We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try somewhere else !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel Winterthur
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived on a very hot day and I was slightly surprised to be asked to pay for the room upfront.Even more surprised when we were shown a room rather neatly arranged around the lift well. I protested and eventually were shown a much better and bigger room on a higher floor. The room and bed were excellent but on (perhaps) the hottest day of the year in Winterthur the airconditioning wasn't up to the task. Yes the hotel was on a park but not entirely devoid of traffic noise . The breakfast was pretty ordinary ..Verdict overpriced there must be better hotels in Winterthur..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaMiciecki, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the review of your stay. We do regret, that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.
We would like to take the chance to verify your mentioned points in your feedback.
Upon check-in, we normally take an autorisation on the guest’s credit card. The charge on the credit card will be done upon check out. Only if the guest is not able to provide a credit card, prepayment in cash will be required.

As a city hotel in the center of Winterthur, traffic noise can not be avoided entirely. Thanks to the beautiful park our hotel is situated much more quiet compared to other city hotels in Winterthur. As we are not able to provide air conditioning because of monument protection, our rooms feature a fresh air system. As part of our current construction work we are going to improve this fresh air system in our totally new renovated rooms by December 2013.

Our buffet breakfast is very popular by our hotel guests and also outside guests visit us to enjoy serving themselves on the rich buffet. The range consists of high-quality and fresh regional food. We regret that we have not met your taste.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Located in a nice park just in the middle of Winterthur. Extremely quiet place with a cool bar attached. If you are staying there you can enjoy the whole Winterthur Old City - ll you have to do is just cross the street ;)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartosz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaMiciecki, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear guest. Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We really appreciate that. Have a good time and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I have spent 3 nights in this nice hotel.
The hotel can be reached at walking distance from the railway station, and it's close to the city centre.
Receptionists very friendly and helpful
The room nice, and very good shower (water with some pressure...).
Beds conformtable and not much noise form outside.

The breakfast was ok.

Overall a positive experience.

Room Tip: My room on the 3th was ok for one person, The more spacious junior suite I had on the 4th floor on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dado_63xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaMiciecki, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear guest. Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review about your stay. It is a pleasure for us to read, that you felt well in our house. We would be happy to welcoming you back another day. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Excellent location in a park. And, even though my room was a lowered priced one, on the ground floor, the street traffic outside my window did not disturb me. No other noise either, except the air conditioning, a very small nuisance. The staff impressed me. Very kind and swift service. Though pricey, an easy going, clean and nice hotel, with a good restaurant and a convenient bar. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaPaulinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaMiciecki, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear guest. Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We would be happy to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Actually my 3 night stay in The Park Hotel was overall pretty good. Despite turning all heat off in my room, and discussing it with reception I was advised to sleep with the window/large door open. Yes it worked but the downside was the awakening in the very early hours to the snow clearance in the road outside!
I was unable to sleep on the 2 puffs of wind pretending to be pillows and since there was no spare one in the room left a note for the maid for an additional one. This was efficiently installed.
I don't know why hotels still have shower curtains. The water pressure was excellent but no matter how careful I was there was a flood of water heading out of the bathroom door. Amazingly if you turned the shower off quickly the pressure change caused the shower head to shoot dangerouusly off the wall. An experience not to be repeated! Interestingly pillows, heat and shower curtains provided a common discussion point with other guests.
There is a small sauna, plunge pool, jacuzzi bath and gym and the bar and particularly food was excellent (if not pricey). Nice to have free WiFi and its about time all hotels realised this.
Please don't take this as negative, because I enjoyed my stay and recommend this to others.

Room Tip: On the park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OXON111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaMiciecki, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear guest. Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house and absolutely support, that you note critical points. We are always interested in inputs, suggestions and ways to do better. As already written in former reviews, we offer a variety of different pillow types. Just let us know, what type you prefer and we will make a note in your guest profile to be able to prepare it for your next stay. At the moment we indeed do have bathtubs/showers partially with curtains. In July, our construction work will start and all rooms from 1st to 4th floor will be renovated. We will have beautiful large showers with glass doors. The heating system will be overhauled as well to be individually regulated in the rooms. We would be glad to show you the progess approximately beginning of 2014! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a good hotel, albeit pricey, if you are willing to wake up every morning at 8AM when loud construction noises reverberate through the hallways. The staff is extremely friendly, and the rooms are clean and comfortable - until 8AM, that is.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaMiciecki, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear guest. I duly regret to hear that our communication did not work. All guests should have been informed the arrival day, that there will be renovation works during the day on 19th and 20th February 2013. As our business guests usually leave the hotel before 8 a.m. we decided to start at 8 a.m.to be able to finish before the return of the guests in the evening at 5 p.m.
Presently, we are building two sample rooms in different variations, which may be thoroughly tested and evaluated by our guests until the start of construction in summer 2013. Based on these findings, we will decide on the definite version of "the new hotel room". All detailed information can be found on our homepage.
I am really sorry, that you had not been informed in advance and that you did not sleep well. I can understand and completely agree, that this situation was not acceptable for you. Therefore, I would kindly offer you a two nights stay in our house, hopefully, that you will give us another chance and will be back another day. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Reading through past reviews it is clear the thin pillows are not to everyone's taste, but for me they were perfect - and my guess is you can always ask for more if you like more substantial support for your head. This is a perfectly good hotel. The rooms are not large, and the bathroom is positively small, but for someone on business it was perfectly fine. Clean and modern bedrooms, a good sized table, and a very comfortable bed. The bar was very pleasant and the service was excellent. It was very reasonably priced at around SwF180 for the night. I would certainly stay again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phwin, Manager at Park Hotel Winterthur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear guest. We appreciate your positive review and thank you for having taken the time to write one. We hope to welcoming you back soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
157 reviews
1 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.4 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
184 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
#8 of 14 in Winterthur
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Winterthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Winterthur

Address: Stadthausstrasse 4, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland (Formerly Garten Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range: £157 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Winterthur 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Winterthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing