We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich
Ranked #100 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not a convenience location (not so close to walk to the centre) and no AC. We were there in the end of June and it was super hot, had to open the windows but it's by the road so it's quite noisy.

Very hard pillow, actually my partner got headache because of that. The so called free wifi was only for 1 device a room.

Bathroom was tiny. I'm not big and still found the shower cabin was super small. Plus the rubber between the shower cabin doors were falling apart.

4 star boutique hotel? Really don't think so. Will never go back to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki_ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Nikki_ID,

Thank you for your feedback.

We belong to the hotels in Zurich which are under preservation and are therefore not allowed to install an air conditioning system. But we are working on a solution to keep the hotel cool in summer.

We have different categories in the Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof. It would be a pleasure to assist you in taking your booking to find the perfect category for you.

Of course we will double check the showers to ensure the cabin doors are fully functional.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located next to the tram station and main street. I stayed in a single room and it was a size of a shoe box with everything crammed inside that would qualify the hotel as a 4 star. The staff was kind and professional and I enjoyed my stay there, but I would never pay the full price for the room. It is simply too small!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank AQ514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear AQ514,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.

We have different categories in the Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof, the biggest is our Suite. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next reservation to find the right category for you.

Your words about our staff are of our highest importance - thank you very much.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you on your next visit to Zurich.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It is just boutique in name. They have three stars standard at best. With tiny bathrooms. Named boutique to cheat you more out of your money. Avoid if possible. Even the location is not practical if you are a tourist. And plus that they told us one price during check in and when we checked out it was different price: 140 CHF more. Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TanyaA1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice hotel, but if you will be there and its summer, be prepared cause there is no aircon... Other than that we enjoyed our stay there... Welcome refreshments and all kinds of vanity kits plus a high powered hairdryer are really great additions to this hotel. You can even buy day pass for the public transport at the reception! Overall, it was lovely.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mariecris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Mariecris V

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding

It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof and spent a lovely time in Zurich.

We belong to the hotels in Zurich which are under preservation and we are therefore not allowed to install an air conditioning system. But we are working on a solution to keep the hotel cool in summer.

We would be happy to welcome you back on your next visit to Zurich.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We chose this property due to it's proximity to the Unispital Zürich. That and the nice staff were about all I can say for the positive side. The original room given to us on the quiet side, next to a construction site, school and church bell tower did not quite meet amnesty international's approval, I'm sure...TINY! We upgraded to a so-called suite that was a bit bigger, but due to it's location (quietside), was exposed to the sun from morning 'till evening! The old windows offered no insulation whatsoever and temp. in room must have been around 40-42 degrees C!!! We stayed there (had to!) for 11 nights! While pay checking the final bill we noted that we were charged 3(!!!) different nightly rates during our stay. Still waiting for contact from said hotel regarding that!

Room Tip: Get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuediAbtwil_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been there in the month of may ,it was located near to the zurich HB main station and you cna reach teh hotel by taking 10 number tram,teh staff was polite but was not having any rooms ervice at 3:30 pm in the eve the room was not ready , room was quite good and nicer looking but at night it is dificult to sleep in summers as they dont have any ac or fan ,we tried openign balcony and it was joint completly so wasn't able to open due to fear,even they have not provided the water in the room.Evry 30 minutes a bell sound comes which does not allow you to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firdos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear firdos k

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We appologize that your room was not ready by 3pm, which is our check in time. This should have been guaranteed.

We belong to the hotels in Zurich which are under preservation order and are therefore not allowed to install an air conditioning system – therefore we do not mention an air condition in the description of the hotel. But I assure you we are currently working on a solution to keep the hotel cool in summer.

The ringing of the church bells is something very traditional about Zurich and Switzerland and we cannot influence it unfortunately.

we hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Mixed emotions on this hotel; if you get a room facing the main street, you will hear the traffic - particularly the tram (also vibration from it). In a prior stay I had a room in the back (small street and parking), which was very quiet. You can walk to the Zurich's Main Station and to the luxury shopping located in Bahnhofstrasse - it's a nice (downhill) walk along beautiful gardens and homes, so I'll give the location 4 stars; the staff is funny, speaks German, English, Italian and French and is very helpful. Given the (lack of) amenities, this is not even close to a 4 star hotel in my humble opinion. You may like it here if you don't mind the noise or you get a room out back. Contrary to what other reviewers are saying, I find the price for the room affordable for Zurich; but then the hotel really hasn't any amenities, not even a small fitness room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room out back; otherwise expect to hear (and feel) the tram and lots of mopeds and cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvonruex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear tvonrex

We are happy to hear about your stay at the Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof.

One of our hotels´ advantages is its central location. Therefore the public transportation can sometimes be disturbing, especially at night. We are happy to assist you anytime at the Front Desk if you require changing your room.

Your comments about our staff is of highest importance to us - thank you very much.

We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Sorell Hotel Rex
#37 of 137 in Zurich
371 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
818 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 137 in Zurich
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#49 of 137 in Zurich
659 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Escher Wyss
Zuri by Fassbind
Zuri by Fassbind
#98 of 137 in Zurich
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich

Address: Universitaetstrasse 101, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: £93 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing