We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bleah!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of il postino

il postino
Ranked #1,470 of 1,891 Restaurants in Zurich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Oerlikon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bleah!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The menu is so full of errors my 4 Year old son would have done a better job... It took them 50 minutes to bring 2 pizzas (mediocre) and additionally 20 for the bill. Only plus: its location and nice outdoor seating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    13
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive, slow, mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

It is a rare event that I leave a restaurant angry. While the food and ambiance were "OK", the service was poor and slow. While I could look past the poor service, what was truly shocking and distasteful was the behavior of the owner (and his family) when they arrived. After being placed at the back of the restaurant, the owner ran around raising his voice at staff, and was in and out of the kitchen shouting and carrying food and wine for himself. All the while his two obnoxious children were equally oblivious to the goings on of the patrons of "their" establishment. While I and everyone around me waited upwards of an hour for our food, the owner and his kids ate within moments of sitting down (it would seem that our salads and appetizers went straight to the kids, instead of to our table, despite having ordered them 20+ minutes before).

The entire experience unplayed like something you would see on a "restaurant disaster" TV show or something of the like.

I do not recommend this place unless you want mediocre food for a high price, served inordinately slowly by poor waiters, who work for an obnoxious and loud owner. However, if you want to track down an answer to the "nature versus nurture" question about child rearing, observing the owner with his kids is sure to be enlightening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian swiss style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

So cute. Has sofas instead of chairs. Nice cozy atmosphere. The staff is truly italian, but they act swiss: efficient, on time, precise!

Great place for lunch or dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fleddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average pizza, convenient location, not the best service, but good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Every now and then, we go to Il Postino (and we keep coming back). First of all, the Italian spelling mistakes in the menu are amusing, by now we think they do it on purpose. The pizza is really OK, Zurich average. The waiters are nice, but the service is a little slow and forgetful. The atmosphere is nice. What is also very convenient is the parking facility (free), one of the prime reasons for us to come back.

In short, good value for money, be patient with the service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cowsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

When we want to eat a pizza, we go to "Il Postino". The pizzas are all great. My favorite is "Pizza Royale". The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing. In summer you can eat outside. The prices are modest, especially for the wines and the deserts.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed il postino also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to il postino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing