We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic soups” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon

Saigon
Ranked #179 of 1,872 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The food is really good, and it's no accident that this place is always full and even overcrowded over lunchtime. Don't even think of arriving here at 12.00 with no reservation. Service can be really slow at peak times, though. I've waited for half an hour more than once here, but it's still worth it as the quality is high and prices are reasonable. It's also quite loud and the interior is very basic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jungmayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    70
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montagnola, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Vietnamese.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I had a nice late lunch here on a Saturday. The restaurant was easy to find and not crowded. I enjoyed a nice bowl of Bo Bun Hue. Enjoyed it with a Saigon beer. Then finished with a nice Vietnamese coffee. All were pretty good (read 3.5 dots). It is hard to pay that much for SE Asian food but, it is Zurich and my fix was satisfied. I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
562 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Tasty Pho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Saigon is a great place for Vietnamese food. It is located on corner which brings lots of daylight light into the restaurant. You can sit by the Window or by the more ordinary tables. I was there for lunch tried a delicious Beef Pho. The place was quite crowed during the Sunday afternoon. Service was up to the standard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

i had dinner with my boyfriends and some friends at this place and we really liked the food! The mixed starter we had was amazing and there were many different things to try! As main course we had vietnamese duck and it was awesome! Very delicious! All of us were very happy after we finished our dinner an also when we got the bill! We didn't pay much and we were happy! Big delicious portions for good price, it's something rare in Zurich!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cri_Giusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place for a late casual lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Went there in August with a colleague, had summer rolls and a pho soup. Both were zingy and tasty, with lots of herbs and vegetables. The service is OK. I generally go after 2pm when it's quiet and there is no pressure to eat fast. By Zurich standards, it is quite affordable - usually about CHF 30 for a two course meal and a non-alcoholic drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saigon also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing