We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable place, but can be hit and miss”
Review of il postino

il postino
Ranked #1,539 of 1,956 Restaurants in Zurich
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Oerlikon
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Reasonable place, but can be hit and miss”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Not a bad pizza joint, but both the pizzas and the service can be a little hit and miss, based on the visits we've had. Sometimes friendly and good, sometimes rushed and brusque.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    14
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Good Pizza”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

From what I understand this place is owned and operated by the same folks who manage Jimmy's Pizza (the menu is similar). Great pizzas, reasonable prices, nice wine selection, etc. The atmosphere is quite nice, definitely a great place for a date night or evening out on the town. Additionally, the tram 10 and 14 stop right in front of the building so this is also a great restaurant for anyone who is looking for a great dinning experience with access to quick public transport.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DruBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bleah!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The menu is so full of errors my 4 Year old son would have done a better job... It took them 50 minutes to bring 2 pizzas (mediocre) and additionally 20 for the bill. Only plus: its location and nice outdoor seating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive, slow, mediocre food”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

It is a rare event that I leave a restaurant angry. While the food and ambiance were "OK", the service was poor and slow. While I could look past the poor service, what was truly shocking and distasteful was the behavior of the owner (and his family) when they arrived. After being placed at the back of the restaurant, the owner ran around raising his voice at staff, and was in and out of the kitchen shouting and carrying food and wine for himself. All the while his two obnoxious children were equally oblivious to the goings on of the patrons of "their" establishment. While I and everyone around me waited upwards of an hour for our food, the owner and his kids ate within moments of sitting down (it would seem that our salads and appetizers went straight to the kids, instead of to our table, despite having ordered them 20+ minutes before).

The entire experience unplayed like something you would see on a "restaurant disaster" TV show or something of the like.

I do not recommend this place unless you want mediocre food for a high price, served inordinately slowly by poor waiters, who work for an obnoxious and loud owner. However, if you want to track down an answer to the "nature versus nurture" question about child rearing, observing the owner with his kids is sure to be enlightening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Italian swiss style”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

So cute. Has sofas instead of chairs. Nice cozy atmosphere. The staff is truly italian, but they act swiss: efficient, on time, precise!

Great place for lunch or dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed il postino also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to il postino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing