We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice food”
Review of Brasserie Schiller

Brasserie Schiller
Ranked #1,111 of 1,929 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Hochschulen
Description: In the heart of Zurich within the historic building of Neue Zurcher Zeitung you find Brasserie Schiller & Goethe Bar. The Brasserie provides a lively modern french cuisine. The Goethe Bar provides trendy drinks and snacks througout the day. The summer terrasse is the place to see and to be seen.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good location and nice food”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

ate here before in the Bar at Lunchtime and the food & service were excellent.
We were in Zurich for the Festival so a very busy time, I booked my table before we went which was advisable as the whole place was busy.
We were seated outside, the area was packed nevertheless the staff were courteous and efficient and the meal was good though a little pricey for what we ate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    132
    68
    57
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Looking for a great place for coffee or a bar”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Located in the middle of Zurich, near Bellevue. Close to the lake and the train station Stadelhofen. Perfect place for a meeting either business or friend. Also a very nice bar at night. Definetely worth going to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location but food overall was average”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We went to Schiller as we were going to the Opera next door. It wasn't a great start as they came round with a champagne trolley and the glass that was served up was flat as the bottle had obviously been open for some time, they immediately replaced without question to be fair. The starter of Tuna Tartar looked as though it had been cut by someone with a very blunt knife and the main courses of cafe de paris beef was very bland taste wise, and ditto with the other starter of french onion soup. The staff were generally friendly but the food needs to improve to get a 4 star rating in our opinion

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Elegant bar for a drink in the evenings”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I've only been here for drinks, but it's quite a nice bar to hang out in during the evenings. Elegant, brightly lit, quiet enough to actually have a conversation. It can get crowded sometimes, but I've always managed to get a seat at some point in the night. Seems to be a popular place for English-speaking expats.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-Lin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyed cocktails outside”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a round of cocktails outside during a sunny afternoon before going to the movies. My partner had a cosmopolitan and I had a frozen passion fruit daiquiri. Both drinks were excellent. The venue is quite fancy without being too zen-ibiza type. Nice views of the square outside the opera house. We did not get a chance to try the food but based on the experience with the drinks I suspect that the food is good too.

Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hola_bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Schiller also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Brasserie Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing