We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location Ever-Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Ranked #50 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We recently spent one night at the Townhouse before catching an early flight home. The hotel is literally a few steps from Bahnhofstrasse and the train station-just an ideal location, unless you are driving, and is very lovely inside. We arrived on a very warm day (for Zurich) and many of the rooms are not air-conditioned. However, we were given an upgrade to a lower floor and the fan provided helped to cool the room. It was not unbearably hot nor was the noise from the (pedestrian) street below bothersome. Our room was attractive and the bed quite soft and fluffy. Best of all, the very kind lady at reception assisted us in getting checked in for our flight the next day, giving directions, etc. The hotel reception is on the 5th floor, where an honor system mini-bat is located as well. If you would like an excellent location and moderate price in Zurich, you cannot go wrong here. The rooms are very pleasant and the location cannot be more perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

stayed at the Townhouse Boutique Hotel for only 1 night and it was just wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Gave us an upgrade and recommended us few places in Zurich. The hotel is very central and close to the train station and in the middle of the shopping area. This place is just like a second living room, very cozy and warm. Will definitely stay at this hotel next time.

Room Tip: Room 56 was very spacious and sweet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Higherlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I've stayed here a few times and the staff are always incredibly friendly and accommodating. Some of the rooms can be smallish, so it's best to make sure you get a larger room higher up in the building. As reviewers have noted there may not be the most beautiful view out of the window but you are slap bang in the middle of the city 100m from the main train station and right next to the main shopping street only 5mins walk from the old town. The location is perfect.

The funky decor brings real individuality to the reception area (on the top floor) and the bedrooms. There is no air conditioning but that is only a problem in the height of summer and some rooms have small terraces where you can open the doors and let the air in.

This is a small privately owned and run hotel and its a joy to stay in.

Room Tip: Higher floors - 4 and 5 seem to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArkLark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded (woo hoo!) and got a great bathtub and view of the street. I can't even explain how comfortable the bed was- you just sink right into it which was amazing after a 10 day trip to Italy with a bed so hard I woke up in pain with a stiff neck. The bathtub was huge! My only complaint was that we had two windows that were on the main street on the first floor so it was a bit noisy (we had to sleep with the windows open because there was no air conditioning) but that's not enough to lose a star because the noise was worth being so close to everything and being able to walk to and from the train station in just a couple minutes. You check-in on the 5th floor and the hotel staff was very friendly! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristaB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This "hotel" is nothing but a number of rooms scattered in different floors in an office building.
Our "suite" was in the first floor above the rubbish bins of a local fast food located at the ground floor of the "boutique hotel" and we suffered the noise of them throwing out their rubbish every 20 minutes until 12:30 am and then waking us up at 5:30 when the rubbish was collected!
There is no air condition and the windows open up to a discredit inner yard over rubbish containers and across various offices or residences looking into the rooms. The venetian blinds could not be turned down properly as they were rusted and broken. The bathroom was tiny and the drains of the tiny sink and the shower were blocked and all the filth was coming out.
When checking out they did not even ask "how was your stay" ? They know what they are up to. Beware, do not fall prey to it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MA3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Front Office Manager at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear guest
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us for two nights. At the same time we truly regret that you are so disappointed with your stay at our unique and centrally located Boutique Hotel Townhouse in Zurich. As the name (townhouse) predicts the style of the hotel, the rooms are located on several different floors in a former office building. Our reception is on the fifth floor, set up as a living room with a small balcony where our guests can enjoy a relaxed check in and check out. It is correct that we have two Junior Suites facing an urban courtyard. One is located on the first floor, another one on the fourth floor.
Concerning noise: By Swiss law, everyone should follow the rule of 'peace & quiet' between 10p.m. and 7a.m. According to your comment we will recheck with our neighbors and kindly remind them of this rule.
Our front office team was aware that you would have preferred a room on a higher floor facing the narrow, pedestrian side street, Schützengasse. Therefore, you were offered to change your room after the first night. But apparently, you have declined our offer.
Unfortunately, we didn't know about blocked drains and broken venetian blinds. We rechecked the Junior Suite once again, but we couldn't find any deficiencies.
Nevertheless, we do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. We hope, our reply will clear some of your comments. You are always welcome at our small Boutique Hotel Townhouse. Therefore, we will also contact you directly.
We really care about all of our guests and we do our best to make each stay as comfortable as possible, a small home away from home.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A few minutes walk from the train station, many nice eateries around (including a Korean restaurant adjacent to the hotel), a big supermarket nearby ... the location is just great and it is reasonably quiet. The room, though a bit small, is nicely decorated and the reception staff are friendly and helpful. Yet the short walk to the train station is mainly of cobblers roads and hence moving heavy luggages at rainy season is not that easy. No breakfast provided but there is a nice breakfast/tea area for taking your own food. One big surprise for us was lots of small bugs on our bed at night time! Quite horrifying! Later we found out that at night time one could not open the window; otherwise the lights at the room would attract bugs. No more such problem when we kept the window closed. All in all, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamfamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Townhouse is usually my hotel of choice when i'm in Zürich (for work) as it's very conveniently located close to the station and where i need to be for work. It's very central, the rooms are of a nice size, the beds are big and the rooms are very well decorated. It's truly a hotel full of charm. The bathrooms are quite small but the charm of the hotel makes up for it.
I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 138 in Zurich
1,054 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 138 in Zurich
877 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel City Zurich
#65 of 138 in Zurich
249 reviews
Boutique Hotel Helvetia
#62 of 138 in Zurich
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Address: Schuetzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: £114 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 3 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing