We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“few days in winterthur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“few days in winterthur”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

room is very basic but everythign is clean and new. Standard breakfast. Nothing at the bath room - bath caps, cottonpads or body cream etc - take with you. Comparing to the other hotels of Winterthur ( I staied almost in all of them) it is the most fair price &quality. and proximity to the train station is is the best.

Room Tip: if you don`t open a window then doesn`t matter which side your room is. Mine was just toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 960Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    120
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
31
24
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel was okay. It was clean and comfortable. Even though my room faced right to the train station across the street, the trains are so quiet, i never heard them.

Unfortunately it started out rather stressful as I was contacted just after I got on the plane by my travel agent who told me that the hotel had been overbooked and they had misplaced my booking so that they were going to send me to another hotel when I arrived. Luckily when I did arrive at the hotel, they had a room open up, so I was able to stay. I recommend getting verbal confirmation from the hotel prior to leaving as the electronic confirmation is unreliable as it may get "lost in their junk mail filer."

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aekelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visp, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have stayed in the Hotel Wartmann many times per year over the past many years - this is the hotel of my choice in Winterthur and I do very highly recommend the hotel to everyone.
The staff and owners are very helpful, friendly, efficient (really go beyond normal to help) - the over all atmosphere and hotel staff personality really make me feel welcome and at home.
The hotel is perfectly situated - adjacent to the railway station and minutes' walk to shopping, restaurants and museums.
Rooms are a good size, clean, quiet and are well furnished (rooms come with a bath tub)!
Free WIFI/internet is included with the room price (very much appreciated). The amenities that are available leave nothing out of the normal to be desired.
A very well presented breakfast with quite a large selection of hot & cold items (not sparse as what is typical in France, Spain, etc) - the breakfast room is situated to a view of the garden.
The hotel is very considerate in that there is a sitting/television lounge where one may smoke. The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere and displays some interesting artwork.

I will continue to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms are of course superior rooms with garden view. However, every other room I have stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location just next to the train station. But even then, the rooms are well insulated and very quiet. Hotel staff are efficient and helpful. They take the extra effort to meet your needs. Room is comfortable and with good firm bed and a work place as well. There is free wifi with decent speed and 24 hour free coffee, tea in the lounge. My home away from home and I will keep coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms. They are even more nice and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Hotel is very well located, just across the Main Train Station and 10 minutes walking from the City Center and Marketgasse. There are shops nearby and a market in the train station.There is a good Steakhouse in the Hotel. Now the wireless internet is complimentary (finally!). The rooms are clean with confortable bed and pillows. The rooms from the back are more silent. The front rooms are noisier due to the train station. The shower is really small in the standard room and may bother tall people. Superior rooms are wider and have a bath tube. The breakfast buffet is complimentary and is just ok. The front desk is normally just polite, adequate for business travelers. The service is honest for the rate.The hotel is perfect for business trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwada70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I booked Hotel Wartmann for a change from my usual hotel in Winterthur - I'm glad I did. It is adjacent to the railway station and therefore convenient for me as I was arriving by train with a suitcase. 1-2 minutes' walk from platform to hotel. Check in took abut one minute and the gentleman was efficient, friendly and helpful. Room was a good size and had good quality furnishings. Despite my room being "Station side", I didn't notice any noise. In fact, one night I slept with the window open (for fresh air) and was not disturbed at all. So if you are worried being so close to the station, you needn't be. The breakfast buffet had a very wide choice of items: breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, hot items, hot and cold drinks and the breakfast room has a pleasant garden outlook. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is convenient for business traveller in Winterthur. It is also very convenient to travel to Zurich airport from the railway station which is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The room is clean and nice. The Argentinian steak house attached to the hotel served delicacy. The breakfast was nice too. The only drawback is the speed of free WIFI need improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
#10 of 14 in Winterthur
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof

Property: Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
Address: Rudolfstrasse 15, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the BEST WESTERN Hotel Wartmann! Our modern business and city hotel is located in the very center of Winterthur, right at the railway station. The old town/shopping area is just two minutes away, Zurich Airport is reachable within 15 minutes and Zurich downtown in 19 minutes. All rooms are newly renovated and air-conditioned. The rooms offer superb sleeping comfort and are equipped with soundproof windows. Some rooms are facing our green courtyard. Explore the surrounding with our E-bikes which you can use free of charge. We are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wartmann Hotel Winterthur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing