We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$167
View deal
Booking.comUS$167
eDreamsUS$167
Agoda.comUS$166
TripadvisorUS$167
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
338
157
71
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
338
157
71
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station the ground floor small balcony chateau chillon lake view castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2019

family-run Splendid hotel in Montreux was built in 1904 and offers panoramic views over Lake Geneva and free Wi-Fi in all the rooms The lakeside rooms have their own terrace or balcony. Hotel is run by owner Mr. David, nice gentleman. speak Italian and German. Rooms are small and bathroom also small. breakfast option is very limited. rooms dont have tea makers and dryer because of old heritage building. hotel has two entry from back side you can go to train stations. over all its good hotel.

Room tip: room no 250
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank krishnendu40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

What a great little find this was.

Staying three nights in Montreux we were after something at a reasonable price with a bed for the night. Wasn’t necessarily bothered about lots of amenities (pool, bar and gym etc). Decided to opt for Splendid after a bit of TA research.

The hotel was actually very quiet during our stay and as such we were upgraded to a lake view room rather than the courtyard we had booked. A nice touch. The hotel is of quite an old style and one floor was undergoing renovation.

Pros
A. Very near the station. Five minutes walk.
B. Good lake front location
C. Bus stop right outside the door. Note guests in Montreux hotels get a free bus pass for local buses during their stay. Very handy
D. Pleasant and very helpful staff (particularly David)
E. Nice continental breakfast.
F. Large bedroom. Very comfortable electric bed
G. Lake view rooms have a fabulous view.

Cons
A. Bathroom is quite compact. Decent shower though.
B. No in-room safe (only a small issue really)
C. Décor/furniture a little old style but more than functional.
D. A shisha cafe sits immediately to the left of the entrance to the hotel. No issue on two of our nights but on the Friday, it was very busy until the early hours. Noise may be an issue at times if the window is open. But well sound proofed if the balcony door is kept shut.

For our needs the hotel was perfect in terms of service, location and comfort. Gave us all we required without a ridiculous price.

Room tip: Stunning lake views, from front rooms. Need to offset the potential noise thought from street and café below.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank A380ManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Steps away from the elevator that goes to the train station and across the Grand Rue from the Lake Geneva promenade, this hotel is dead center in Montreux. The Freddie Mercury statue is practically across the street and the Chateau de Chillon is a beautiful 45 minute walk away. While it’s an older building, it’s well kept. Everyone, especially M. Marzio, who helped me with our reservations is very friendly and welcoming. Great breakfast too! And loved the psychedelic showerheads!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank T1296LFkarenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We picked this hotel for its price and to have a view of Lake Como. Our room faced the water, and it had a small balcony which was a nice touch. If you ask the manager, you can get free passes for the buses to get around town. Also, the visitor's center is just a block away near the lake so it is easy to get maps, etc ofr your stay. There was free wifi here. There is no ac in the rooms, so beware if you go in the summer. The worst thing about this hotel is that there is a hooka bar below the hotel that you must walk by to get in the front door. Luckily for us it was cool and not as many people were smoking outside as there could have been. This definitely impacted my enjoyment of this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhome100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

The good......
Location. Right in town. Across from the tour boat dock, right on the best lakeside floral walking trail anywhere. 10 minutes nicel walk to the train station, Restaurants, shopping, you name it, you can walk to it.

The bad,
The room is pretty average. No air conditioning. Just a small fan.
Small bathroom with zero counter space, no hot water pot, no coffee in the room, Two twin beds next to each other with a 6 inch gap, 1 pillow each, but we paid extra for nice city view and nice big doors that open onto the lake view (across a street)
Breakfast was included, 4 types of cereal, breads, big coffee maker, sliced lunch meats, cheese, and orange juice. There is someone that will make you a cheese omelette if you ask.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank ord737fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews