We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotlessly clean, quiet and suitable for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Depot 195 - Hostel Winterthur
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean, quiet and suitable for families.”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here during a music festival so were a little fearful because we had our little daughters with us. It was wonderful. The family room is charming, beds very comfy and everything was absolutely immaculately clean. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Its a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of town. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepongoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
10
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This should be your fist choice if you are looking for something special off the beaten track. The hostel is clean, spacious, charming and the staff very friendly and helpful. Only 5 minutes walking distance from the main railway station with fast connections to Zurich (S12, 19 min) every half hour (:22 and :52) and back (:21 and :51) and to Zurich Airport (13 min, :25 and :55).

But going to Zurich is actually not even necessary. Situated in the former industrial area "Sulzerareal" there is much to explore in the near neighborhood, as for example just next door the nice little cafe "Portier" or the layback music bar/club "Kraftfeld" as well as the mix of old industrial and modern office buildings nearby. Last but not least the old town of Winterthur nearby (5 min by foot) offers a wide range of restaurants, clubs, museums and shopping opportunities. Why going to Zurich and getting lost...?

Room Tip: The dorms are all quite equal. The private rooms under the roof are very charming. Rooms facing to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwitscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

The hostel is very good and has a nice modern design. We stayed here because zurich was too expensive. It is very close to the train station, which made it easy to ride into zurich. The neighborhood was very hip and there is a lot of interesting things to do. It is somewhat outside of downtown, but the walk is not bad at all. Overall I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illini1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

If you come to Zurich area, you must check this place out. BRAND NEW FACILITY, just opened in May. Clean rooms, clean bathroom, awesome kitchen, hot shower, friendly staff. BEST OF ALL, the FASTEST WI-FI I HAVE HAD IN SWITZERLAND. I tried other hotels, but I keep coming back here over & over. LOVE THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterthur hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Winterthur City
ibis Winterthur City
#4 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis budget Winterthur
ibis budget Winterthur
#7 of 14 in Winterthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wartmann am Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
Plaza Hotel Winterthur
#3 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sorell Hotel Krone
Sorell Hotel Krone
#5 of 14 in Winterthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Winterthur
Park Hotel Winterthur
#2 of 14 in Winterthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depot 195 - Hostel Winterthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depot 195 - Hostel Winterthur

Property: Depot 195 - Hostel Winterthur
Address: Lagerplatz 4, Winterthur 8400, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Winterthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Winterthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Depot 195 - Hostel Winterthur 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hostel situated just five minutes from the railway station, embedded in a vibrant and urban area. Proximity to the city of Zurich and the airport and to the main tourist areas and eastern Switzerland makes Winterthur the perfect starting-point for sightseeing in Switzerland. Offers comfortable beds in individually designed bedrooms at fair prices. Opening 1st May 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Depot 195 - Hostel Winterthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing