We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Townhouse Boutique Hotel, Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Ranked #53 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Review of Townhouse Boutique Hotel, Zurich”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A very comfortable hotel in central Zurich and for Switzerland very reasonably priced. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are typical of Europe small and compact. Molten Brown toiletries are a nice touch. The shower was excellent. Hotel was slightly noisy but thankfully our room was overlooking the courtyard it would have been worse if it was a room overlooking they street. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catie0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your kind review and for staying with us recently. I will also pass on your comment to our staff which is highly motivating. We would look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please let us know about your preference for a quiet room facing our courtyard and if you wish to book a larger category.
Wishing you all the best,
kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    162
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
163
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blagoveschensk
Level Contributor
322 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

You are unlikely to find a better location than Townhouse Boutique Hotel in Zurich: 2 minutes walk to old town and Bahnhof, yet situated in a quiet side street. Having changed the booking for three nights we were upgraded to a larger room. Spacious, with a comfy bed, only a bit cold (the climate control in the room didn’t help). The reception deserves special praising; they were ready to help with whatever you asked for. They reserved tickets to Zurich opera on our request before we arrived and helped with a New Year night restaurant booking. There are no coffee/tea facilities in the room but you’re free to have it in the reception area.
Tip: For breakfast go to Honold tea room and Sprungli, which are within a stone’s throw.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear guests,
thank you very much for staying with us during the new year's celebration in Zurich and for writing this kind review. We are happy to know that you appreciated the free upgrade and our concierge service. Concerning the climate control we are surprised it didn't work as our radiators in each room can be manually changed between 1 and 5. Please contact us for assistance during your next visit. We would look forward to welcoming you back soon and wishing you further happy travels.
Yours sincerely,
Küni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night for New Year’s Eve. It is one of the strangest hotel I have ever stayed in. The reception (sort of a living room with a small kitchen where you can get some tea/coffee and cold drinks) is on the 5th floor. My room was on the second floor. The room was nice but small, it was simple but nicely decorated, so was the bathroom (maybe a bit too small). The bed was too soft and there were not enough pillows, but I guess that’s a matter of personal taste.There was no breakfast. Staff is nice but somehow they work veeeery slowly. I know that Zurich is a very expensive city but for that price I did expect a tiny little but more. The location is perfect though, some 2 minutes from the train station.I believe that next time in Zurich I will try to find a hotel which matches my expectations a little bit more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear guests, thank you very much for staying with us on New Year's Eve. We regret to read that our unique Boutique Hotel Townhouse didn't quite match your expectations. As you write, it is very likely a matter of personal taste. Nevertheless, we would still look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Please note, that you can ask anytime for additional pillows, duvets, sheets etc. Furthermore, we do offer a small continental breakfast in our Living Room / Reception area but it is not included in the room rate. As written in previous responses, we offer 4 different room categories which mainly differ in size, starting from 15m2 until 35m2. You can either choose and reserve online or contact us directly. We are happy to assist you with choosing the best room for your needs.
Yours sincerely,
Küni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived off the train at 7am hoping at best to leave bags and venture the city before allocated checkin time.

Instead they upgraded us to a suite and gave us a room there and then!

Location perfect for day trips outside Zurich thanks to train station one block away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for having chosen our Boutique Hotel Townhouse for your stay in Zurich.
It makes us happy to read that we were able to amaze you with an early check in and free upgrade.
We would look forward to welcoming you back sooner or later. Happy travels and kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

You can't beat the location here - just off the start of Bahnhofstrasse, about 2 minutes away from the train station. You are walking distance to the lake and old town and all the great shopping Zürich has to offer.

For this reason alone, I would stay here again. I was not so impressed with the super soft mattress and pillows though and we found the room quite noisy as we were next to reception. The bathroom is also very tight.

The decoration of the hotel is lovely - very stylish while still being functional.

Overall, I would stay here again if location was my priority as it was during this trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear guests, thank you very much for writing this review and for staying with us.
We are sorry that you were not so comfortable with the mattress and pillows. All our rooms are equipped with beds from 'Sleepeezee', a selected brand from Great Britain. Upon request we can provide firmer pillows.
Please note that there are 4 different room categories you can choose from, which mainly differ in size, starting from 15m2 up to 35m2.
Most of all, we hope to welcoming you again to our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. Please let us know that you would wish a larger room and bathroom.
Yours sincerely,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a weekend stay at the Townhouse. What a charming place!
The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, staff are super friendly, chatty and helpful; décor is quirky British (we loved the dog ‘theme’ everywhere… cushions, pictures, lamps, ornaments – you name it.) This is people really caring about their guests having a good time, paired with incredible attention to detail.
The hotel is located across five floors in what appears to have previously been an office building, but don’t be deceived by the slightly impersonal exterior – once you get inside, it’s simply lovely. Our room was spacious, cosy (amazing pink/gold wallpaper, comfy armchairs) and had one of the most comfortable beds with the fluffiest, lightest duvet I have ever slept in. The honesty bar in the ‘living room’ area on the 5th floor (next to the reception desk) adds a nice, casual touch. Guests can pop upstairs at any time to make themselves a cup of coffee or tea (complimentary) or to enjoy a drink or snack. A light breakfast (croissants, buns, jams, cereal etc.) is also available until late morning – very convenient if the bed tempts you into having a lie-in. This is a hotel where you actually want to spend some time to relax and unwind between exploring Zurich’s sights, culinary scene and nightlife.
Talking of location: Close to Zurich’s main station, around the corner from Bahnhofstrasse, one of Zurich’s main shopping streets, it’s just perfect.
This is a real gem, very reasonably priced. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamburginLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for writing such kind and well described review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and in Zurich. Wishing you further happy travels and we hope to welcoming you back again soon. Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The location, just a few minutes from central railway station, was the main reason for booking this hotel and we didn't regret. Friendly welcome, early check-in, quiet room on the back side, complimentary coffee and tea in the lounge.
Eventhought the outside of the building remembers more of a office building, once at reception, you get to feel the charm of the hotel and the effort put into the decoration. Reception is on the 5th floor with the benefit of the view over Zurich. The standard room are on the smaller side, but ok for 2-3 days. For longer stays I would recommend to book a larger room.

Room Tip: If you stay longer then a few days, opt for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your stay with us and for taking your time writing this informative review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us. It is correct that our standard rooms start with the size of 15m2, our large rooms are between 22m2 and 30m2 and 2 Junior Suites have the size of 35m2. Therefore, we also recommend booking the category Large or Junior Suite for a longer stay with us.
We would look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Season's Greetings,
Kuni Burlet and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#35 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#20 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Property: Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Address: Schuetzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 2 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. Check-in takes place in our living room on the 5th floor. This is also the place where you can relax in comfortable couches, browse through the latest magazines, or help yourself to a drink from our honesty bar. The refrigerator is stocked with healthy snacks and you can make yourself a tasty Italian espresso at the coffee machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing