We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“treated like criminals”
Review of H+ Hotel Zuerich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H+ Hotel Zuerich
Ranked #69 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“treated like criminals”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

On Arrival to this hotel after 5 days in a conference centre where we had been treated like kings and queens, we were informed as there was 5 of us between 2 rooms that an upfront fee of 750 swiss francs was needed to protect the rooms, when we questioned this as it had never been stated to us during our booking they told us as it was incase we took from the breakfast buffet as breakfast was not included, we were disgusted as we felt they were basically calling us criminals. We managed to get the fee down to 300 swiss francs as we had booked it through booking.com we would be charged for the hotel anyway, they demanded a credit card we were about crying by this point, thankfully one of our party had a credit card. The room was a twin with a extra bed very crampt not like the picture of a 3 bed room we had seen in booking.com, and as for the free wifi, only available in the toilet, or if you were lucky for approximately 1 minute in the main part of the room. I expect more from Ramada and will never stay in a Ramada ever again,when we phoned to see if there was a problem with the internet we were informed no, clearly room 421 isnt on the wifi route.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookies897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at H+ Hotel Zuerich, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Sir

You were our guest during a few days ago. Thank you for having chosen our hotel and also thank you for taking the time to complete our guest questionnaire.

It is very important to me to get your opinion and comments, since it will help us to maintain the standard of the hotel and its quality of service. Furthermore we will be able to correct small mistakes immediately.

It is with great regret to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, especially the guarantee handling. As this is a normal procedure to take credit card guarnatees (or even cash) from clients credit card upon arrival (guarantee of extra charges as breakfast, garage etc.) we apologize that you not satisfied with this situation but like to inform you that this is a regular international hotel policy and standard.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused.

Thank you again for sharing your concerns and allowing us the opportunity to ensure that your next visit will be a positive and pleasant one.

Kind regards,

Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    247
    102
    22
    20
See reviews for
82
152
21
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel is clean and fresh... Located right in front of Freihofstrasse tram station.. Really convenient to hop on to the tram to reach the city center.

English TV channels were limited, remote was sluggish... very frustrating to get to see something of my choice every time (I could never sit and watch the TV.. but have to lie down on the bed... I've to move the cots wide apart to keep the reading chair to watch the FIFA world cup finals )

Has a nice sauna and a crampy gym (no treadmill is another diappointment) but Zurich during summer is fun to run outdoors.

Staff are very kind and responsible. I left my running shoes in the sauna and found it safely at at the front desk the next day.

Breakfast choices are really good... the restaurant serves quick and delicious choice of food.

Rooms are small in size.... Suitable for business trip... Only one person can stay and is a problem for families to stay. If you get a good rate.... try

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayEss-Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at H+ Hotel Zuerich, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest & Reviewer

Thank you for having chosen our hotel and thank you for taking the time to write a survey on hotels.com.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. On the other hand it is with great regret to hear that your rooms was too tiny for you. For your next stay I reccomed you our Deluxe rooms or even Junior Suites, these both categories are much bigger as our Comfort rooms.
Thank you once again for your feed-back.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel, I remain

Yours
Petra Emmel
General Manager
RAMADA Hotel Zurich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As the reviews noted, this is probably more of a business hotel than for tourists. Its not terribly close to the main station, but there is a tram stop right outside the hotel and there are 2 different trains to get to the city core. Not hard to figure out, but something to keep in mind. Couple of restaurants nearby but not a lot of options.

The rooms are modern and the beds are comfortable. The rooms are tiny; but that is Europe :)

Staff were very helpful in helping us navigate Zurich. Probably wouldn't stay again because of proximity to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at H+ Hotel Zuerich, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest & Reviewer

Thank you for your effort writing on hotels.com.

It is very important to me to get your opinion, since it will help us to maintain the standard of the hotel and its quality of service. Furthermore we will be able to correct small mistakes immediately.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Zurich, I remain

With kind regards,
Petra Emmel
General Manager
RAMADA Hotel Zurich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I visited this hotel for business and found it fulfilled all my needs. Had good wifi (although required a log on), was in good location near to tram stop and good food. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were a little small, but modern and clean. I would stay again if work took me to Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at H+ Hotel Zuerich, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay here at the RAMADA Hotel Zurich . We especially appreciate your comments . Our staff is our greatest assets and it is nice to have them acknowledged our service and our quality.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind regards

Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Nice and quiet hotel away from the busy city center but right next to a train stop. The rooms are clean with complimentary coffee and tea. Restaurant and coffee shop in the lobby. Self-park garage with surcharge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at H+ Hotel Zuerich, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest & Reviewer

Thank you for your effort writing on tripadvisor.com.

It is very important to me to get your opinion, since it will help us to maintain the standard of the hotel and its quality of service. Furthermore we will be able to correct small mistakes immediately.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Zurich, I remain

With kind regards,
Petra Emmel
General Manager
RAMADA Hotel Zurich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights while touring the Zurich area. The room was one of the smallest that we have ever stayed in, no where to put two suitcases to use at the same time.The desk was a shelve of about 18" deep and the only chair was at the desk area.That being said the bed was comfortable and the bath excellent. Not a lot of included items, Parking was over $30 per night a cup of coffee in the lobby was over $5. The internet in the room was super slow however they did have high speed internet in the lobby.

Room Tip: Our room faced a side street and was very quiet and the A/C worked well, making for a good night sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at H+ Hotel Zuerich, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest.

We thank you for your recent stay and the time to gives us your feedback about your stay.
First of all we hope you had a pleasant stay with us and a save journey back home.
For your next visit we recommend you our Deluxe rooms or even Junior Suites, both categories are much bigger as our Comfort rooms and include more amenities as for example Nespresso Coffee machines. Our rates for coffee ore any food and beverages and as well for the parking are the regular rates for Zurich and comparable to our competitors.

Once again, thank you very much for your stay at the RAMADA Hotel Zurich City.

We hope to welcome you soon again to our hotel.

With best regards

Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very accessible by tram, and easy enough to get the tram from the airport to zurick centre and then out on the number 2 (wait till you go past the hotel on your left before getting off as this is the closest stop).

We got there quite late at night and the concierge was little help in checking us in, took 45 mins and several phone calls on his part before we had a room key. Any difficulties could have been resolved in the morning surely! We just wanted a room after a long journey.

The room was very modern and the view of the mountains was an added benefit. The bathroom was very well appointed, very clean everywhere. Only detracting part was the lack of any sufficient air conditioning - it was very hot and the unit was very loud but did no good! In the morning the breakfast was bountiful just seemed very expensive even for Zurich - clearly priced for business people.

It's incredibly easy to get to the centre of Zurich, the tram is direct, however it les about 20 mins so you are unlikely to nip back in the day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at H+ Hotel Zuerich, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you once again for having chosen our hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your impression of your visit on Tripadvisor.

It is very important to me to get your opinion and comments, since it will help us to maintain the standard of the hotel and its quality of service. Furthermore we will be able to correct small mistakes immediately.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments to my team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel, I remain

With kind regards,
Petra Emmel
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#50 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coronado Hotel
#30 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Oerlikon
Courtyard Zurich North
Courtyard Zurich North
#35 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Zuerich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Zuerich

Property: H+ Hotel Zuerich
Address: Badenerstrasse 537 | 8048 Zürich, Zurich 8048, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Hotel Zurich City)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Zuerich 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description / Facilities:• 159 comfortable rooms in three different categories: Comfort, Business and Junior Suites• All rooms with shower, air-conditioning, flat screen TV, Pay-TV system, and free internet access by LAN or W-LAN. Business rooms and Junior Suites are located on the upper floor level and additionally equipped with a coffee machine.• The H+ Restaurant with 135 seats in the lobby area serves delicious Swiss and international meals. In summer time our terrace has room for 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your H+ Hotel Zuerich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing