We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable evening”
Review of Kaiser's Reblaube

Kaiser's Reblaube
Ranked #113 of 1,929 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$92
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Swiss, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was the second time we have been here. The atmosphere is lovely, in the heart of the Aldstadt, and the food traditional Swiss and of high quality. The only down side was the maitre'd (actually in this case, the maitresse'd) who was incredibly grumpy and unhelpful. Thankfully our waitress could not have been nicer. An excellent evening; we would go there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank idandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    44
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good, value ok.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The chefs definitely know their business, all dishes were superb. And they come at a price. Very nice selection of wines. We had a very nice evening there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zurich101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent first experience”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I had come across very good reviews about Kaiser's Reblaude, and therefore decided to try it during a recent visit to Zurich.
It was an excellent experience.
The restaurant is located in a old part of town, minutes away from the Bahnoffstrasse, and therefore quite easy to get to.
The food choices were very good, and the menu selected was excellent. The service was also excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The evening we were there, the restaurant was completely full by 7:30 (we had made a reservation a couple of days before), mostly with locals. Everyone seemed to be very much enjoying their meals and wine.
We had an excellent experience, and I would definitely make it a point of eating there again whenever I am in Zurich.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in this high-end restaurant”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I had problems with the overall rating on this, as it should be an excellent, but for a lone wanderer from the UK with a budget, the bill was a shock and the only reason I selected "Very Good" rather than "Excellent". This is an excellent restaurant although for someone from the UK unfamiliar with Zurich restaurant prices it became the most expensive meal I have had.

I was on a one-night stopover en route by train from London to Chor. I had followed the old city walk and looked for somewhere to eat on the way. It was Saturday night and many of the Swiss restaurants I had tried, especially the Kellers, were very full (more Swiss restaurants are needed in Zurich, the Italian ones seemed largely empty). I came across the Reblaube and needed a meal. The atmosphere looked warm and friendly, important for a lone diner, so I went in. The reception was welcoming and there was a mixture of diners from families with young children to couples. The food was excellent. I had a warm lentil salad with mushrooms (the small ones) and a very subtle and delightful selection of leaves and herbs. The main course of black codfish followed by poached pear were equally delicious with subtle flavours. The service was friendly and efficient. I started with a glass of local white wine and liked it so much I followed this with a half-bottle. All perfect, heart-warming and very satisfying. The surprise was the wine: £51 (66 Swiss Francs) for a half-bottle and a glass. I clearly had not understood the pricing properly. This meant that my meal came to about £125. The three-course meal was 90 (£70). So I would recommend this strongly if you are not on a budget. Perhaps I drank too much of the lovely wine and was seduced by the charming waitresses!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice meal at decent price”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had a Saturday dinner with a friend recently - already been there three times before. Service and food were both very good to excellent. Have a look at their website, it provides a good insight what's on offer. Expect to pay ca. 125 CHF for a meal with wine, water and a coffee for consistent 14-15 Gault Millau or close to 1 star Michelin type food. Location is also very nice, would suggest asking for the Goethe-Stuebli seating which is even more cosy. The wines are good, also the open wines and staff will suggest good pairings for the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaiser's Reblaube also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Kaiser's Reblaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing