We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Limmathof(Zurich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
169
192
45
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
192
45
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barmolton brown productshonor bargreat locationtrain stationfifth floorliving roomreception areaold townquiet side streettea coffeeno air conditioningmain stationzurich hbshopping areacomfortable bedbars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Great location just 3 minutes walk from the train station and main shopping area. About 5 minutes walk from the old town. Reserved two small doubles which were fine for single occupancy although it would have been a bit tight for a couple. The shower room was very small. There wasn't really enough shelf space for toiletries although they'd tried by putting a shelf underneath the sink. The towels were VERY small (only one 1.5ft x 1ft & a small hand towel). The Molton Brown soaps & cream were a nice touch. Small flat screen TV with a good range of channels: BBC 1 & 2, Channel Four, CNN and Al Jazeera English. They also had a DVD player with a library of films to borrow from reception. The plugs were all Swiss plugs which do not fit European adapters but reception was able to provide converters. The clock radio had a socket to recharge iphone4. The bed was comfortable and had nice quality sheets & duvet but the pillows were far too soft with virtually no stuffing in them at all. One room had a small safe but the other didn't. There were no coffee or tea making facilities in the room - for that you had to go up to the 5th floor reception. Wifi was free and worked well. Breakfast was in a small kitchenette area with juices, tea & coffee and croissants. The staff were friendly and helped print out check-in boarding passes and train times.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the central courtyard will be disturbed by the rubbish bin collection at 4am. Rooms overlooking the street aren't too noisy once the restaurant has closed. But that was midweek and might be very different at the weekend
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Could not be in a better position,3 minute walk to main train station and really on top of the main shopping area. Such friendly staff, love the lounge where you can get coffee and breakfast, just great value. Would have given it full marks,but really could do with bigger bath towels, and good pillows, would use this Hotel again though.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank DannyJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for having chosen our Boutique Hotel Townhouse in Zurich. It makes us happy to read that you were satisfied with the value of what we offer. We are currently testing different types of pillows for a replacement as most of our guests seem to request a firm pillow. Please note that upon request we can provide bigger towels. So we hope to welcoming you back soon. Wishing you further happy travels and all the best,
Kind regards,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas, I chose it primarily because we were arriving by train and it's only two minutes away in the middle of the shopping area.

As previously noted, reception is on the 5th floor and is a slightly strange affair - this place has been lovingly converted but was clearly once an office block I would imagine. Don't let this put you off, the rooms are good, the beds wonderfully comfortable (and I'm fussy) and the facilities decent for the price. Who would expect Molton Brown products in the bathroom at these prices,?

Tea and Coffee are free while you have to write what alcoholic beverages you consume in a notebook to be totted up for payment on departure, prices are decent too by Swiss standards (my wallet is still aching..).

All in all we were happy with our two rooms here, it was crazily busy outside as it was just before Christmas but it's much quieter later on in the evening when the shops are shut - recommended.!

Room Tip: We had an inside room and heard no external noise at all.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nidgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear guests,
thank you so much for your 'gem' review about our Boutique Hotel Townhouse. It makes us happy reading that you enjoyed your stay with us during the hectic christmas season in Zurich. We certainly hope to welcoming you back some other time. In the meantime we wish you and your family safe journeys and all the best for your future.
Kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A very comfortable hotel in central Zurich and for Switzerland very reasonably priced. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are typical of Europe small and compact. Molten Brown toiletries are a nice touch. The shower was excellent. Hotel was slightly noisy but thankfully our room was overlooking the courtyard it would have been worse if it was a room overlooking they street. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back away from the street.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catie0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your kind review and for staying with us recently. I will also pass on your comment to our staff which is highly motivating. We would look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please let us know about your preference for a quiet room facing our courtyard and if you wish to book a larger category.
Wishing you all the best,
kindest regards,
Kuni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

You are unlikely to find a better location than Townhouse Boutique Hotel in Zurich: 2 minutes walk to old town and Bahnhof, yet situated in a quiet side street. Having changed the booking for three nights we were upgraded to a larger room. Spacious, with a comfy bed, only a bit cold (the climate control in the room didn’t help). The reception deserves special praising; they were ready to help with whatever you asked for. They reserved tickets to Zurich opera on our request before we arrived and helped with a New Year night restaurant booking. There are no coffee/tea facilities in the room but you’re free to have it in the reception area.
Tip: For breakfast go to Honold tea room and Sprungli, which are within a stone’s throw.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuni_Burlet, Leiter Front Office at Townhouse Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear guests,
thank you very much for staying with us during the new year's celebration in Zurich and for writing this kind review. We are happy to know that you appreciated the free upgrade and our concierge service. Concerning the climate control we are surprised it didn't work as our radiators in each room can be manually changed between 1 and 5. Please contact us for assistance during your next visit. We would look forward to welcoming you back soon and wishing you further happy travels.
Yours sincerely,
Küni Burlet and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews