We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveller rating
653
450
142
46
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
653
450
142
46
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station lake view lake geneva l'occitane products arriving by train directly across the street des alpes wooden floors excellent location small balcony an amazing view hotel restaurant christmas market deluxe room breakfast was excellent chillon castle jazz festival
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 5 nights and were well satisfied. The location is in the centre of Montreux, overlooking the lake but literally right opposite the railway station. As this is the communications hub for so many wonderful trips, the hotel has a superbly convenient location. Equally to one side of the hotel is a lift that takes one down to the lakeside and to the other side is an escalator. Thus one gains the vista without the inconvenience of having to walk up a steep slope.

We had specifically requested a bathroom with a walk in shower and there were only about 5 of these but they reserved one for us .... a de-luxe room, over- looking the lake, with a small balcony ...room 709. This was more than adequate, without being anything overly special.

Breakfast was included and was excellent in terms of its quality and choice. Equally all the reception staff, such as the very efficient Matilde were extremely friendly and helpful.

We will certainly stay here again, rather than at the Fairmont or the Plaza, mainly due to its ultra convenient location and its overall quality and value.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StAlbansWilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So this is a mixed review. The hotel is beautiful, the views stunning, food great and the dining room staff wonderful.Loved breakfast with the fresh ground strong coffee, chocolate croissant, air dried ham. All wonderful.

My reason for a three star rating is this.The room was set to 78F (25c) and it was hot. We had no way to control the thermostat and so we slept with the windows open, in February.!!! That and the pillows were terrible. They were so flat we had to roll them up in order to get anything out of it. It was to say the least an uncomfortable night.

Beautiful hotel, just uncomfortable sleeping.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlbalTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the hotel to check out the place, and stop in the bar. The views are incredible in this relic of a hotel from days long ago. Beautiful spot across from the train station and a short walk (down the stairs) to the lakeside promenade.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Rich G,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for choosing our hotel during your visit to Montreux.
We are very glad you enjoyed your bar visit!
You can be sure that we will share your feedback with the rest of our staff in order to keep our standards always high.
We hope to welcome you on a future ocasion to Montreux!
With our best regards,
Your Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Grand Suisse Majestic in Montreux for my wife's birthday. The Hotel was all we had hoped for and more. It is an older classic hotel with a lot of romantic charm. It has been renovated and is in very good condition. The room had an incredible view of Lake Geneva and the mountains beyond.

Our room was very comfortable and clean and the service at the hotel was very good.

The Grand Suisse is also very well located in Montreux. Close to the lake, restaurants, shopping and right across the road from the train station.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Suisse Majestic.

Room tip: Get a room on the lake side with a view!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colorado_1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Colorado_1102,
Thank you for sharing your rating with us and for staying with us on such an important ocasion.
We are very happy to realize that you enjoyed your room and its views to the Lake. We hope you also managed to enjoy these past days sunsets.
We would love to get the chance to welcome you back and make you enjoy another wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic.
With our best regards,
Your Suisse-Majestic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything was amazing about this hotel. The views of the lake were beautiful, the service and the breakfast were excellent. A little pricey for the room size though but just behind the train station gate. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay !

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pre1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSM001, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Pre1002,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for choosing our hotel during your visit to Montreux.
We are very glad you enjoyed our comfortable location next to the train station and managed to make the best out of it.
We hope you also had the occasion to perceive the amazing sunsets of last week!
We hope to welcome you on a future occasion very soon!
With our best regards,
Your Suisse-Majestic team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews