We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest very good retraunt”

Restaurant Zunfthaus zur Waag
Ranked #24 of 1,918 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$80
Cuisines: French, Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A warm welcome to the Münsterhof (pedestrian zone) - a beautiful historic town square and the jewel of the Zurich city center. One great place to wine and dine and celebrate in the stylish atmosphere of the old city is the Zunfthaus zur Waag, directly facing the Fraumünster church with its famous Chagall windows. Discover an authentic piece of Zurich's history for yourself and take delight in our hospitality given to you in a house dating from 1315 and steeped in history
Moscow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Honest very good retraunt”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

You get exactly what you can expect from the restarunt in the city center in the old bulding. And even more - not only the typical local dishes, but also some auther`s creations. Very nice atmosfere and friendly staff! Will be glad to return, if occures!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vladislav r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    58
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“For Intimate Evenings in Old Town Zurich”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Anytime we are in Zurich we dine at this historic Guild house. The intimate second floor dining room (no more than 8 tables) creates a beautiful setting for the expertly prepared food and wonderful wine list. The Guild host Sepp Wimmer has described the staff's dedication to quality in the following way, "I am sticking with personal commitment and creativity, but also great joy." This attitude shines through in every aspect of the dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but expensive and charged for tap water!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Had a pleasant evening eating outside. The duo of melon soups was the highlight. Very expensive menu items so I was very disappointed to be charged for tap water (we did order wine in addition) and the waitress making a point of indicating where we should leave a tip was rather uncalled for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Swiss kitchen as it must be”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great and classic Swiss restaurant.

You should order it also for a lunch, because it is usually full of locals. For the evening it is must.
We have a lunch there. The meal was great, perfectly prepared and beautifully served.
Service was excellent.

A have no choice but to agree with “weekenderpaul” and to add that it is probably a Michelin standard restaurant and therefore not cheap (but nothing in Swiss & Zurich is, that’s right!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in the heart of old town”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I had dinner here on a Tuesday night with an old MBA classmate who was in town for a conference. We sat outdoors on a Tuesday night with a bunch of guys from his conference. It was really lovely in the heart of the old town, and I was surprised that they let us linger there all night without kicking us out. We were literally the last ones left there at almost midnight.

I had a lovely autumn salad with scallops and pata negra ham that cost CHF 42.50 for the main course portion. My dessert was some kind of yummy frozen concoction with ice cream and fresh berries.

Too bad I didn't get to check out the inside of this guild house, but it was still lovely to sit outside. And the waitress was nice and spoke English.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I-Lin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Zunfthaus zur Waag also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Zunfthaus zur Waag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing