We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Winterthur City
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Basic Ibis standard, the room is clean, bed and pillows are comfortable. The shower was surprisingly roomy, though the bathroom in a whole is just enough for one person. Wifi is free and good. Staff was pleasant. Parking capacity might be small if the hotel is mostly occupied but price for parking was very reasonable. The breakfast was okay, just a few cold items on offer, on the expensive side but it's Switzerland, I would definitely not take the breakfast next time. There is a McD and a small shopping mall right in front of hotel. Location is not right in the city but it is not far to go either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshine_penguin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    160
    82
    15
    8
See reviews for
50
93
38
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights.
This is a basic hotel. Rooms are fine. Clean and have what you need.
The beds are comfortable.
The bar service was OK.
Free WIFI is available in the room.
The hotel is about 15min walk from the train station.
The buffet breakfast was terrible.
Very poor choice and poor quality. Nothing hot on offer. Even though I paid extra for breakfast I skipped it the second day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiurce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Like other Ibis hotels I have stayed in, this is clean, functional, with access to free wifi in room, a bar on site, and pleasant and helpful staff. This is not designed to be a luxury hotel, but it is clean, comfortable and provides all the necessary facilities for business travellers. The hotel is located in a quiet area of Winterthur, within reasonable walking distance of the train station (5-10 minute walk), and to nearby ZHAW (which I was visiting on my trip, about a 10-15 minute walk). I would be more than happy to stay here again on future trips, and would happily recommend it to anyone looking for reasonably priced accomodation for business travel in this area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Good rooms, excellent breakfast. Even for being in an expensive country like Switzerland, price is good. As every Ibis hotel, they offer great value . The area where it is located is nice, but unfortunately not close to the train station (like 10 minutes walking). There is a bus stop nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsnCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna A, General Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear jscnCARACAS,

Thank you for staying at the Ibis Winterthur and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We as well as other travelers certainly appreciate the time you invested in writing this review and providing us with very valuable feedback.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the service provided and that you felt well.

We would love to be your host again for your next trip to Winterthur.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Warmest regards,
Corinna Abel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Nice little IBIS - same standard as most others, so a functional clean room with all you need.

Attached bar/restaurant simple but ideal with a good choice of food.

About 10 minute walk from Winterthur station.

Good staff happy to help.

Room Tip: Nothing to add here - all rooms pretty much the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinna A, General Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to learn about a great experience a guest had at our hotel.
The time you invested in writing this review is very much appreciated.

Also, it is wonderful to hear about the attentive service you received.
We will be more than happy to share your kind words with our team.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Best regards,
Corinna Abel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Once again my family lands like a meteor in the night at Ibis.
Free parking, tiny room for the lowest cost but still astronomical because its Switzerland.

Spacious shower however.

The restaurant Swiss Bistro is shut down permanently as per the note written in three languages. Breakfast is still available though not the restaurant anymore.
Staff were phenomenal, extremely helpful and there were always two people at the front desk so very little wait for anything. Wifi is faster than european average.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LocalsDiscount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest

Best regards from Ibis Winterthur City and I would like to thank you for your most positive and attentive comments and for having taken the time to give me your valuable feedback. It will give me great pleasure to pass your compliments on to our team.
I believe your feedback will be helpful for other travelers also, especially as it refers to our central location and proximity to the Old Town of Winterthur.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance and I look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Winterthur again
Yours sincerely
Kourosch Kangarlou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I, along with our twin boys, stayed in a comfortable room at Ibis Winterthur City in August as part of our summer holiday. We are left with nothing but excellent memories from our stay at this hotel! From the moment we checked in until our departure, we were treated with the most hospitable, kind and professional service- far beyond what we expected. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food served by friendly and professional staff in the restaurant was delicious. Even the hotel manager, Mr.Kourosch Kangarlou, was very friendly and helpful, which was reflected by all the staff we encountered. This goes to show that with the right person in charge, any run of the mill hotel can surprise beyond expectations.

Needless to say, we highly recommend this hotel. As a side note: over the street is a small shopping complex and nearby is a great park to take your children.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maren Ronning P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBISWINTERTHUR, Manager at ibis Winterthur City, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Maren,
Many thanks for your recent stay at the Ibis Winterthur City and for your favourable review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the appearance of the comfortable room with its fantastic size as much as the friendliness of our staff. Your feedback is motivation to us to continue our efforts in the same direction, and I will gladly share your remarks with my team.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Ibis Winterthur City in the near future. Until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely
Kourosch Kangarlou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.0 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#7 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
0.9 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Banana City
Hotel Banana City
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#6 of 14 in Winterthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Winterthur City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Winterthur City

Property: ibis Winterthur City
Address: Bruehlbergstrasse 7, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Winterthur City 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entirely non-smoking Ibis Winterthur City hotel is located in a business district, close to museums and only 5 min by car from Winterthur railway station. It has 88 air-conditioned rooms, including 2 adapted for guests with limited mobility. It has aSwiss Bistro restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving snacks 24 hours a day, and free outdoor parking. A meeting room may also be booked. Guests on business trips will appreciate our WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Winterthur City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing