We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but small”
Review of stattHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
stattHotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Although the room was located in a nice area on the water and within walking distance to the train station, the rooms are small, although clean, there were no personnel at the reception office although we checked in at 2:00 PM, the elevator was extremely small. From what I expect of a 4 star hotel it did not meet my expectations and, I have stayed at some 4 star hotels that were great. It could be this is the standard for a 4 star hotel in Zurich, I don't know.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinoLMancinoSr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina M, Manager at stattHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Mr. Mancino
Many thanks for your feedback. Kindly note that we are officially only rated as a one star Hotel because we don't provide any meals and because our reception opening hours are limited. Compared to other Swiss Hotels we do believe that we meet the standards of a three star Hotel. On Tripadvisor we are listed correctly. Could you inform us where you had this information from in order to make the necessary corrections?
Kind regards from Zurich, Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Ideally located in the old town of Zurich. The Reception is on the third floor and my husband did not notice the lift, so we hiked up our luggage on the narrow staircase. The staff was friendly and helpful during our stay. Our first room was on the forth floor facing the courtyard, clean and cosy with a small kitchenette . We decided to extend our stay by two days and was moved to the second floor just above the restaurant/bar at the front of the building, however their was little or no noise coming from it. Again clean however there was kitchenette. Complimentary cookies and Nespresso were in both rooms. Close to the railway,shops,restaurants and the lake. Really enjoyed our stay there in beautiful Zurich.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J8Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

It's my 3rd time in Zurich, but first time here. The room is fine and fairly small but it's normal in Zurich. The location is lovely where you can reach every part with short walk, lots of restaurants and bars nearby. The host is friendly and helpful.
The breakfast at grand cafe motta is just perfect, remember to get 15% off discount if you are a guest at stattHotel. If you stay in the higher floor it seems that internet wireless signal can be really low, which should be improved on this.
However I will definitely consider staying here again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Had a great first impression of Zurich - Thank you to stattHotel and staff. Couldn't beat the location in the middle of the Old Town area, only a street away from the river, a very short walk to the lake, and next to trams, good restaurants and lots of shops. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, and very comfortable (also great shower!). Especially nice was that it was very quiet despite the fact that it is in an active nightlife corner of the old town area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the building (quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERI-to-MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Statthotel is quite literally a hidden gem, sandwiched between two buildings. It's a great place to stay if you are looking for someplace in the middle of town, comfortable and clean. the location was ideal for us, as we loved wandering around the old town and the lake. easy access to lots of shopping and food. It's about 10min walk from the main train station.

The hotel is pretty much self service - no ground floor reception (we were there over the New Year and reception was open 10am - 3pm only), no breakfast which was a pity, though there was complimentary Nespresso and cookies replenished daily. We were also given a small bottle of prosecco to celebrate the New Year which was a nice touch. There's free wifi as well.

We like the efficiency of the system - no matter what time we arrive, we just need to key in a code and the system dispenses our keycard. there is also a number to call if there's problems at any time, so a reception was really not that necessary.

Our room was on the fourth floor on the same side as the bar downstairs (room 41). We requested for a high floor because we read reviews about noise from the bar. Despite being quite high up, the noise was still considerable and affected our sleep. On New Year eve, after watching the fireworks, we went to bed past 1am with the earplugs provided (i really don't like to wear earplugs so it bothers me). and on 1 Jan we were so relieved that the bar was closed for the day. Also, the bed seems to be slightly tilted so i kept rolling over to my husband and he joked that he might roll off the bed if i don't keep to my side!

Those aside, the room was very nice and clean. i really like the modern look and efficient layout so there's ample space for everything. of all the hotels we stayed in Switzerland, this had the roomiest bathroom. not huge, but very comfortable size for us. flat screen tv mounted at a suitable height. bathroom slippers provided as well. there was a mini fridge which was useful as we bought some food from the supermart. and a wall mounted fan but that doesn't seem to work.

A really nice little hotel that we enjoyed a lot.

Room Tip: ask for high floor facing the back (away from the bar)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank littleclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Very central location. You can walk easely to downtown.Room and bathroom are very small. My room was quiet. If you are taller than 1,75m you will hit your head in the shower. i missed the hairdryer. The bed was tilted laterally, so I did not sleep well. The staff at the reception was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birgit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The Statthotel is ideally located in Zurich downtown center, at walking distances ( ~1 miles) : meetings , shopping or visiting...etc..
No night service but easy access code,
No room service but breakfast in next door Café facing the river is excellent.
Hotel neat & clean , very quiet ,hidden in a tiny street
( not easy to located first time) Have a good look on the map before coming.

Keep this address for you only ! don't tell to all your friends
As I would like to have a room free for my next trip & so will you...!?

Le Dahut

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dahut20-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
ibis Zurich City West
#50 of 137 in Zurich
1,013 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
862 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#16 of 137 in Zurich
414 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Marta
Hotel Marta
#1 of 47 in Zurich
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to stattHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about stattHotel

Address: Schneggengasse 8, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: £99 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — stattHotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your stattHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing