We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 46 Zurich B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This place is so quirky! We loved it! We stayed one night during the holidays and essentially had the place to ourselves. The kitchen is great to have, the room was large with an extra bed and a balcony (Green Room). Even though we were the only guest, she made a wonderful breakfast with fresh croissants, homemade dried fruit, delicious granola, yogurt, eggs... It was amazing and I would definitely return!
She took the time to show us how to easily get to the old town which is about 15min away, walking distance. Great bus access if you prefer that to walking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
6
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It is very cozy and located in a nice part of Zurich with a park nearby. If you are looking for something fancy or luxurious then it's maybe not the right one but if you would like to feel like borrowing a friends appartment in Zurich, then this is the place.

The Italian restaurant downstairs serves excellent food and is run by a couple of very nice people.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor and saw all three rooms there. If you just want a bed, each of the rooms is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spilario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My single room was rather small and internet connection was not the best. A big plus is the big kitchen which is shared between 3 rooms. But the bathroom was as well. Breakfast was excellent and the host really offered everything from meat, cheese, muslis, croissants, different kinds of jams, bread..... and more than one coffee was offered as well. Location is near Langstrasse with plenty of bars and red light district. Price was very good since it is hard to find reasonable hotels in Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikybln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you are traveling solo or with friends, this might be a perfect place to reside for a few days or more while in Zurich. The rooms are neat and clean, and breakfast is just enough to get your engines well started for the day ahead. The hostess and her non-intrusive staff are wonderful. A certain artistic flair abounds with original collages on various pieces of furniture and hanging on the walls. Ask the owner about them, and you may end up learning more about how she originally opened the place for visiting artists. If you have any questions about where to get a good local meal or a sight to see, make sure you ask them first. There are many reasonably priced restaurants in the area and you can walk to Lake Zurich which is 20 minutes away, a good caloric burn-off after eating that hearty breakfast.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I really loved my stay at Dakini's bed and breakfast. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. There is a kitchen that you can use which is nice. Breakfast is delicious too. Susanne the host is a really lovely, helpful lady with a great sense of humour! The bus stop is only 2 mins walk, with excellent links to Zurich central. I would really recommend Dakini's because if you're looking for a home away from home then this is it! Enjoy Zurich too, it's stunning!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Scrupulously clean. Beds were comfortable but the only cover was a very cozy (but too warm) comforter. A light blanket would have been better for the weather. Breakfast was excellent (but nothing hot), with a nice selection of breads, cheese, meat and fruit, cereal and yogurt. Having the kitchen was nice. It made it easy to keep and prepare food for a late snack and for packing a lunch and a place to keep some beer cold. This really made things more homelike. Susanne was very helpful with directions and navigating the transit system. Bus and tram stops are close. The only down side is that the neighborhood was kind of noisy; street noise and a bar with "enthusiastic" customers across the street. With the window closed it was quiet, but it was warm enough that we wanted to leave the window open.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kush23435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Thanks to a friend making a recommendation we booked at Dakini's B&B for our two nights in Zurich. After trolling through hotel prices and reviews we decided to save money on accommodation and knowing that Zurich is a relatively expensive city to visit we opted for a B&B.
Very gratful that we selected Dakini's as the best nights sleeping so far in our weeks of travel.
Homely as in home comforts, clean as we are quite fussy in such matters, convenient location in the city ...not out in the 'burbs. Really an excellent example of a B&B ... Bed great and so too the Breakfast ! Our room was spacious and light filled share bathroom was always spotless and having a full equipped kitchen available at all times allowed us to prepare our own meals.
Would not bother booking anywhere else on our return to Zurich.

Room Tip: First floor corner room is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Pension FurDich
#12 of 46 in Zurich
43 reviews
Old Town
PLATZHIRSCH Boutique Hotel & Bar
Old Town
Hotel Marta
Hotel Marta
#1 of 46 in Zurich
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastehaus Hunziker
#6 of 46 in Zurich
20 reviews
Langstrasse
Guesthouse Anwandstrasse
Guesthouse Anwandstrasse
#29 of 46 in Zurich
92 reviews
Old Town
stattHotel
stattHotel
#4 of 46 in Zurich
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakini's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakini's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Brauerstrasse 87, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dakini's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 rooms in 3 centrally located apartments in a trendy neighborhood. Dakini has been operational since 2003, in a peaceful and generous atmosphere. Our guests appreciate the individual design of the rooms and the friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dakini's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakini`s Hotel
Dakini`s Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing