We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Swisshotel Zug
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed here for one night in a standard single room. I was able to check in as early as noon, I think, which was nice. Check-in was easy and the people at the desk spoke perfect English. The room was clean with Toblerone left on the pillows. The room had quite a selection of complimentary coffee and tea along with a free coffee machine down the hall. The cable and wifi both worked well. The hotel is less than 10 mins by car from the center of town. Of note, I stayed on a Friday night when the bar was open late, so there was some music, but nothing that stopped me from sleeping. I'd definitely stay here again if I return to Zug!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    27
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
5
6
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

After coming from 5-star rated hotels in London and Dublin I can without a doubt tell you that the Swisshotel Zug, is not. With the expectation meter toned back a couple of notches you will notice an impeccably clean and spacious room. The furniture is generally bland and appeared to be in place more because it must be present and not because it was chosen to fulfill a true functional purpose. As we found with every hotel we visited in Switzerland, the bed for double occupancy consisted of two beds pushed together and two separate comforters. Pillows might as well have been non-existent as they immediately flattened when pressure was applied to them and of five (5) hotels visited in Switzerland, Austria, and Germany, the Swisshotel provided the most firm mattress by far. Firm really doesn't do it justice, think more like sleeping on a wooden plank, concrete slab, or the like. It was the type of bed that led to a requirement for very specific positioning lest limbs randomly fall asleep or you wake up feeling like a chiropractor visit is required with the continental breakfast. To be fair, a soft, pillowy, mattress is what I'm accustomed to and after a few nights you do become accustomed to the stiffness of the accommodations. That business aside, the staff were generally helpful and the included breakfast was decent. The location is fine, though not really all that close to downtown Zug. The only real complaint I could levy against the hotel is that on the first floor the smoke smell from the downstairs bar area has a wonderful way of permeating the hallway. On first impression the smell of the hallway does not support the truly clean nature of what you find upon entering a room. All in all, if you're doing business in the area and what a clean, no frills, accommodation the Swisshotel would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horseheads, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel has better than average sized rooms for Europe. Good sized shower, small TV. Rooms were clean.
The breakfast was a good selection of breads, cold cuts, cereal, fruits, eggs and breakfast sausage. Whether you prefer English or European breakfast, you should find something to your liking.
It is just a short 10 minute walk to the Zug Chollermüli train station from this hotel.
Overall - a nice place. It seem expensive, but that seems typical of Switzerland.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_bills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for a quick business/short family trip. We got a very good rate for the night, including breakfast. They put an extra bed in for our son, our double room was big enough for the three of us, clean, with some thoughtful touches, such as a chocolate on each pillow and complimentary teas and coffee as well as mineral water. We were in a non-smoking room, but you can still smell smoke on the first floor coming up from the bar, which was very smoky - its not a big hotel. We slept well and didn't find the beds uncomfortable.
The next morning we had breakfast, which was conveniently served till 10.30am. The breakfast was very good, with a range of delicious local goodies, as well as plenty of variety to choose from, whether hot breakfast (eggs, bacon and sausage) or smoked salmon, cheeses and bread, range of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, fresh juices etc. The staff at the reception were so helpful they let us stay at the hotel for an hour after checking out to wait for my Husband. My son was able to sit in the foyer and play games on the laptop, whilst I could use their free wifi to book our next nights stay in France. They provided a converter as well to charge our phone. Afterwards, we were just a short walk from the beautiful lake Zug, where its possible to barbecue, swim (there is a shallow beach for children to paddle in). There are no shops very close by, but there is a garage with a supermarket next door selling everything you would need for a picnic or barbecue. All in all it suited our short trip very well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, Utah
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The hotel was nice and the staff was great to deal with, however the hotel is older and the beds are uncomfortable. For the price you can find a better hotel in town or even in a neighboring town. Although the rooms were old and dated the breakfast in the morning made an attempt to make up for the poor beds and rooms. Breakfast was the highlight of the hotel. Don't know that I would stay here ever again, but had to make a late night stop at a hotel while traveling to Interlaken.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmickelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Normal Swiss hotel, general amenities, nothing special

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed for two nights in this hotel. Everything was as expected from a European small-scale hotel. High quality bathroom and light fittings indicated that they pay attention to details. Room, bed and bathroom towels were very clean.

My room didn't have proper ventilation mechanism, so, I had to keep the windows slightly open to get fresh air. It also didn't have air-condition (only a heater) and I assume air-conditioning is not a requirement in Zug. There was no "view" from the window. I could only see other buildings.

Breakfast was very good. Adequate varieties and good quality food.

Hotel was only 300m away from the train station, which was helpful. However, it is situated "off town", and I had to walk about 2km to go to the nearest mall. There seems to be some convenient stores hereby though.

I am not sure whether this is a common factor in Switzerland but hotel staff was all local, matured and English-speaking, which made my stay comfortable. There were friendly and efficient in getting things done.

They also had good Internet connection throughout the hotel (room, lobby, restaurant, etc.).

I would say, this is a good choice for a day (or two) business trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zug
1.6 mi away
Hotel Zugertor
Hotel Zugertor
#1 of 8 in Zug
153 reviews
2.0 mi away
ibis Baar Zug
ibis Baar Zug
#1 of 1 in Baar
293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lowen am See Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parkhotel Zug
Parkhotel Zug
#4 of 8 in Zug
207 reviews
1.8 mi away
SwissEver Hotel Zug
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lorze
Hotel Lorze
#2 of 2 in Cham
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Swisshotel Zug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Swisshotel Zug

Property: Quality Swisshotel Zug
Address: Chollerstrasse 1a, Zug 6300, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Swisshotel Zug 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Swisshotel Zug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Zug

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing