We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice to stay in zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
Ranked #70 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good choice to stay in zurich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Holiday Inn:
1-spacious rooms.
2-well trained hotel staff.
3-staff at bar are rude though and arrogant.
4-free wifi :)
5-also 11 no city bus's stop is just in front of this hotel

Improtanat ZURICH tips:

1-download this application for switzerland bus & train schedule "SBB mobile"
2-Kerela restraunt was one of the good restraunts in zurich.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vautus a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    241
    73
    10
    7
See reviews for
58
149
46
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good, with a very good staff. We got down at Zurich oerlikon station, from which the hotel is a ten minute walk. Its a little far from the city centre but the tramps make it very easy to reach there.
The breakfast provided was very good, with a good variety to choose from. We shall most definitely stay here on our next visit to Zurich.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Senorita_ifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for the thrilling review of our property! Your comments are very much appreciated.

We would be more than happy to have you back with us!

Best regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel itself was fine - spacious room, very clean, well-appointed. It was extremely easy to catch a tram from about 200 m from the front door and it went directly downtown. For the price paid, I would have expected breakfast included, but Switzerland is extremely expensive so I guess I shouldn't have that kind of expectation. :) Would have earned a higher rating purely on value/pricing. Also, I had just stayed in a charming, boutique-y, old school hotel in Lugano with tons of character. This is not that, so my response may be coloured by the warmth of the Lugano stay vs. the relative coldness (i.e. design and atmosphere) of this conference centre style hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REAL-EAC-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel among the many hotels in Zurich.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that the city of Zurich is one of the most expensive cities with one of the highest living costs. Please note that all our rates are offered also with breakfast included at a discounted rate.

Hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to Zurich.

Kind regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The breakfast was fabulous ( they have salmon file at breakfast ) .
The location was not sow great for city center , but a lot of tramways go to city center.
It is close to airport and to train station .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanBineata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I checked into this hotel for just one day and was quite pleased for what was offered in my budget. The rooms were clean and spacious, however you wont get the AC services unless the temperature outside the hotel exceeds 18 degrees. The hotel is located a bit outside the city but you can reach the hotel by taking a tram route 11 or a bus route 63 from either the Zurich main station or from the nearest station Oerlikon. The Hotel has a restaurant which shall serve you whenever you on demand.

The staffs are helpful and friendly, the rooms are neat and clean, the toilets are adequately size and the bus station is exactly outside the hotel. Check in and check out is fairly simple and wifi connectivity is provided within the hotel.

In all if you are looking for budget options in Zurich you can opt for Holiday Inn..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Chose this hotel using Booking.com, as adjacent to venue "Hallenstadion"; for a music gig in Apr14. Perfect stay for the hotel, solves any post-event transport issues unlike the other 12,999 concert-goers! Followed the hotel's website directions, travelled from Zurich airport by train to Oerlikon station, jumped on a bus (ticket machine at bus stop CHF 2.6 pay by c/card or coins) for two stops (it is walkable with light luggage but ensure you have a map of this town/area as it is not obvious if walking). Bus stopped outside the hotel reception. Reception friendly and efficient; spoke English. Room 612, was good size, very clean, light, airy; we like the window open so there was some traffic noise but little noise when closed. The bed was firm, pillows and towels soft. The duvet is a little small for a double and with hindsight we should have asked for an extra one. Although this hotel is rather plain for CHF184 per night, I was pleased with my decision and would revisit. I added breakfast on top CHF28 pppd and bought a 24 hour tram ticket each day CHF8.40 from Reception which allowed easy travel (by bus/train or tram) to and from Zurich, circa 20 mins away. As a Hilton Hotel fan, this was my first Holiday Inn and the only improvement I would like is the bathroom door, it is see-through and does not seal, so all bathroom noise is audible in the bedroom, not necessarily a problem depending upon whom your sharing a room with!

Room Tip: 6th Floor/top overlooking the stadium as you can watch the pre-concert activity but I expect it is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskiesjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear blueskiesjersey,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel was selected for us by our Travel Counsellor, Kate Self, and thus far we have never been let down with the quality and value of the places chosen. This hotel is not in central Zurich and is probably mid way between the airport and the centre of town. However the tram service is only a minute walk from the hotel, and they run very regularly, directly into the town centre. The hotel reception was able to sell us a 24 hour unlimited tram travel pass for only 8 francs, and we found this to be excellent. The hotel offered all that we needed. The room was very comfortable, and my only complaint would be that whilst the bed was ample in size, the duvet was too small to adequately cover our two bodies. We spent the night pulling the duvet off each other to be covered. Such an oversight! Breakfast was excellent and offered all that anybody would require. Reception staff were helpful and overall The Holiday Inn met our needs in full.

Room Tip: Check your duvet for size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIZM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Zurich Messe, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

It is great that you have chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Zurich.
We are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for the splendid review!

We would be very pleased to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Michael Deutsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#40 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#38 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#33 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Zurich Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Zurich Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
Address: Wallisellenstrasse 48, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Zurich
#44 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#47 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Zurich Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Zurich Messe is ideally located between the airport and the city center in an emerging business district. The hotels surroundings are embossed by the pulsating life of Switzerlands most famous concert and music venue hall Hallenstadion as well as the fair ground Messezentrum Zurich with its numerous exhibitions and the musical hall Theater 11 with its events of international appeal. All these top spots are right across the street within a few meters from the Holiday Inn Zurich Messe. Public transportation is conveniently available in front of the hotel with a direct tram which brings you to the city centre in only 17 minutes as well as a tram which brings you to the airport in only 15 minutes. The Holiday Inn Zuerich Messe is a non smoking hotel with an infrastructure of 164 guest rooms, 7 meeting rooms, a restaurant, a bar, a business center, a gym and a parking. All 164 comfortable non smoking rooms are decorated with the latest contemporary design and offer free high speed internet access and wifi as well as tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, a large work desk with ergonomic easy chair, phone with voicemail, air conditioning, safe and hair dryer. Executive rooms are available with additional space, larger beds and extra amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Zurich Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe Hotel
Holiday Inn zürich
zürich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing