can be reached by bus 201 (every 10 minutes) or the ferry (a lot less frequent), but the approach by ferry is special as you get to appreciate the lakeside view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LLNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Generally interesting but no facilities for those who can't do stairs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a fascinating historical castle set on the borderland of Switzerland. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The first part of the tour was outstanding. But then we were confronted with a massive stairway that i couldn't do because of hip problems. The guide did not offer any alternatives--there probably were none. So the only thing to do was hang out in their gift shop and then wait on the bus for my group. I was disappointed they didn't offer any alternatives for those with physical problems.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Packed full of historical interest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Give yourself enough time to get round this place, although it looks quite small there are so many interesting facts to find out on the little computer screens and scandulous family stories to be heard that we were meandering through the castle for much longer than we anticipated. The views from each level of the castle were well worth it too. The shop had some lovely little gifts to purchase if you have the luggage space.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bebe318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Impressive medieval castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Chillon is one of the most interesting castles we've visited. It's in a gorgeous setting on Lac Leman and we couldn't stop taking photos, especially when 2 swans swam into the picture! The castle itself has been lovingly and expertly restored. We didn't take the audio tour, and found that we didn't need it. The information provided at each "area" was sufficient. The Swiss did a great job of providing clarification and information in certain areas, such as the old dungeons, without interfering with the ambience. We could really imagine life, and death, in the castle during its heyday.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Chillon also viewed

Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
Montreux, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Chateau de Chillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing