We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food”
Review of Taverna Kalymnos

Taverna Kalymnos
Ranked #1,054 of 1,928 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Gewerbeschule
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad food”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I am greek and i know how to cook greek food! This was a terrible version of something that just reminded of greek food.... Everything was of a bad quality! The atmosphere though was nice and very close to greek tavernas!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“advisable greek taverna”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This taverna is located in a nice residential area not far from the business district of Hardturmstrasse. The inside is quite nice even if the table are a bit small. White walls, some boiserie. Food is the typical Greek, well executed. I had a mix of souces for appetizer (hummus, tzatziki, etc..) which was very good. As main course I had grilled octopus : this came a bit too dry with some roasted patotoes which did not look like to be done at the moment.
Bill was in the average for Zurich.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giallu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very good Greek food”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Nice place, staff very kind, ambiance with music and very very good and tasty food. I thought I was home, in Greece, for a while! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amymymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Greek food in Zurich”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stumbled into this inviting Greek Taverna. Haven't mastered the language here but English is definitely accepted and checked out the menu before requesting a table. As pointed out throughout TripAdvisor in respect to anything in Zurich, expect it to be very expensive, so for me checking the menu first (wasn't posted outside) reduced the shock somewhat and enabled me to just decipher between reasonable and outrageously expensive. This place was somewhat pricey but I was in search of lamb, so it is to be expected. No lamb shoulder so settled on the Rack of Lamb and I had the House white wine which was served in a third of a litre in a unique tin cup. Prior to the lamb I had what I thought was going to be some sort of beet salad but instead was a beet dip of sorts with some fresh bread. A funny pink color but delicious! I polished off a small basket of bread and the waiter brought me another full basket as he saw how much I enjoyed the dip.

The lamb was served nicely on a bed of rice with roasted potatoes. It was well cooked and I feared it may be overdone but was pleasantly surprised as it was very good. polished off the entire plate and then the wine. It was a nice place, the waiter was attentive and provided good service. The price, very high but expected, with the beet dip thing at 9CHF, the lamb at 34CHF and the wine at 10CHF for a total of 53CHF which equates to about $60CDN. Payment was possible in Francs or Euro and upon calculating it out next time I would pay with Euro, although they usually only provide the remaining change in CHF so it would be wise to have the near exact amount.

BertiBoy

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BertiBoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Reservation advisable!”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I love coming back to the Kalymnos as their food is always very tasty. One thing I do mind about the restaurant - the accustics inside are quite bad and as the restaurant is often full in the evening, the amount of noise rises. Additionally, Greek music comes out of some speakers...it can get quite annoying if you are sitting right underneath a speaker. So, while making a reservation (which is highly advisable), ask for a table away from the speakers!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyMaryMontagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Kalymnos also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Taverna Kalymnos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing