We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,318)
Filter reviews
1,318 results
Traveller rating
648
449
141
46
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
648
449
141
46
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station lake view lake geneva l'occitane products arriving by train directly across the street des alpes wooden floors excellent location small balcony an amazing view hotel restaurant christmas market deluxe room breakfast was excellent chillon castle jazz festival
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,318 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Paid a lot of Money for very little sleep!! The views are fantastic of the lake from the rooms, but the trip was completely ruined by noise!! On the 1st night there was a party going on in the room next door and the next night we were kept up by a large number of people in the street screaming and shouting from 4am - 7am!! Made it a very poor experience!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Simonicecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Simonicecool,
Thank you for sharing your review with us that we have fully taken into consideration.
Regarding the inconveniences faced concerning the noise at night, we are deeply sorry for them.
Therefore we would have loved to be informed during your stay in order to have tried to do something about it.
We at least hope that your overall experience was pleasant and we would love to get the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to Montreux and show you how seriously we take our guest comments into account.
With our best regards.
Your Grand Hôtel Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

This all started with the arrival. Which was very mechanic, no welcome, no conversation but more the feeling of bothering the reception team with my presence. When I then got into the lift, a housekeeper joined my and started to complain to me about the fact that she has to clean too many rooms and that she is tired.

The room was great with stunning views, bed very comfortable and housekeeping is very thorough so the room was super clean.

Breakfast was great. All employees were very helpful and attentive. The food was great too and the buffet was well taken care of.

When asking for a late check out, we were told "no" as other guests would be arriving in all rooms of our party (which is absolutely fine) but rather than leaving it at that, the receptionist felt the need to say in a firm manner that we would have to pay if we overstayed. Not sure how this tone is appropriate in a hotel that bears the word 'Majestic' in its title.

On departure again, no thank, no enquiry as to how our stay was asnotherwsie I'd have told them and wouldn't have written this review.

Overall the hotel is quite unpleasant and it is mainly the reception team that create this ambience of bother. The restaurant is clearly run by a very capable and motivated team, reception however leaves a lot to desire. Montreux is known for its outstanding hospitality yet the Suisse Majestic is a great example of what not to do.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank metropolitanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear metropolitanguy,
First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your review with us that we fully have taken into consideration.
Regarding your room, we are delighted to realise that you found it clean and comfortable and that enjoyed your visit to our Restaurant 45.
Nevertheless, and regarding your experience during check-in and check-out, we would like to ask you to you please accept our most sincere apologies.
These are clearly not the standards we wish to reflect and you can be assured that the necessary measures will be implemented to improve the quality of our services in order to make this an isolated case and to prevent from future occurrences.
It is thanks to feedbacks like yours that we improve from day to day and that is why we are thankfull for yours.
We at least hope that your overall experience was pleasant and we would love to get the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to Montreux and show you how seriously we take our guest comments into account.
With our best regards.
Your Grand Hôtel Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

The location was perfect and the hotel very nice and comfortable. It is right across from the train station and right on the lake! We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but if the morning is nice, it would be beautiful. The staff was very helpful in making us a dinner reservation and giving us a map to hike through the vineyards nearby. We were able to walk outside the door and walk down the beautiful promenade to the Chillon castle. Would have loved another night here if time allowed! Again - cannot beat this location!

Room tip: Try for a room with a view of the lake!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Ann Z,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for choosing The Grand Hôtel Suisse-Majestic.
We are first of all glad that you enjoyed our location and found it comfortable.
Indeed we are right across Montreux's main station and in front of the Geneva Lake.
We are very happy to read that found our service helpful and as we can see you managed to make the best out of our surroundings!
We will not forget to share your feedback with the rest of the team in order to keep improving our services from day to day.
We hope to welcome you on a future occasion very soon!
With our best regards,
Your Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

We had a lovely one night stay at the Suisse Majestic. Great service from our arrival. Our room looked onto the lake and had the most stunning view from the window. Breathtaking. We had lunch at the hotel which was pleasant though expensive (like most things in Switzerland...). And the breakfast the following morning was great.
The only downside is that it was extremely warm in the room - it got up to 27 degrees - and the air conditioning had been turned off. The hotel said there was nothing they could do about this as the AC was switched off for the autumn. However I feel they could have tried a little harder.
Overall though, a good stay

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Owen M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are very happy to read that found our service great and enjoyed our breakfast offer.
We will not forget to share your feedback with the rest of the team in order to keep improving our services from day to day.
Regarding the room temperature, we have a centralized system. As during your visit the outside temperature was quite warm we lowered the general temperature but unfortunately it takes a bit of time for the rooms to cool down due to our big infrastructure.
We are very sorry for the potential inconveniences this may have caused.
With our best regards,
Your Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Bottom line - Most convenient location; reasonably price 4-star hotel.

Pros - It's a beautiful and historic hotel right opposite Montreux train station. You can't really beat that for convenience if you're travelling by rail. And I would say all the key sights in Montreux itself are fairly accessible by foot from the train station. Service was excellent.

It's a luxurious hotel - plush furnishing and great amenities (e.g., l'occitane toiletries, a small gym with sauna, and a very comfortable lobby).

We didn't include the breakfast in our package but the hotel has a restaurant and bar with excellent views of the lake.

And you get all this for a fairly reasonable price for a 4-star hotel in Switzerland. We paid just a little more to get a room with a lovely view of the lake. The rooms have a small balcony with two chairs for you to admire the view.

The only significant drawback was the air-conditioning - despite setting the it to the lowest temperature, the room was still a warm 27 degrees. We had to open the windows.

One minor inconvenience is that the building has no direct exit to the lake. You have to go around the hotel to walk a flight of stairs down to the lake or an escalator back up to the hotel. The hotel also lacks a swimming pool and the gym could do with some weights.

Room tip: Get a room with a lake view; ask the reception if you need a kettle
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Mark C,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for choosing The Grand Hôtel Suisse-Majestic.
We are first of all glad that you enjoyed our location and found it convenient.
Indeed we are right across Montreux's main station and in front of the Geneva Lake.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your lake view room as well as its furniture and found our service excellent.
We will not forget to share your feedback with the rest of the team in order to keep improving our services from day to day.
We hope we will be able to welcome you again on your next visit.
We stay at your complete disposal if there is anything we can help you with!
With our best regards,
Your Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews