We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Clean and comfortable
wish it was closer to the airport.
great service.
Thank you.
I do not have anything else to say as we only stayed overnight...................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tinicka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you are passing through Winterthur in Switzerland and in need of a hotel to stay overnight, give Hotel Etap a try and it's very likely that you will leave without being disappointed. Apart from the value for money price, it is conveniently located next to a MacDonald's and a 24 hrs petrol station with a mini mart. If you have the time, there is a departmental store opposite the hotel too. The reception, breakfast area and rooms were clean, quiet and well maintained. Beds were comfortable and room is designed to house 3 persons (double bed with a bunk bed above). Ideal for a family of 3 on a budget. The only down side of the hotel room is the design of the toilet and shower area (2 separated areas) as privacy will be an issue if staying with anyone other than your spouse. The door of shower room is not lockable, but also transparent with a hole instead of handle. The toilet door has the same design concept except it's not transparent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MacLik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

In January I had some business due to the WEF. Hotels were quite expensive during this period in Zürich, so I eventually settled on the Ibis Budget in nearby Winterthur. The hotel was conviently located across a shopping mall and a McDonalds was situated next-door, solving some small needs when arriving. Check-in was quick and I reserved a double room with two single beds.

The room was not too big, but had all I needed. However, I should have booked a room with one large bed as there were some devides between the two single beds. I tried to change the room, but the hotel was booked full. The bed was okay, maybe a little short. Wi-fi was free and fast, so that was good.

I also used the breakfast, which wasn't something fancy, but it did the trick in the morning.

If you don't need anything fancy or too expensive in the Zürich-area, I can recommend the Ibis Budget in Winterthur!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonHomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank He R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tushar D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed last week for the weekend. Free Wifi rooms have A/c a bit small but clean and comfy. Was surprised that this was classed as a budget hotel in my eyes no way. staff extremely helpfull and the breakfast had a good choice. Thank you Ibis

Room Tip: All rooms are the same we stayed on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Easy to find, staff very helpful. Parking is good. WiFi good. Rooms are clean and we slept well. McDonalds and petrol station next door so convenient for onward journey. Would stay here again. Ex Etap if you are used to that particular chain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.9 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Albani Hotel
Albani Hotel
#11 of 14 in Winterthur
8 reviews
1 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hessenguetli
Hotel Hessenguetli
#10 of 14 in Winterthur
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur

Address: Bruehlbergstrasse 7A, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range: £53 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur 1*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Winterthur (former Etap Hotel) is an affordable non-smoking hotel in the business district, just 5 minutes' drive from the train station. It is close to the museums and city center which is home to one of Europe's largest pedestrianized areas. The hotel has 84 comfortable rooms with air conditioning, free WIFI, paid parking and a nearby restaurant. Whether visiting as a couple, with your family or as a group, enjoy an affordable midweek or weekend break in Winterthur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing