We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday in Holiday INN” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Zurich Messe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
Ranked #63 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday in Holiday INN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I checked into this hotel for just one day and was quite pleased for what was offered in my budget. The rooms were clean and spacious, however you wont get the AC services unless the temperature outside the hotel exceeds 18 degrees. The hotel is located a bit outside the city but you can reach the hotel by taking a tram route 11 or a bus route 63 from either the Zurich main station or from the nearest station Oerlikon. The Hotel has a restaurant which shall serve you whenever you on demand.

The staffs are helpful and friendly, the rooms are neat and clean, the toilets are adequately size and the bus station is exactly outside the hotel. Check in and check out is fairly simple and wifi connectivity is provided within the hotel.

In all if you are looking for budget options in Zurich you can opt for Holiday Inn..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    237
    72
    9
    6
See reviews for
57
148
46
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Chose this hotel using Booking.com, as adjacent to venue "Hallenstadion"; for a music gig in Apr14. Perfect stay for the hotel, solves any post-event transport issues unlike the other 12,999 concert-goers! Followed the hotel's website directions, travelled from Zurich airport by train to Oerlikon station, jumped on a bus (ticket machine at bus stop CHF 2.6 pay by c/card or coins) for two stops (it is walkable with light luggage but ensure you have a map of this town/area as it is not obvious if walking). Bus stopped outside the hotel reception. Reception friendly and efficient; spoke English. Room 612, was good size, very clean, light, airy; we like the window open so there was some traffic noise but little noise when closed. The bed was firm, pillows and towels soft. The duvet is a little small for a double and with hindsight we should have asked for an extra one. Although this hotel is rather plain for CHF184 per night, I was pleased with my decision and would revisit. I added breakfast on top CHF28 pppd and bought a 24 hour tram ticket each day CHF8.40 from Reception which allowed easy travel (by bus/train or tram) to and from Zurich, circa 20 mins away. As a Hilton Hotel fan, this was my first Holiday Inn and the only improvement I would like is the bathroom door, it is see-through and does not seal, so all bathroom noise is audible in the bedroom, not necessarily a problem depending upon whom your sharing a room with!

Room Tip: 6th Floor/top overlooking the stadium as you can watch the pre-concert activity but I expect it is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskiesjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear blueskiesjersey,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel was selected for us by our Travel Counsellor, Kate Self, and thus far we have never been let down with the quality and value of the places chosen. This hotel is not in central Zurich and is probably mid way between the airport and the centre of town. However the tram service is only a minute walk from the hotel, and they run very regularly, directly into the town centre. The hotel reception was able to sell us a 24 hour unlimited tram travel pass for only 8 francs, and we found this to be excellent. The hotel offered all that we needed. The room was very comfortable, and my only complaint would be that whilst the bed was ample in size, the duvet was too small to adequately cover our two bodies. We spent the night pulling the duvet off each other to be covered. Such an oversight! Breakfast was excellent and offered all that anybody would require. Reception staff were helpful and overall The Holiday Inn met our needs in full.

Room Tip: Check your duvet for size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

It is great that you have chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Zurich.
We are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for the splendid review!

We would be very pleased to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel to visit Salon du Chocolate. The location is ideal. As the hotel is located just a few meters from the fair. The room is spacious, clean and well soundproofed. Breakfast is varied. The staff are friendly. For me, the most important is parking under the hotel. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the fabulous review!

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be very delighted to host you again on another occasion.

Kindest regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My impression of this hotel may be distorted given that I have a platinium membership and thus get additional benefits, including upgrades. Thus, I'd like to be neutral with my review without taking into account those benefits:

Location: it is not as good as the Swissotel for businnes mens travelling to Zurich/Glattbrugg/Opfikon and is rather more suited for people attending events in the stadium next door. Therefore, everytime I stayed there, I could hear quite some nice from concerts or sport events.
Room: clean and renovated. Having the chance of upgrades, I got always executive rooms with plenty of space and a nice bathroom where you can take baths
Fitness: haven't tried. It would have been great to have a swimming pool as what the Crown Plaza has in Zurich Alstetten
Room service: there is extremely limited choice and when I ordered pasta, I got a very small plate which was definetely not enough for a meal
Restaurant: it was not too bad given larger choice than the room service, but I would expect even more choice. The service was quite friendly but too slow.
Value: it is a good/quality price hotel in Zurich/Oerlikon

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear M D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We appreciate your compliments of our clean guest rooms. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Elite member.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed overnight as a family in two rooms at the Holiday in Zurich Messe to enable us to see an event at the Hallenstadion. From that perspective, the hotels location is excellent; beyond that, though, it is a little out of the way with not much else in the way of cafes or restaurants in the immediate vicinity (though buses ad trams to other parts of the city are readily available). The rooms are of average size, modern, clean and simple, albeit with a somewhat strange semi-transparent bathroom door. The hotel offers free Wifi, which worked well. We also enjoyed a nice evening meal at the restaurant. Breakfast was expensive, but offered a reasonable variety. All staff that we encountered spoke English, and were helpful.

This would not necessarily be the right hotel for an extended stay in Zurich, but for a short stop over it has all you need.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is probably quieter than the front, particularly if there is an event at the H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear 007Sydney,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We are very happy that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the middle of March for a 3 night stay. The hotel was conveniently located over the road from the Hallenstadion where James Blunt was in concert. The links into Central Zurich and the airport are excellent, with frequent trams and buses with stops within a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. The suburb of Oerlikon (5 mins walk) has a number of restuarants and bars if you don't fancy travelling into Zurich; there is also a Coop store which has a good supermarket if you want to buy food/drinks if you are on a budget as Zurich cost of living is quite expensive.

Good Points
- rooms are functional and clean
- great transport links
- very helpful staff, always willing to help if you need some additional or want to arrange an excursion
- great breakfast, fried & continental
- good bar and restuarant, food was of a good standard
- great if you want to attend a concert at the Hallenstadion
- there is a municipal swimming 5 mins walk away - my wife used this every morning

Improvements
- a fridge in the room would be useful
- room was quite hot as the air conditioning does not work until the outside temperature is above a certain level (local law). When we were they the outside temp was about 17degrees. Having a window open was possible, but it could be noisy (road noise at the front of the building)

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and we will be back...when we have another opportunity to see another band in concert in the Hallenstadion.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AddisonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the great review!

We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with as and even more happy to hear that you plan to come back for another concert visit.

We will be more than delighted to welcome you again, soon!

Kindest regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#41 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#30 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Zurich Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Zurich Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
Address: Wallisellenstrasse 48, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Zurich
#41 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#47 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Zurich Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Zurich Messe is ideally located between the airport and the city center in an emerging business district. The hotels surroundings are embossed by the pulsating life of Switzerlands most famous concert and music venue hall Hallenstadion as well as the fair ground Messezentrum Zurich with its numerous exhibitions and the musical hall Theater 11 with its events of international appeal. All these top spots are right across the street within a few meters from the Holiday Inn Zurich Messe. Public transportation is conveniently available in front of the hotel with a direct tram which brings you to the city centre in only 17 minutes as well as a tram which brings you to the airport in only 15 minutes. The Holiday Inn Zuerich Messe is a non smoking hotel with an infrastructure of 164 guest rooms, 7 meeting rooms, a restaurant, a bar, a business center, a gym and a parking. All 164 comfortable non smoking rooms are decorated with the latest contemporary design and offer free high speed internet access and wifi as well as tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, a large work desk with ergonomic easy chair, phone with voicemail, air conditioning, safe and hair dryer. Executive rooms are available with additional space, larger beds and extra amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Zurich Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe Hotel
Holiday Inn zürich
zürich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing