We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated”
Review of Hotel Zugertor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zugertor
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have been coming to Zug often for business. Always liked the hotel run by "warm" family.
This time I was sweetly surprised with the way room is renovated.
It has a refreshing flavor with modern colour spectrum coupled with old charm with wooden floor (heated) and stone pillars.
The window pannels are done beatifully with "zero" noise filteration.

The black and white pictures add to the charm.
Thanks to team "Zugertor" which has blended beatifully in the city of Zug.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in June for 2 weeks with family. Excellent service, great breakfast buffet n friendly staff. Spacious modern rooms n convienent location. Exceptional value for money. Had a very pleasant a memorable stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Newly refurbished, for Switzerland spacious, rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet. The service was outstanding. It is located close to the train station and about 5 minutes (car) from the old town and the lake. Can only recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

As a first-time visitor to Zug we found the Hotel Zugertor to be a great place to stay. Our room was large (even by US standards) and well equipped. The hotel was recently renovated and the result was a very light and airy feel to our room. The staff were all friendly, spoke English well and went out of their way to be helpful. We had a free day and they suggested catching a train to Lucerne and taking a trip to the top of Mt Pilatus which turned out to be a great experience. In addition, I injured my ankle before getting to Zug and when I asked for some ice to help it heal they found a freezer cold-pak designed for that purpose. Every day they kept it in the freezer and had it ready for me at the end of the day to ice my ankle. What service! The hotel is only a short walk straight up the street from the train station (10 minutes dragging our luggage) and about a 15 minute walk from the lake front.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The best for stay in town for business trip. Professional, yet home from home. Clean accommodation. Booked from RSA, no lost booking. Friendly reception after long trip. Very accommodating on later vacation of room. Breakfast, neat and not a to much. A wonderful, friendly atmosphere in the restaurant. Keep it up!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank vanwykj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The outstandingly helpful and friendly staff are unchanged but the room makeover, to modern minimalist, is an improvement.
Furniture and beds are new, bathrooms are refurbished and linen upgraded to a very stylish clean look.
Lighting may be a bit harsh and the beds a little firm for some tastes but it's a great improvement.
I also discovered the restaurant next door, accessed through a connecting door, has a cosy bar, bustling with locals and overseen by an ultra-efficient waitress, that is happy to serve drinks without obliging you to eat.
Well worth an upgrade to 'very good', I plan to stay there every time I visit Zug.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Everything was very good. Clean modern Hotel 5 minutes from the railway station. They gave us a free upgrade for the room. We will book this Hotel again. The breakfast was just ok, nothing you would remember.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zug
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lowen am See Zug
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Zug
Parkhotel Zug
#2 of 8 in Zug
222 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Baar Zug
ibis Baar Zug
#1 of 1 in Baar
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Swisshotel Zug
Swisshotel Zug
#7 of 8 in Zug
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
City-Hotel Ochsen Zug
3.5 mi away
SwissEver Hotel Zug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zugertor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zugertor

Address: Baarerstrasse 97 | 6300 Zug, Zug 6300, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zug > Zug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zug
Price Range: £123 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zugertor 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zugertor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing