We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More 3 star than 4.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich
Ranked #99 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Taking advice from tripadvisor reviewers my husband emailed the hotel requesting a quiet room. Very quickly received a reply to say that our request had been noted.
However on arrival we were allocated a room overlooking the main road. My husband went to reception and asked about our request and we were immediately moved to a quieter, larger and much pleasanter room.
Had we had to stay in the first room one star would have been generous! It was tiny - only room for one small table at the side of the bed, no room to pass each other and bed made up with only one pillow. Only large enough for single occupancy.
We booked the hotel through Hotwire (Top Secret) and received no details about the room - presumably they only book the most basic. Would advise booking direct with the hotel or at least a website where you can see the rooms and book a specific type.
Initially concerned that the location was a little way out of town, we actually found it to be excellent. Tram straight from the airport to the front door of the hotel and from the hotel run every few minutes, a short ride to the main railway station.
Receptionist extremely helpful especially when we were having problems with the wifi.

Room Tip: Email asking for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneNewcastleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear anneNewcastleEngland,

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay at the Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof.

We try to fulfill all wishes before our guests arrival, we apologize yours were not met in the first place. We are happy you felt comfortable after the change of rooms. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next reservation to find the perfect category and the perfect reservation for your. It would be a big pleasure to assist you.

We are happy you enjoyed the central location of our hotel and your feedback about our staff is of our highest importance to us.

We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel is on a very very busy road. We were there on a Sunday, yet it was relentless. The room has no air con, and is very hot, so you either boil or are deafened by the noise. There is a fan in the wardrobe, but...
Despite the noise outside, there was little in the neighbourhood in the way of restaurants etc. There is, though, a nice bakery over the road and down the hill a little.
The room was small - technically a double but only really big enough for one (and there wasn't enough space between bed and table to actually sit at the desk and work.
Bathroom was, errm, compact and bijou too.
TV had just one ENglish channel - American CNN. But it had a Hebrew one.
Wifi weak and keeps cutting out
Not really of a business hotel standard, neither is it the 4 star it claims

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't overlook the road if you'd like some sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The England Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear the England Family,

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay at the Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof.

One of our hotel's advantages is its central location. Therefore the public transportation can sometimes be disturbing, especially at night.

We have different categories, the biggest is the suite. It would be a pleasure to assist you in taking your booking next time to find the perfect category for you.

We are currently working on a solution with our internet provider to find a solution for a faster and better WiFi connection.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Zurich.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel looks better on the website than in the real life. I suppose I wasn't exactly lucky and got a room on the first floor on the road side and I must say that the room was quite noisy. It is not so much the tram noise that was making my sleep uncomfortable but rather the many cars driving down and up this busy street. Talking about the Tramway, this is what I found the best with this hotel. Tram nor 9 and 10 stop 50 meters down the hotel entrance. Number 10 is particularly convenient as it takes you from the airport to Zurich Haubtbanhof - the main train station. I actually wouldn't take the car to go to this hotel as there are only 10 parking places.
I didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment on it.
Overall OK, noisy, but super location for the one without a car.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Frenchfrog39,

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay at the Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof.

One of our hotel's advantages is ist central location. Therefore the public transportation, as convenient as it is, and the traffic can sometimes be disturbing.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back whenever you travel back to Zurich.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Many people find Zurich expensive, well we certainly do. But this hotel makes Zurich affordable without compromising. the hotel is convenient to the airport and to central Zurich. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We have stayed in this hotel 4 times over the past few years and cannot fault it for value for money and convince.

Room Tip: The rooms facing onto the main street can be noisy so ask for a room on the other side. the rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tiggy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear tiggy57,

It is such a pleasure to read such a lovely feedback from a frequent guest like you.

Your words about or staff are of highest importance to us - thank you!

We hope we will welcome you back whenever you travel to Zurich in the future.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich between 26th July 2014 and 30th July 2014.

26th July: Checkin. (Double room for 2 people, room number 106).
Minibar was empty; I bought 2 Coca Cola from the reception. Maria who worked on the reception that night could not take the money of 2 Coca Cola because the pay desk was closed.

27th July 2014: Room 106 was too noisy because of the tram. We chanced to another room (room number 209). There was another girl not Maria who helped us with room changing. At the same time I paid for two Coca Cola.

29th July 2014: Together with my husband I went to the reception for order to taxi to the airport in the early morning (30th July). That night Maria was working on the reception. When we went to the reception Maria was talking to two other people in Spanish and we (6-7 people) waited our turn on the reception around 20 minutes.
We paid CHF 20 for 2 people for 4 nights. A tax is impored by the city CHF 2.50 per person, per night. Maria told us we have to pay CHF 7 for 2 Coca Cola. We told to her that we paid for it at the same time we changed room on 27th July. She told us that she will remove the price of the 2 Coca Cola and we did not need to pay twice. (But she did not).

30th July 2014: We went to the reception to leave our room key. The taxi was waiting for us. The reception gay told us we have to pay CHF 7. But he did not tell that it was for 2 Coca Cola, he told us it is City taxes for the last night. But we told him that we had already paid CHF 20 for 4 nights for 2 people. He told us we have to pay for the last night. Than we asked why it is CHF 7 and not CHF 5, he said the city taxes are CHF 5 for 2 people but he could not explain what the other CHF 2 was. When we got the bill we release that we had paid CHF 7 for 2 Coca Cola, so we paid double price for 2 Coca Cola.

On the other hand;
No air conditioning in the rooms.
To close to tram / too noise
Near to church which rings often
Absolutely not a 4 star hotel
Unfriendly / dishonest reception staff
Very week Wi-Fi
One internet passcode for only one device for double room
Empty minibar

Breakfast and Room cleaning was good.
The hotel was not we expected. We would never stay at that hotel again, never again.
ABSOLUTELY NOT RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: First night we stayed at room number 106. It was bad, we could not sleep because of the tram noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Elanur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Hotel is small modern, very well located. It is clean, the service is good. The tram stops across the street and it is convenient to reach the lake, the station or the airport (40 min). Rooms are not very big but comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Fabissima,

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay at the Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof.

It is of our highest importance hat you feel comfortable and were happy with our service standards.

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Thomas P and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not a convenience location (not so close to walk to the centre) and no AC. We were there in the end of June and it was super hot, had to open the windows but it's by the road so it's quite noisy.

Very hard pillow, actually my partner got headache because of that. The so called free wifi was only for 1 device a room.

Bathroom was tiny. I'm not big and still found the shower cabin was super small. Plus the rubber between the shower cabin doors were falling apart.

4 star boutique hotel? Really don't think so. Will never go back to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki_ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Nikki_ID,

Thank you for your feedback.

We belong to the hotels in Zurich which are under preservation and are therefore not allowed to install an air conditioning system. But we are working on a solution to keep the hotel cool in summer.

We have different categories in the Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof. It would be a pleasure to assist you in taking your booking to find the perfect category for you.

Of course we will double check the showers to ensure the cabin doors are fully functional.

Thomas P. and the Boutique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
St. Georges
#86 of 137 in Zurich
120 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#39 of 137 in Zurich
377 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#50 of 137 in Zurich
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#41 of 137 in Zurich
1,040 reviews
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#37 of 137 in Zurich
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich

Address: Universitaetstrasse 101, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: £87 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Boutique Hotel Rigihof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing