We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good short Stay Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Winterthur City
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed for 3 nights on 16th August. Winterthur is a fab city and this hotel is only a 10 mins walk from town or 2 bus stops away. Lovely hotel bar and more than satisfactory continental breakfast. Room was small but had all amenities required and the whole hotel was spotless. Mcdonalds 1 minute away as well as a bank, garage and small shopping centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Wellettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear The_Wellettes, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Winterthur City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Kourosch Kangarlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for ibis Winterthur City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July 2012. The room given to us in 3rd Floor did not have proper cooling. Even afer complaining no one bothered to come to the room and check this. (15 MINUTES gauranteed problem resolution is only on paper). As we were tired we slept in that uncomfortable room. The next day after returning back from the city tour, we complained to the front desk manager, instead of apologising he was rude. After waiting for an hour the manager came to our room and gave us another room in the 1st floor. They did not help in shifting the baggage, we had to do the shifting midnight on our own. The new room was also stinking, but we had lost all hopes by then. All in all a terrible experience.

Room Tip: Check the cooling of the rooms in the months of July and Aug.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_Mum1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Winterthur City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kourosch Kangarlou
Direktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimuOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I've stayed at more Ibis hotels and they are all pretty much the same, but there's nothing wrong with that. The ones I've stayed at have been very good. The rooms are large enough to not be clostrophobic, they've always been clean and tidy and the staff are very accommodating. This was also the case here.

If you're looking to spend a lot of time at the hotel, I would go for something a bit more special, but this is a safe and good choice if you're looking for a nice place to sleep while exploring cities or places. Beds are comfortable and bathroom is good.

This particular hotel has a fair few parking spaces for cars outside the front door. Don't know if they have more than them though.


NEGATIVE: A bit bland in the decor and such.

POSITIVE: Safe choice, clean rooms, nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakoyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Winterthur City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Kourosch Kangarlou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very clean, spacious and comfortable room. Not exiting position but fair enough. Quite expensive according European fares but - it seems - quite cheaper for Swiss standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacks85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The IBIS Winterthur provides a no frills, value for money hotel experience. The hotel is about 20 minuttes by car from Zurich Airport. Rooms are clean, fairly large, and typical for an IBIS hotel.
The Bar and restaurant area is a lot better than what you expect from a normal IBIS, and the breakfast buffet was also quite OK. You pay additional for parking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
wir danken Ihnen vielmals, dass Sie sich nach Ihrem Aufenthalt im Ibis Hotel Winterthur die Zeit genommen haben, uns zu bewerten.
Die Ibis Hotels setzen alles daran, um Ihnen bei jedem Ihrer Aufenthalte eine optimale Servicequalität anzubieten. Ihre Meinung ist für uns daher von größtem Interesse.
Für Ihre gute Bewertung sind wir sehr dankbar.
Wir hoffen, Sie schon bald wieder in einem unserer Hotels begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit herzlichen Grüßen.
Kourosch Kangarlou
Direktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton_8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
Hotel Ibis Budget Winterthur
#10 of 14 in Winterthur
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.9 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Winterthur City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Winterthur City

Address: Bruehlbergstrasse 7, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range: £74 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Winterthur City 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entirely non-smoking Ibis Winterthur City hotel is located in a business district, close to museums and only 5 min by car from Winterthur railway station. It has 88 air-conditioned rooms, including 2 adapted for guests with limited mobility. It has aSwiss Bistro restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours a day, and free outdoor parking. A meeting room may also be booked. Guests on business trips will appreciate our WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Winterthur City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing