We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the Tartare!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #4 of 1,875 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$95
Cuisines: Swiss, Mediterranean, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In our Zurich hotel’s Restaurant & Bar “differente”, we use only high-quality, seasonal and regional products in preparing our Mediterranean dishes. Of course, we are also famous for our Swiss specialities and for our unique tartar dishes. Your visit to the restaurant ‘differente’ will no doubt become a memorable occasion when you enjoy the art of flambé and carving being demonstrated at your table
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try the Tartare!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Probably the best steak tartare in Zurich. Good menu, very good food and good service. What else would you ask for?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Herbert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    89
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly and fast staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The food is very good and the staff friendly and quick. I am not a fan of the interior, it looks rather boring, but this is a detail - the food is what matters!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheyla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service, typical swiss food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The specialty is beef tartar which we tried and was excellent. We also really liked the burger. They have beautiful teas Sirocco which are delicious. The service was great, nice friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 16Waimea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Breakfast is awesome. Staff is good and take care of customers. I did not find any vegetarian food on the menu....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Uday K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An insider tip for lunch in an expensive city like Zürich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Zürich is quite an expensive place to eat out. I find this place very reasonable for what they offer for lunch. From Monday to Friday there are two lunch menus to choose. The vegetarian one is Fr.21 and the meat dish is Fr.23.50. A soup or a salat buffet is included in the menu. The salat buffet is excellent, the vegetables are very fresh and there are at least 8 different kinds to choose. The main course is nicely presented and quite good. The ambiance is casual elegant with very attentive service and even cloth napkins. The restaurant is easy to reach, since the Tram no. 14 0r 11 stops right in front of it. The stop is called Kronenstrasse. I have never tried the dinner, since that would be quite a bit more expensive. But I can highly recommend anyone for their lunch menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SiuMui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing