We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hotel Winterthur
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This was a very nice hotel in a lovely city. It is close to the Market place and museums. the decor is quite spartan, but comfortable. They brought us extra pillows and towels and had a very friendly staff. The restaurant was really good. Good basic breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxi4umom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Have a good time and see you another time back in Switzerland and hopefully in the Park Hotel Winterthur. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    90
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
42
22
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I spent a week here on business and the room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and were quick to respond to any requests. The breakfast was a usual selection but very good all the same.
Really good location within the city, only a short walk from the main bars restaurants and train station.

Room Tip: You will probably need to ask for more pillows. The only negative aspect of my stay, I needed three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NixB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a comment. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. We hope to welcoming you back soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I wish more Swiss hotels were like the Park Hotel Winterthur. The rooms are modern, comfortable and well-appointed, and the staff have a can-do attitude that makes staying here a pleasure. The building itself is fairly modern and located in the Museum Mile, one block from the historical city center (pedestrian and bicycle zone) and about 5 blocks from the railroad station. The staff not only respond efficiently and graciously to guest queries and requests (in my case, a room change which was handled in a way that exceeded my expectations), but seem to anticipate the guests' needs. I really appreciated the free, high-bandwidth WiFi throughout the hotel and the minibar with free soft drinks. When I checked out, the receptionist offered me my choice of mineral water for the road---a nice touch which I really appreciated.

Winterthur, a city of about 100,000 inhabitants and the second city of the Canton of Zurich, has gone through a very interesting post-industrial metamorphosis (it used to be home to a lot of heavy industry--turbines, textile machines, locomotives) to a cultural, educational and gastronomic destination. It has a lively historic center with lots of sidewalk cafes and intimate restaurants, as well as excellent museums. Although it lacks the attraction of a lake or major river, it offers more than enough to make it interesting for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: The Economy Single rooms (which were converted from meeting rooms when the hotel was renovated a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisstravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your positive and detailed feedback. We are very proud to hear that we could exceed your expectations. We wish you a very good time and hope to welcoming you back soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is a great hotel in the centre of Winterthur with a short walk to the trian station and a bus right outside the door, museums, theatre and old town literally on your door step. It also has a great restaurant with good breakfast overlooking beautiful gardens.

Where it falls short is the evening staff. I have stayed here on many occasions and it seems that the evening shift endsnup being the "grumpy shift" shame.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have better controle over heating/ cooling
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZOR-O16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your feedback. As your comment is concerning your stay in our house about one year ago, I am not able to find out, which person you could mean having been "grumpy". I would kindly ask you to give me more details about the situation or person to my direct e-mail address: martina.miciecki@phwin.ch. Thank you very much and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. The hotel staff is professional and courteous and the breakfast they serve at the Bloom is fabulous. The rooms are spotless clean and the hotel is maintained at a very high level. The location is just great - Winterthur old city is just on the other side of the street with shops, restaurants and the music festival. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your feedback and recommendation. We really appreciate that. We hope to welcoming you back another day. Have a good time meanwhile. Best regards from Switzerland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Spent two nights' on a business trip. Great staff, very attentive and fluent in English. Very helpful for assistance with very early morning checkout. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisILtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We hope to welcome you back another time. Best regards from Winterthur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Been there for 3 night in April-2012.
The hotel is in high level, we were in a family room in Which we were with our 2 young kids.
Breakfast was excellent and the entire atmosphere was very pleasant.
Located just across the main places in Winterthur.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orenfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear guest. We thank you very much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards from Switzerland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.4 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#7 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Winterthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Winterthur

Property: Park Hotel Winterthur
Address: Stadthausstrasse 4, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland (Formerly Garten Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Winterthur 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Winterthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing