We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay & value for money”
Review of Hotel Marta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marta
Ranked #1 of 48 Zurich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you are not looking for 4- 5 stars hotel and you're on a budget, this is a great place to consider. Staffs were friendly. Our room was clean and bigger than expected. Good location and convenient. Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liyana_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Hotel Marta value for money for expensive cities. 5 mins walk from main station & old town. Room are simple and clean. Across the bridge have a Coop supermarket.
I've booked economy room for 2 adult and 1 3yrs old boy, when we check in the staff upgrade us to standard room plus with the same price as i book. So touched and grateful to the staff who served us.
If got chance we will back stayed there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EvelynJk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was really happy to find this hotel after looking at other reviews and prices of various places in Zurich. It is so close to the train station and easy to find, and so easy to walk around the city. The double room was actually a lot bigger than I expected. Nice that the rates can include breakfast too, I didn't find it any hassle to have to move my bowl and plate over to a trolley, and the selection is plenty good enough. The late check out time of 12pm is a bonus which I haven't seen often.
we are here in winter and the room temperatures are great - adjustable radiator. However, in summer, I can see that it could be pretty noisy if you needed windows open for airflow.
Basically, exceeded expectations. Not luxury, but great when you are out most of the day but still want somewhere friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was here in a double room with a friend.
This is a very nice and not expensive hotel in the centre of the city! Perfect position, 3 min from the station and very easy to find.
Rooms are very clean and confortable. The breakfast is simple but very good with fresh food.
It is also close to many restaurants and pub!
From here you can quikly reach tram station, the river, the lake and all the monuments!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariru89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

In an expensive city like zurich, finding a place like hotel marta is godsent - located 2 tram stops from the main train station, it is well located and quiet.

Pretty much a no frills hotel - beds were unfortunately too soft and small for comfort, pillows were non existent. That being said, the heater worked well and shower was amazing! Breakfast was really basic every morning and mostly self service - you need to return your trays and cutlery after eating.

Service is also basic - not the kind of swiss hospitality I expected though. Rooms were cleaned everyday but bedsheets replaced every 4 days.

Not cheap to stay anywhere else in zurich but it was really decent. Coop supermart is just down the streets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miracle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

you already know location cant be beat for proximity too train station and banhoffstrasse..Danielle was exceptionally attentive to my dilemma of finding cookoo clock.my room under the roof was perfect.thank you to all for pleasent stay.monus

Room Tip: upper floor not facing the street
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triems3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for excellent service, quiet street and big room, then it will not suit you.

For location, we don't doubt it. But there are quite a number of pubs on the same street and one just next door.

The room are clean, breakfast is simple but at least they serve hard boiled eggs which most of the other hotels we stayed in Swiss don't provide or provide at a cost of chf2 for 1 egg.

The traffic is pretty heavy so it's true that we have to keep our windows closed. Luckily it's oct so temp is around 14-21 degrees. So the rooms are still pretty cooling.

The wifi is good, it won't auto logout which we like it very much.

There are quite a number of Asians still in the hotel so we assume its popular with Asians.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOUSEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
812 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
980 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 138 in Zurich
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#25 of 138 in Zurich
594 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#39 of 138 in Zurich
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marta

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 36, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: £106 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marta 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing