We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable ”

Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck
Ranked #13 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel just for one night in a double room with shared bathroom. Although it wasn't easy to find, I must say it is near Zürich Central Station. The price was really good taking into account that Zürich is a really expensive city.

The staff was really friendly, we got there without any reservation and the lady at the restaurant (front desk) was really helpful. The room was very clean as well as the bathroom and the bed was comfortable. I would stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MadForTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is the best value for money in Zurich. However you will have to accept sharing a bathroom with every room on the same floor.

All the rooms I stayed in are great, very different from the usual standard prefabricated rooms. Just take a look at their photos.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Each one is different, so work you way through them all and see which one you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My favorite place to stay in Zurich! The rooms are extremely lovely and not expensive. The neighbourhood and the location is great. I can also highly recommend the brunch in the sweet cafe. Try the delicious pancakes! Especially the one with cheese, tomato and fried egg.. is soo yummy!! ;) In the evening the café turns into a cool bar with good music. And last but not least, during summer you MUST try the homemade ice tea...... amazingly good :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrisDanielaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I have stayed at the Zum Guten Gluck for a period of 8-10 weeks when I was working in Zurich. I can simply say that this is the best value for money accomodation you can find in Zurich. The staff is friendly, the rooms are super clean, there is free wifi and a cool and trendy cafe/restaurant downstairs where you can have lovely food at reasonable prices. Even if I stayed in Zurich purely for business, Zum Guten Gluck made me feel like I was on holiday. Another advice is that if you are a Basel football fan, please don't mention it there as it's full of hardcore Zurich football fans :-)

Room Tip: Try not to get one that is not on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for six nights while waiting for a temporary apartment to be available. This guest house has 10 rooms above a restaurant in Kreis (District) 3 of Zurich. It is one stop away on the S9 train from the main station or about 5 stops away on Tram 3 from the main station. The restaurant is associated with the guest house and you check in and out at the bar. The 10 rooms are divided amongst two floors, and there is no lift. Nearby there are a few restaurants and grocery stores.

Overall, this was a fine place to stay - the price was the least expensive of anything else I found in Zurich proper (including hostels, when looking at double rooms). The bathroom is shared with four other rooms on the floor, and the rooms, toilet, and shower room are all very clean. It seemed like there is daily housekeeping in the toilet and shower rooms, and maybe the bedrooms, but our room was never serviced - maybe we had to leave the key at the bar? That wasn't clear.

Our room (Room 10) had a double bed, two chairs, night stands, lights, shelves, water glasses, and towels - no TV or radio. The wireless internet that is available never worked for us when we were in the room - it only seemed to work if you were actually in the restaurant, and even then it was pretty flaky. Given that we were there for six nights, that was pretty annoying. Our room also faced onto some construction - it started every weekday at 6:30-7a. It's probably short term thing, but if you are a light sleeper, that's something to note about this room, and probably for Rooms 9, 5, and 4. Note that generally there is noise on the street - it's not a very quiet neighborhood.

The beds were moderately comfortable - typical Ikea-like mattress that you can't sleep too long on or your back starts to hurt. The restaurant downstairs was tasty with reasonable (for Zurich) prices. Overall, a decent place if you aren't looking for any frills. I think it could be improved for travelers by adding a communal microwave and hot water pot and perhaps a shelf of books and magazines for travelers to borrow.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeineRader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We were looking for cheap solution in Zurich as we did not wanted to spent too much money on accomodation while spending some time exploring Zurich with my friend. I found this cheapest solution - the Zum Guten Glück guesthouse. It has bathroom and toilet on the floor, but it it very clean and tidy! The neibourhood is quiet and it it close to get in the centre (25 minutes walking distance, 10 by tram). There is a train station to Zürich Wiedikon just accross the road from this guesthouse. And it also had waffle specialities just downstairs :) Next time I will be in Zurich with friends I am going to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Erkerzimmer buchen! Nostalgie pur!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
ACASA Suites
#32 of 138 in Zurich
49 reviews
St. Georges
#89 of 138 in Zurich
123 reviews
Pension FurDich
#9 of 48 in Zurich
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Langstrasse
Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 48 in Zurich
43 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Marta
Hotel Marta
#1 of 48 in Zurich
552 reviews
West End Guesthouse
#24 of 48 in Zurich
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck

Address: Stationsstrasse 7, Zurich 8003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: £62 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House "Zum Guten Glück" serves as an amiable café and restaurant by day and an informal bar by night. The room is filled by an impressive bar made of pure tin, handcrafted by some of the Zurich's finest artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gasthaus Zum Guten Gluck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing