We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
635
443
139
45
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
443
139
45
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station lake view lake geneva l'occitane products arriving by train directly across the street des alpes wooden floors perfect location small balcony christmas market very nice hotel an amazing view hotel restaurant deluxe room breakfast was excellent chillon castle
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Can’t really fault this hotel. The staff were friendly, the room and whole hotel is beautiful, clean and really nothing out of place. The breakfast was really nice too. There aren’t any tea or coffee making facilities in the room and I couldn’t find a hair dryer but I’m sure they’d have given me one if I had asked. The cheapest bottle of wine in the hotel was €50 which stung a bit but we had no choice as we had arrived late so couldn’t go out, however this is a reflection of not only the standard of the hotel but also of prices there in general. The next day we found a little shop (under the station and out the other side and up the road a little bit - Rue de La Gare) where you can buy wine for €10, snacks, soft drinks etc. You will save a lot of money this way! All in all I would recommend this beautiful hotel and location but be prepared financially!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jskelce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear jskelce,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for choosing The Grand Hôtel Suisse-Majestic for your visit to Montreux.
We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel and your room.
Even though we are surprised that you didn't find the hairdryer as all of our room have one, we do not indeed have kettle or coffee facilities in the rooms but have them ready in the Front Desk in order to give them to you upon request.
We are also delighted that you found our staff friendly and will not forget to share your kind feedback with them.
We hope to welcome you on a future occasion very soon!
With our best regards,
Your Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Paid a lot of Money for very little sleep!! The views are fantastic of the lake from the rooms, but the trip was completely ruined by noise!! On the 1st night there was a party going on in the room next door and the next night we were kept up by a large number of people in the street screaming and shouting from 4am - 7am!! Made it a very poor experience!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Simonicecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Simonicecool,
Thank you for sharing your review with us that we have fully taken into consideration.
Regarding the inconveniences faced concerning the noise at night, we are deeply sorry for them.
Therefore we would have loved to be informed during your stay in order to have tried to do something about it.
We at least hope that your overall experience was pleasant and we would love to get the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to Montreux and show you how seriously we take our guest comments into account.
With our best regards.
Your Grand Hôtel Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

This all started with the arrival. Which was very mechanic, no welcome, no conversation but more the feeling of bothering the reception team with my presence. When I then got into the lift, a housekeeper joined my and started to complain to me about the fact that she has to clean too many rooms and that she is tired.

The room was great with stunning views, bed very comfortable and housekeeping is very thorough so the room was super clean.

Breakfast was great. All employees were very helpful and attentive. The food was great too and the buffet was well taken care of.

When asking for a late check out, we were told "no" as other guests would be arriving in all rooms of our party (which is absolutely fine) but rather than leaving it at that, the receptionist felt the need to say in a firm manner that we would have to pay if we overstayed. Not sure how this tone is appropriate in a hotel that bears the word 'Majestic' in its title.

On departure again, no thank, no enquiry as to how our stay was asnotherwsie I'd have told them and wouldn't have written this review.

Overall the hotel is quite unpleasant and it is mainly the reception team that create this ambience of bother. The restaurant is clearly run by a very capable and motivated team, reception however leaves a lot to desire. Montreux is known for its outstanding hospitality yet the Suisse Majestic is a great example of what not to do.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank metropolitanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear metropolitanguy,
First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your review with us that we fully have taken into consideration.
Regarding your room, we are delighted to realise that you found it clean and comfortable and that enjoyed your visit to our Restaurant 45.
Nevertheless, and regarding your experience during check-in and check-out, we would like to ask you to you please accept our most sincere apologies.
These are clearly not the standards we wish to reflect and you can be assured that the necessary measures will be implemented to improve the quality of our services in order to make this an isolated case and to prevent from future occurrences.
It is thanks to feedbacks like yours that we improve from day to day and that is why we are thankfull for yours.
We at least hope that your overall experience was pleasant and we would love to get the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to Montreux and show you how seriously we take our guest comments into account.
With our best regards.
Your Grand Hôtel Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

The location was perfect and the hotel very nice and comfortable. It is right across from the train station and right on the lake! We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but if the morning is nice, it would be beautiful. The staff was very helpful in making us a dinner reservation and giving us a map to hike through the vineyards nearby. We were able to walk outside the door and walk down the beautiful promenade to the Chillon castle. Would have loved another night here if time allowed! Again - cannot beat this location!

Room tip: Try for a room with a view of the lake!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Ann Z,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for choosing The Grand Hôtel Suisse-Majestic.
We are first of all glad that you enjoyed our location and found it comfortable.
Indeed we are right across Montreux's main station and in front of the Geneva Lake.
We are very happy to read that found our service helpful and as we can see you managed to make the best out of our surroundings!
We will not forget to share your feedback with the rest of the team in order to keep improving our services from day to day.
We hope to welcome you on a future occasion very soon!
With our best regards,
Your Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

We had a lovely one night stay at the Suisse Majestic. Great service from our arrival. Our room looked onto the lake and had the most stunning view from the window. Breathtaking. We had lunch at the hotel which was pleasant though expensive (like most things in Switzerland...). And the breakfast the following morning was great.
The only downside is that it was extremely warm in the room - it got up to 27 degrees - and the air conditioning had been turned off. The hotel said there was nothing they could do about this as the AC was switched off for the autumn. However I feel they could have tried a little harder.
Overall though, a good stay

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Owen M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are very happy to read that found our service great and enjoyed our breakfast offer.
We will not forget to share your feedback with the rest of the team in order to keep improving our services from day to day.
Regarding the room temperature, we have a centralized system. As during your visit the outside temperature was quite warm we lowered the general temperature but unfortunately it takes a bit of time for the rooms to cool down due to our big infrastructure.
We are very sorry for the potential inconveniences this may have caused.
With our best regards,
Your Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews