We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny, but cozy”
Review of Hotel Loewen

Hotel Loewen
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Loewen
Ranked #34 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Small Hotel near train station Oerlikon. My room was very pretty and looked quite new. Was quite small, though. TV/Sat didn't work. Everything els was impeccable.
Great value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sway_thunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great for those who like a good TV system in their room!
This was a very futuristic hotel, receptions and actual people that run the hotel, who needs them, it could have been run from Mars for all the difference it would have made. There is a key for entry which you have to input a code for at the side of the building but if you are unhappy to call international phone numbers or are unable to do so you simply can’t get inside, this is admittedly a bit of a drawback but if we focus on what you do get when you’re inside then the review gets quite a bit more positive. I like to relax in hotel rooms so in addition to removing the inevitable BO that builds up extra fast during travelling I was pleased to discover that the wi-fi was quick and easy to implement on various laptops and devices and that far from the usual rather crappy selection of hotel pass through analogue channels this room came with a very smart Sony Bravia HD LCD TV and not just a satellite system, a multi satellite system comprising European, Middle East and even British channels, so if you’re an expat in Zurich you might find this quite a comfort. I was having a lot of fun watching Islamic prayers, Dubai based football and Come Dine With Me on UK Channel 4. During the day the room is opposite some offices and you are fairly well located in a urban city atmosphere, I’d recommend the Vietnamese restaurant a few blocks away but not if you like collecting money rather than spending it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asterick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I arrived into zurich airport and came straight to the hotel. I was expecting a reception but there is just a number to call. I could only use my UK mobile at very high cost, so was a bit irritated! If you are somewhere with cheap calls, use the number +41432555757 to get your code for entry which is the white box, a bit round from the silver keypad call system to buzz a room which is also a box with numbers, very confusing! Room was lovely and clean, everything worked, lovely hot water, no kettle tho :(. missing making my own brews.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjoh10132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Before our arrival they couldn’t answer simple questions good enough like transfer to hotel(I had to explain myself with in 3 e-mails and after that I only received wrong info they told me with train it will take 50 minutes but the fact is it was only 10 minutes from airport, 20 minutes from city center by tram or train!!)

They have a Bar &Lounge called Hotel Lowen and I don’t know that if they are also owner of the place, their door in front of the hotel, there is a small enterance we check into with our luggages. Someone informed us by body language c-in by a side door, it was really hard to go down from poky stairs again and again.

They don’t have any reception also security, There isn’t anyone in the hotel just the guests, it isn’t secure for all guests, neither any detailed information for how to receive our key at check-in(also they didn’t send any info before our check-in via e-mail). And this is not only our oppinion cause we helped 2 other guests during our stay to get their key!! We can provide their stay day and room number if it will be necessary

They don’t have a elevator our room was second floor, we carried our luggages from stairs by ourselves, after a long flight, it was so exhausting.

They don’t have any detailed information in room or at the entrance of the hotel about the city so if it is your first time in the City you have to figure everything by yourself. There is just one towel when we arrived, our reservation was double, we requested one more towel via e-mail. They don’t give housekeeping service on weekends but they give information when we asked the first day via e-mail about housekeeping for everyday and because of that we had to use same towels for 3 days(Friday,Saturday,Sunday)!!!!

Also housekeeping did not change sheets so we slept on the same sheets for 5 nights!!

The room is tiny. The bed is really small, it is not available to slept for two people. The bath so small as well. There isn’t slippers in the room, we also reguested via e-mail but they don’t have.

There is a phone in the room ,it’s not working. They only have hotline to connect in emergency and we have to call hotline with our mobile or card. So if we will have any emergency we need to find a telephone booth to call hotline if your mobile is not working outside of your country because they don’t have any direct line inside the hotel or room to call hotline!!!

The TV mostly have channels which is in german language. They have very few channels in english as well they don’t have any turkish channels(which they can do if they want)

W couldn’t get any good service from their Bar &Lounge as well. Nobody can speak English, there is no food service, So don’t count on that bar if you plan to eat or drink something in there…

The only good thing about the hotel was the free wi-fi. At the end we will not recommend this hotel to anyone. We are also working in tourism business and these kind of poor services are unacceptible.And we were very disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I stayed there for 6 nights, just because my other hotels of choice in the area were busy.
Hotel is brand new (there were even price tags on towels), so new that actually taxi drivers don't know where it is (side note: from the airport just take train S8 to Oerlikon station and walk, it's about 500m walk). Hotel offers free internet which is a night touch (you have to ask for the password in reception). Room is reasonably big (chose dual room, about 20 sqm), with flat tv with satellite channels (found just two in English - CNN and BBC World, rest was German etc), table, closet and two narrow beds put together. Bed lamps are there but there's completely no power socket around for them to work which I found rather amusing, but the bottom line is you can see it was yet another thing not very thought of during planning/design. No A/C.
The shower is separated from the bathroom just with a plastic sheet, which I find rather disgusting -- it's clingy and will be very dirty really soon. Glass, hotel people, glass! Not to mention it's quite easy to flood the whole bathroom. Bathroom doesn't have a very good ventilation (again, no A/C) so it smells a bit musky there.
During my stay no towels were changed (and they didn't dry out there), neither was bed cover. Worse, toilet paper was not replenished, had to walk down from 4th floor to ask for it.
As for reception/service. No room service, as no kitchen in the hotel. Sure, there's bar downstairs that offers cold breakfast, no dinner though. OK, not far to walk to eat something around, I'd recommend Baumgarten restaurant/bar about 100m from the hotel. I met two receptionist - very nice and professional gentleman in the mornings and the ladey in the evenings. Evening/night receptionist doesn't speak English, and if you speak to her she insists (not too politely) that you speak to her in German (it was the first time in my life that I was forced to speak in German - which I don't know - to buy a beer). I was a witness to the situation where two guests actually had to leave to another hotel as she didn't understand nor care about their situation (elderly gentleman with heavy luggage and heart problems needed 1st floor room, she put him on 5th floor, no elevator). Other people came with bookings, had problems with her as well.

So, if you don't speak German - avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISmackedTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sehr ruhig im Zentrum, nähe Bahnhof und Hallenstadion, Messe Zürich
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fritz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
2.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
5.8 mi away
ibis Zurich Adliswil
ibis Zurich Adliswil
#1 of 1 in Adliswil
598 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Zurich Airport
NH Zurich Airport
#5 of 10 in Opfikon
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 137 in Zurich
2,307 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#2 of 10 in Opfikon
1,638 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loewen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loewen

Address: Baumackerstrasse 47, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: £48 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Loewen 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Loewen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing