We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous and Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Reviewed 9 June 2014

1.First of all I Love it's location opposite to Geneva Lake.

2.the most amazing thing I liked about the hotel is the staff, they were so friendly and helpful.
3. I will always remember the delicious food in the restaurant and the wonderful staff who are so tolerant and kind.
4.everything is kept so clean and the furniture reminds me of the classic era. I liked it so much, because it gave me the sense of warmth.
5. If I have the chance to come back again,I will defiantly spend my money and time in Excelsior, because I had a great experience.
6.Love it soooo much :) I'm already missing the place and the staff.. Everything is Awesome

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Only plus point here is excellent location and nice views from the room (for lake view rooms).
Staff are not at all polite and not co-operative.
No WIFI. You have to connect CABLE to your LAPTOP. Can you imagine any tourist carrying LAPTOPs? It is well known that everyone carry Tabs/Pads. Horrible food. Old building not maintained properly.
NOT VALUE FOR MONEY AT ALL....
Visited with my wife in May 2014.

Room Tip: Only select Lake View room (if at all you want to stay here).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MOHAMMED IMRAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Perfectly positioned overlooking Lake Geneva, our double room had a lake view, balcony and had recently been refurbished. On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful man on the front desk who offered information on Montreux, the hotel and made us a dinner reservation for the on site restaurant. The restaurant looks like a restaurant from days gone by - quite formal. We found the food to be good, well presented and the staff were very helpful in describing some elements of the menu that we did not understand (menu written in French). Roadside parking outside the hotel is convenient and provides easy access.
Overall, a good hotel that is in need of refurbishment but none the less we would visit again in view of the service and most of all the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is in desparate need up updating. THe wallpapers are stained and torn, the carpet is stained, the plaster is cracking, the list goes on. The hotel did not smell appealing in most places and the breakfast was lousy, albeit included in the rate. The only thing that stopped this property from getting a 1 star in my opinion are the views and position on the lakefront walkway, which are spectacular. However, many places in town have the same views with presumably more quality. I am not sure how this place retains its 4 star rating. The hotel was almost full on a Saturday night which should mean that they have plenty of money to maintain the facility. I saw several nurses with medical equipment roaming the halls, so perhaps the revenue from the medical stays outweighs the tourists?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whereaminow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First the upside - large rooms, right on the lake shore with balconies overlooking both the lake and the mountains in the distance, relatively easy parking curbside, nicely appointed though old-fashioned public areas. Relatively cheap prices for a 4 star property, to boot.
Unfortunately, there are downsides, too. The rooms and their furniture have a tired, almost shabby look. And you can't get a meal or even room service food after 9 PM!
What's the reason for these incongruities? The hotel is (also physically) divided into a private clinic offering cell therapy for wealthy Russian and Chinese visitors, and the normal hospitality part. As the good money flows from the clinic, investments in the hotel part are non-existent - except there where the clinic guest use a facility, too, like the elevators.
The very friendly staff cannot, alas, compensate for the drawbacks.

Room Tip: Take only rooms on the lakeside.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed her for two nights whilst visiting someone in the Clinic Valmont. it is a gorgeous hotel, beautiful refurbished. Postion excellent to walk along the lake front, flowers in bloom, Freddy Mercury Statue fun to see. This is by the Casino and there is a brilliant display inside - like a studio set up with lovely mementos on display and costumes. Castle Chillon nearby provided picture perfect photographs.
Room in hotel overlooking the lake was perfect..to see the sun rise and set. Little balcony to sit in the sun, minibar. No coffee making facilities. Restaurant offered a good meal with excellent service. Would definitely go back here for our next visit..

Room Tip: Lake view with balcony. We were in room 4203 (note this is a twin bed room). Very large and sunny...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I give this a 3.5. Lovely property with friendly staff and a unique indoor olympic pool next to the lake. But, do not expect 4 star luxury. The rooms and common area are a bit frumpy and threadbare in places. If you plan to be out and about, this is a nice place to lay your head. And, if it rains, go to the pool. Also, very family friendly

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.5 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#13 of 17 in Montreux
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
0.9 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
0.1 mi away
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
#6 of 17 in Montreux
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior

Address: rue de Bon-Port 27, Montreux 1820, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Excelsior Montreux)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price Range: £129 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing