We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and room”
Review of stattHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
stattHotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 May 2013

It's my 3rd time in Zurich, but first time here. The room is fine and fairly small but it's normal in Zurich. The location is lovely where you can reach every part with short walk, lots of restaurants and bars nearby. The host is friendly and helpful.
The breakfast at grand cafe motta is just perfect, remember to get 15% off discount if you are a guest at stattHotel. If you stay in the higher floor it seems that internet wireless signal can be really low, which should be improved on this.
However I will definitely consider staying here again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Had a great first impression of Zurich - Thank you to stattHotel and staff. Couldn't beat the location in the middle of the Old Town area, only a street away from the river, a very short walk to the lake, and next to trams, good restaurants and lots of shops. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, and very comfortable (also great shower!). Especially nice was that it was very quiet despite the fact that it is in an active nightlife corner of the old town area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the building (quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERI-to-MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Statthotel is quite literally a hidden gem, sandwiched between two buildings. It's a great place to stay if you are looking for someplace in the middle of town, comfortable and clean. the location was ideal for us, as we loved wandering around the old town and the lake. easy access to lots of shopping and food. It's about 10min walk from the main train station.

The hotel is pretty much self service - no ground floor reception (we were there over the New Year and reception was open 10am - 3pm only), no breakfast which was a pity, though there was complimentary Nespresso and cookies replenished daily. We were also given a small bottle of prosecco to celebrate the New Year which was a nice touch. There's free wifi as well.

We like the efficiency of the system - no matter what time we arrive, we just need to key in a code and the system dispenses our keycard. there is also a number to call if there's problems at any time, so a reception was really not that necessary.

Our room was on the fourth floor on the same side as the bar downstairs (room 41). We requested for a high floor because we read reviews about noise from the bar. Despite being quite high up, the noise was still considerable and affected our sleep. On New Year eve, after watching the fireworks, we went to bed past 1am with the earplugs provided (i really don't like to wear earplugs so it bothers me). and on 1 Jan we were so relieved that the bar was closed for the day. Also, the bed seems to be slightly tilted so i kept rolling over to my husband and he joked that he might roll off the bed if i don't keep to my side!

Those aside, the room was very nice and clean. i really like the modern look and efficient layout so there's ample space for everything. of all the hotels we stayed in Switzerland, this had the roomiest bathroom. not huge, but very comfortable size for us. flat screen tv mounted at a suitable height. bathroom slippers provided as well. there was a mini fridge which was useful as we bought some food from the supermart. and a wall mounted fan but that doesn't seem to work.

A really nice little hotel that we enjoyed a lot.

Room Tip: ask for high floor facing the back (away from the bar)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank littleclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Very central location. You can walk easely to downtown.Room and bathroom are very small. My room was quiet. If you are taller than 1,75m you will hit your head in the shower. i missed the hairdryer. The bed was tilted laterally, so I did not sleep well. The staff at the reception was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birgit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The Statthotel is ideally located in Zurich downtown center, at walking distances ( ~1 miles) : meetings , shopping or visiting...etc..
No night service but easy access code,
No room service but breakfast in next door Café facing the river is excellent.
Hotel neat & clean , very quiet ,hidden in a tiny street
( not easy to located first time) Have a good look on the map before coming.

Keep this address for you only ! don't tell to all your friends
As I would like to have a room free for my next trip & so will you...!?

Le Dahut

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dahut20-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

when the room would have each 2 or more buildings and constructions, I would rent this apartment as :) most of all I would only sleep here :)


the staff is very friendly, you do not write anywhere & some hotels on the Internet for 135 CHF and when you get there, ask for 175 CHF suddenly that I could not find nice ...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartaCuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We absolutely loved the stattHotel in Zurich. The location just cannot be beat--just a couple blocks from the historical sites in Zurich--we simply rolled out of bed, grabbed breakfast from the great cafe in front of the hotel, and then set off walking for the day.

The room and the bathroom (we were in room 31) were small by US standards, but quite spacious by European standards--Plenty of room for two people to move around without being completely on top of each other. The hotel's free wifi worked flawlessly, the iphone charger in the room was a nice bonus (and let me plug in other devices to my adapter), the in room coffee was excellent, and the binder full of information about Zurich (including restaurant recommendations and how to work everything in the room) was fabulous.

This is a very nicely kept building, but it was constructed a while ago (as most places in this area of Zurich are) so there is very little insulation or other noise dampening materials in the walls. This means that you can hear people in the hall, coming up the stairs, and closing the doors. Everyone was quiet and polite, but if you are a light sleeper, be aware. We knew from other reviews that the street could be noisy... and it was. There were a lot of people and noise until about 1:30 am or so. This didn't really bother us, but, again, if you are a light sleeper you aren't going to like a room on the street side.

Our first night, there was ALOT of trash and broken bottles in the alley outside the hotel when we got up in the morning (not right in front of the door or anything, about 15 feet away). The city didn't get this cleaned up until maybe 11:00am or so. I think this is just a downside to being close to the nightlife... but it surprised us. However, the second night did create nearly as much trash or broken glass... so it might have been an anomoly... but something to be aware of.

Even with the expected downsides, this place is a GREAT value. We would certainly stay here again when we visit Zurich.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KHMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
803 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#64 of 137 in Zurich
178 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
989 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 137 in Zurich
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to stattHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about stattHotel

Address: Schneggengasse 8, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: £118 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — stattHotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your stattHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing