We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful, friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful, friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Location was perfect with magnificent views over the lake and only a couple of minutes walk from the main train station. The staff were very friendly, particularly the owner Ivan, who made sure I had everything I needed for my stay in Montreux. Also included is a travel card for free and discounted travel and free wifi. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamointheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    128
    61
    17
    11
See reviews for
102
195
50
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We booked a room with balcony and lakeview. It's so relaxing to enjoy a cup of coffee with the beautiful lake view. Besides, the hotel is within 5-minute walk from the station and there're many shops and restaurants near the hotel. The hotel also offered us the travel card to take public transport for free in the city. It's very convenient to travel to Château de Chillon as the bus stop is just opposite to the hotel. The room is spacious and comfortable (compared with the hotels in Zurich and Geneva). Limited choices of food for breakfast made us a little bit disappointed. In short, we would recommend this hotel to all other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliaduckduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent as it is near to train station, shopping areas and restaurants. The room was excellent, clean and comfortable. WiFi works really good . Breakfast was included with good choices.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipham500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Arrived in Montreux just as the heavens opened. Unfortunately, it continued to rain for the rest of the day. The Hotel Splendid was wonderful. We stayed one night in a family room, looking over the lake. It had the ambience of a stately Victorian hotel which put a smile on our faces. Whilst the decor was looking a little faded, the welcome and friendliness of the staff more than made up for it, as did the view from the window the following morning when the clouds lifted and we could see across the lake. Sitting for breakfast, we half expected to see couples wearing blazers and panama hats walk into the restaurant.
Would stay again if passing. A gem.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view for when the sun comes out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel during the first week of August with our 4 month old son.

We loved Montreux and the hotel.

The location of the hotel is very central and convenient.

We got a room with a lake view (paid a bit extra for a lake view). The view was spectacular, the lake with the Alps as a backdrop has to be seen to be believed.

The room was good and we enjoyed the breakfast.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The two brothers who run the hotel give it the feel of a family run hotel and they go out of their way to help whenever and however possible.

We would definitely go back!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I had a great experience in Montreux. Great location (near train station and in the middle of the city), very clean and big room, friendly and helpful staff. I definitely recommend this place..the hotel is located nearby a lot of souvenir shop and great restaurants

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The location was great, close to the train station, port and lake. But our room was a mess; the terrace wasn't cleaned yet and there were plastic bottles, cigarette and lots of other trash. There were holes in the curtains from the cigarettes and there were stains on the curtains and carpet. Overall, all furniture is in need of renovation. Even if the hotel was free, we would not want to come back ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hiroko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
0.4 mi away
Tralala Hotel Montreux
Tralala Hotel Montreux
#7 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: Grand Rue 52, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
#2 Business Hotel in Montreux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical, family-run Splendid hotel in Montreux was built in 1904 and offers panoramic views over Lake Geneva and free Wi-Fi in all of the spacious rooms. The lakeside rooms have their own terrace or balcony. Delicious Swiss and international cuisine is served in the restaurant and the café is a cosy place to relax.The Splendid hotel is Montreux's only 3-star hotel on the lakeside. The conference centre and the train station are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Montreux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing