We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate in an expensive city”
Review of Hotel Marta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marta
Ranked #1 of 46 Zurich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Adequate in an expensive city”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

In an expensive city like zurich, finding a place like hotel marta is godsent - located 2 tram stops from the main train station, it is well located and quiet.

Pretty much a no frills hotel - beds were unfortunately too soft and small for comfort, pillows were non existent. That being said, the heater worked well and shower was amazing! Breakfast was really basic every morning and mostly self service - you need to return your trays and cutlery after eating.

Service is also basic - not the kind of swiss hospitality I expected though. Rooms were cleaned everyday but bedsheets replaced every 4 days.

Not cheap to stay anywhere else in zurich but it was really decent. Coop supermart is just down the streets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miracle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    203
    66
    18
    10
See reviews for
62
162
55
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

you already know location cant be beat for proximity too train station and banhoffstrasse..Danielle was exceptionally attentive to my dilemma of finding cookoo clock.my room under the roof was perfect.thank you to all for pleasent stay.monus

Room Tip: upper floor not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triems3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for excellent service, quiet street and big room, then it will not suit you.

For location, we don't doubt it. But there are quite a number of pubs on the same street and one just next door.

The room are clean, breakfast is simple but at least they serve hard boiled eggs which most of the other hotels we stayed in Swiss don't provide or provide at a cost of chf2 for 1 egg.

The traffic is pretty heavy so it's true that we have to keep our windows closed. Luckily it's oct so temp is around 14-21 degrees. So the rooms are still pretty cooling.

The wifi is good, it won't auto logout which we like it very much.

There are quite a number of Asians still in the hotel so we assume its popular with Asians.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOUSEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights for work. The hotel is in a great location for the main train station. The street the restaurant is in and the one below are full of bars and restaurants which is also convenient. Functional, stylish, clean rooms. I will never get used to Swiss pillows but thats not the hotels fault. Simple but adequate breakfast with good coffee. Excellent value for Zurich. I will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fraser990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Marta Hotel during our visit to Zurich. The location was perfect, less than 5 minutes walk to Zurich HB station. Near to many eating places. Fuss- free and clean hotel room. Decent room space for 3 of us, with additional bed. Is exactly what we are looking for: a comfortable and clean room to rest after a whole day of exploring Zurich city.
Hotel is by the road, so there might be some noises at night if windows are open during your sleep (as there is no air-condition in the room)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmm_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

stayed at Marta hotel last night and was very pleased. rooms are very good size and have gorgeous views. cup of tea at the reception was a lovely surprise. I didn't have time for breakfast but from what I saw the selection was fab. the only criticism would be lack of English channels but that is minor. enjoyed it thoroughly and would definitely recommend. thank you!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mardou_Amato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Clean, stylish, modern and welcoming with exceptionally helpful staff. Good self-service breakfast included. Fantastic stairwell which is listed apparently. Within easy walking distance of the lake. Brilliant location for the station, and has a well provided Co-op shop en route where you can get food for the journey. We asked for a quiet room when booking and were allocated a room at the back on the top floor. However please note that in spite of having double glazing this is not quiet either as the hotel and a steep wall opposite form a canyon, at the bottom of which is a very busy road with lots of trucks and motorbikes on it. There was also a loud bass hum audible which seemed to come from inside the hotel -maybe associated with the ducting on the roof above us - and which continued till well past midnight. Another time I think I would take my chances with the street side - noise made by humans is easier to filter out with earplugs than motorbikes revving at lights or a deep vibrating hum......or possibly a room on a lower floor at the back would be quieter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
764 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#51 of 139 in Zurich
520 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 139 in Zurich
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#41 of 139 in Zurich
977 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#37 of 139 in Zurich
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marta

Property: Hotel Marta
Address: Zaehringerstrasse 36, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marta 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing