We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but great”

Restaurant Barnabas
Ranked #36 of 248 Restaurants in Winterthur
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“small but great”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Delicious food, great ambience and very friendly waiters -> always a treat!
Dot forget to book a table!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Euro-Asian Food and very cosy”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We really enjoyed the food, very tasty dishes from Indian- to Thai curries up to Cordon bleu. Very friendly and helpful service giving us good recommendations for wine and food. The place is quite small but very cosy, so I would recommend to place a reservation in case you would like to visit the restaurant after 19:00 during the week or in general during weekends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Perfect for warm summer evenings”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Cool restaurant location and style. Food is average, staff are slow and cannot cope with impromtu guests even when there is space. But it is a very nice place to sit of a summer evening with friends. Food was pleasant, price was fair.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morrovalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit for a delicious 'Asian-Indian' fusion meal.”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

We had made a booking here on a Friday night & thank goodness we did, the place was packed. The restaurant is quite small which makes it very loud inside when all the tables are full.
The wait staff were average at best, to begin with we felt hassled; we had hardly been given the menu before the waitress returned to take our orders, when we asked for some more time it was quite a while before she returned to take our orders. Admittedly we did order an entree each & a main (there were 4 of us) but the wait time between the entree & main was a good 45mins which I think is a bit too long!
The food here is delicious, don't get me wrong, however some finessing is needed to make this place amazing.
I had the special which was the smoked duck with lentils & rocket salad(pictured) - delicious doesn't even begin to describe it, the duck was moist, tender & I wanted more!! The lentils had just the right amount of crunch & the rocket complimented the whole dish! This should make a permanent appearance on the menu I say!
Mains were just as good, I opted for prawns which were well cooked & seasoned. The ginger chicken was also delicious; just the right amount of ginger spice for the ginger lovers. The lamb also looked amazing but for me, a little over done, nonetheless, no complaints about the dish from my friend. It was a good plate of meat & veg.
The wine menu is more than adequate & the desserts tick all the right boxes.
The four of us including 3 courses, wine & some espressos & grappa to finish the night off spent just on 270chf which is more than reasonable.
We would try this place again but perhaps on a week night when it is not so packed. Despite being a little rough around the edges (in my opinion) I would definitely recommend a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food in relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We went out for a diner for two having employed a babysitter.
The choice of foods is excellent. Local favorites with an indian twist, seasonal specials, indian curries and some standard blockbusters are all prepared to perfection. The wine list is a winner, too.
Service was friendly, always attentive and timely and also quite knowledgeable.
The indian dishes a reasonably mild and one would know them from other places already. I would advise to go for the more local meals which have the added indian extra and are therefore pretty much a special of Barnabas.
The atmosphere was relaxed as always with a broad mix of people visiting the restaurant as usual.
Make sure to book your table in advance!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IngredientsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Barnabas also viewed

Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
 
Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
 
Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
Winterthur, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Barnabas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing