We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for reasonable price!”
Review of Pension FurDich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension FurDich
Ranked #17 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hotel is situated at Stauffacherstrasse, above the local pub-restaurant. Every flour has 3 rooms with shared bathroom,clean and with plenty of hot water.
Check in is after 15h and can easily be fixed at restaurant where is reception situated.
Room is large with big bed and salloon wooden flour, so every step you made can be heard. The walls are not thick so it could be noisy form other rooms.
you can easily get there from Hauptbahnhof station, just get tram 6 to Paradeplatz and then just 2 stations with tram num. 8.

Zurich is very expensive town, so Pension Fuer Dich offers nice room for reasonable price...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Predrag_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were disappointed to turn up late in the afternoon and be told that we couldn't eat in the cafe as it was booked for a party but everything else was fantastic. We loved our retro rooms which although basic were comfortable and good value but we did have a shared bathroom which may not suit everyone.

Breakfast in the cafe was amazing, one of the best we had in several weeks of travelling around Europe. It wasn't cheap but it was well worth it.

Recommended as a good value place to stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It's a fantastic deal for the price, especially given that this is Zurich - you get a decent room with a wide, comfortable bed for not much more than what you would pay for a hostel bed in a shared dorm.

Each room seems to be different, both in terms of size and decor, and I've been in number 7, the cheap(est) single. The room was very spartan, basically a bed, a nightstand, a closet, a chair/sofa and a lamp; but nevertheless, this was at least 30% cheaper than the next offering. You do get one bottle of sparkling water, as well; and what felt as lightning-fast wi-fi (note, I come from Sweden, where Internet access tends to be slow and expensive). No TV, no desk, no frills - but nevertheless, perfectly good.

The room was fantastically decorated in a retro-modern style in a very tasteful manner, giving it very cool vibes (late-1960s/early 1970s modern flair, think the first James Bond movies), somehow reminding me of some sort of upscale themed boutique hotel.

The room was decently cleaned, the linen, towels and blankets were absolutely ok, nothing really to complain here.

The bathroom is shared, two- or three rooms share one bathroom. It seems like Fuer Dich is an old apartment building (seems there's still some apartments not taken over by them; in fact, the old owners' names are still on the buzzers), and what you're renting is basically a room in a three-bedroom flat, the bathroom being the old apartment bathroom. The fact that this setup was so familiar made the whole arrangement somewhat more private than those in typical "down the corridor" shared-bathrooms typically found in dorms, hostels or downscale hotels. Moreover, the bathroom was spotlessly clean and had in-floor heating (a nice plus in December).

The location is really nice - it's downtown while in the same time in a quiet, green, lush area. Soundproofing is great (no tram noises could be heard) and the rooms are well ventilated. Since I was heading to a conference in Konstanz the next day, I even got to have a little work done, which would have been impossible had it not been perfectly quiet in the room (I was really tired).

The cafe/pub downstairs is really fun and nice; it feels very bohemian and artsy, has live music and friendly staff. Checking in at the bar was somewhat of a surprise, but worked flawlessly (note that you may have to wait for the bartender to finish her/his round before tending to your needs)

There was on big downside : the bed, while large, was extremely soft (at least for my taste) - felt like sleeping in a hammock. I guess some people like that; but not me. Thus, it gets 4 stars instead of 5.

Would I go back? Yes. Would I recommend it? Definitely - you pay a little bit more than for a dorm in a hostel and you get so much more out of it.

If you just want to spend a night or two in Zurich, either as a single traveller or a young couple, this place is absolutely great, especially given Zurich's miserable value for money (and generally poor accommodation to begin with).

Room Tip: Each room they have is unique and has different amenities (e.g. some have TVs, some don't). Chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frunzaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We only arrived late at night and we really did not get to experience the bar and restaurant downstairs, though it did look nice. The place was easy enough to find from the central train station. The shared bathroom was very comfortable and clean as well as the room itself. The only negative was the squeaky floors, you or others on your floor could not take a step without making noise. Cheapest we could find in Zurich still quite expensive. Overall we were happy.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Was in Zurich for a meeting and a group of us were all staying at this lace. Check-in was a bit confusing due to the language gap, but we got there. The room itself was nice with a balcony, but I do not like the shared bathroom or how the "kitchen" opened up onto my balcony. The location was spectacular. Wi-fi was available but not all that good in terms of quality. the little restaurant which is also the lobby offers a basic selection of food for meals, but the staff there seemed like we were bothering hem by ordering drinks. for Zurich it was very affordable and easily walkable to everywhere within the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve321123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed one night in January 2013.
It is a really nice small hotel/pension aver the bar FurDich which is a really cool and trendy place.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
Actually this is a one floor apartment with 3 or 4 rooms sharing a bathroom.
But don't let sharing bathroom part scare you. It is a very convivial place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We loved this place! Our room was very large and spacious and was situated on top of the Cafe Furdich, owned by the same people. I love how they have turned several apartments into pension stays, our apartment had a foyer which separated the bedrooms from each other. The kitchen was very 1970s and so was the bathroom but this adds to the trendiness of the place.
Our bed was very comfortable and we were grateful for the massive television and mineral water awaiting our arrival.
Thank you for a lovely stay. We will stay here again next time.
Tip for people staying: make sure you eat at the cafe- the food is healthy and tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusannahPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#88 of 137 in Zurich
97 reviews
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#117 of 137 in Zurich
423 reviews
St. Georges
#84 of 137 in Zurich
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 137 in Zurich
1,018 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Old Town
Hotel Marta
Hotel Marta
#1 of 48 in Zurich
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension FurDich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension FurDich

Address: Stauffacherstrasse 141, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: £93 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are for you, for them, for everyone. Elegant and contemporary furnished, just to comfort you. The Pension fürDich is located just 2 minutes walk from the Helvetiaplatz, in a quiet and residential district in the middle of Zurich. Thanks to its strategic position it will be easy, quick and comfortable for you to go downtown and therefore reach Zurich´s main tourist attractions and business centres in no time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension FurDich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing