We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay in Zurich”

Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zurich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck
Ranked #8 of 45 Zurich B&B and Inns
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay in Zurich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

My favorite place to stay in Zurich! The rooms are extremely lovely and not expensive. The neighbourhood and the location is great. I can also highly recommend the brunch in the sweet cafe. Try the delicious pancakes! Especially the one with cheese, tomato and fried egg.. is soo yummy!! ;) In the evening the café turns into a cool bar with good music. And last but not least, during summer you MUST try the homemade ice tea...... amazingly good :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrisDanielaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I have stayed at the Zum Guten Gluck for a period of 8-10 weeks when I was working in Zurich. I can simply say that this is the best value for money accomodation you can find in Zurich. The staff is friendly, the rooms are super clean, there is free wifi and a cool and trendy cafe/restaurant downstairs where you can have lovely food at reasonable prices. Even if I stayed in Zurich purely for business, Zum Guten Gluck made me feel like I was on holiday. Another advice is that if you are a Basel football fan, please don't mention it there as it's full of hardcore Zurich football fans :-)

Room Tip: Try not to get one that is not on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for six nights while waiting for a temporary apartment to be available. This guest house has 10 rooms above a restaurant in Kreis (District) 3 of Zurich. It is one stop away on the S9 train from the main station or about 5 stops away on Tram 3 from the main station. The restaurant is associated with the guest house and you check in and out at the bar. The 10 rooms are divided amongst two floors, and there is no lift. Nearby there are a few restaurants and grocery stores.

Overall, this was a fine place to stay - the price was the least expensive of anything else I found in Zurich proper (including hostels, when looking at double rooms). The bathroom is shared with four other rooms on the floor, and the rooms, toilet, and shower room are all very clean. It seemed like there is daily housekeeping in the toilet and shower rooms, and maybe the bedrooms, but our room was never serviced - maybe we had to leave the key at the bar? That wasn't clear.

Our room (Room 10) had a double bed, two chairs, night stands, lights, shelves, water glasses, and towels - no TV or radio. The wireless internet that is available never worked for us when we were in the room - it only seemed to work if you were actually in the restaurant, and even then it was pretty flaky. Given that we were there for six nights, that was pretty annoying. Our room also faced onto some construction - it started every weekday at 6:30-7a. It's probably short term thing, but if you are a light sleeper, that's something to note about this room, and probably for Rooms 9, 5, and 4. Note that generally there is noise on the street - it's not a very quiet neighborhood.

The beds were moderately comfortable - typical Ikea-like mattress that you can't sleep too long on or your back starts to hurt. The restaurant downstairs was tasty with reasonable (for Zurich) prices. Overall, a decent place if you aren't looking for any frills. I think it could be improved for travelers by adding a communal microwave and hot water pot and perhaps a shelf of books and magazines for travelers to borrow.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeineRader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We were looking for cheap solution in Zurich as we did not wanted to spent too much money on accomodation while spending some time exploring Zurich with my friend. I found this cheapest solution - the Zum Guten Glück guesthouse. It has bathroom and toilet on the floor, but it it very clean and tidy! The neibourhood is quiet and it it close to get in the centre (25 minutes walking distance, 10 by tram). There is a train station to Zürich Wiedikon just accross the road from this guesthouse. And it also had waffle specialities just downstairs :) Next time I will be in Zurich with friends I am going to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
St. Georges
#80 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Coronado Hotel
#29 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Langstrasse
Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Pension FurDich
#16 of 45 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Marta
Hotel Marta
#1 of 45 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck

Property: Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck
Address: Stationsstrasse 7, Zurich 8003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House "Zum Guten Glück" serves as an amiable café and restaurant by day and an informal bar by night. The room is filled by an impressive bar made of pure tin, handcrafted by some of the Zurich's finest artists. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing