We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first Swiss experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel Winterthur
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great first Swiss experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Spent two nights' on a business trip. Great staff, very attentive and fluent in English. Very helpful for assistance with very early morning checkout. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisILtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We hope to welcome you back another time. Best regards from Winterthur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    89
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
40
22
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Been there for 3 night in April-2012.
The hotel is in high level, we were in a family room in Which we were with our 2 young kids.
Breakfast was excellent and the entire atmosphere was very pleasant.
Located just across the main places in Winterthur.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orenfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear guest. We thank you very much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards from Switzerland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I had a 22 hour layover between the US and the mideast. I decided to spend the night in Winterthur rather than Zurich in order to see some of the art museums for which the city is famous. It is an easy connection from the airport to the city by train (from underneath the airport directly to the city center). However, it was snowing and cold when I arrived, and too short for a taxi ride (I asked) and too far to drag a rollerboard through the snowy streets. Had the weather been nice, this would have been a better choice.
I had a single room which was basic and on the ground floor. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a little tight, but worked out.
I had a great, although expensive, meal at the restaurant which appears to be quite popular with the locals not just with the guests.
My glitch was arranging with the front desk the night before for a taxi to get me back to the train station in time to catch a train back to the airport to continue my journey. The front desk recommended cutting it fairly close (a train leaving 2 hrs 15 minutes before the flight), which became a problem the next morning when the taxi never showed and it was too late for me to walk and catch the train. I ended up taking a taxi all the way to the airport, which was expensive. However, I do very much appreciate all the efforts of the morning staff to find out what happened to the taxi, to suggest alternatives and to get a taxi to take me to the airport. Knowing myself, I should just have requested an early enough pick up time that if something happened, I would have a decent back up plan, even if that was just walking back to the station.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last three weeks, on both occasions for business reasons. On both times the hotel fully lived up to expectations. Location for the town is excellent and as my wife joined me on the second occasion, she was able to find plenty to do locally. The hotel staff provide a very warm and hospitable welcome, the rooms are modern, comfortable and clean and the food - breakfast and dinner - is good value and quality.

Room Tip: Best to get a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I stayed 3 night on a business trip. The hotel is 7 minutes fron the train station, one block from the pedestrian area. The hotel is clean, staff is friendly, rooms are comfortable, spacious, bathroom is clean and not small. Breakfast is reasonable (I am a vegeterian so all the meat is not relevant to me).
I would come again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We were in Winterthur for less than 24 hours, but enjoyed ourselves at the Park hotel. It is a 10-15 minute walk from the train station. If you exit on the east side of the station, cross the street and stay on Stadhausstrasse (street) until you see the hotel on the left.

The rooms have impressively tall ceilings and are big compared to other European hotels. Bathrooms were nice and my wife loved the fragrance of the soap.

Internet was not free, unfortunately. Wasn't the end of the world but would have been nice.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. They even let us in a little early so that we could catch our 7am train.

Overall a great stay and would return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvisser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house. Just a small remark: the WLAN is for free in our house. The acces codes are in the booklet with your key card. Hope to welcome you soon again. Best regards Martina Miciecki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

The staff is amazingly friendly. They were full for one of the nights I wanted to book. They kept checking everyday until there was a cancellation. My company books with this hotel all the time. The food is great. The rooms are modern, clean and fresh. I slept well every night with no worries...and believe me, I'm picky. Taxis are easy to get, everyone speaks English and German perfectly. I felt very safe as a female business traveler. The best in Winterthur by far!!! Thanks to the staff! I will be back next month.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eneetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.4 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#7 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Winterthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Winterthur

Property: Park Hotel Winterthur
Address: Stadthausstrasse 4, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland (Formerly Garten Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Winterthur 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Winterthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing