We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful church right off the tram”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Peterskirche

St. Peterskirche
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.73*
and up
Zurich Old Town Walking Tour
Ranked #19 of 211 things to do in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest churches in the city, this cathedral is best known for having the largest clock face in Europe.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful church right off the tram”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

When walking around Zurich, St. Peter is worth a quick stop to look inside and see. It isn't as ornate as Gross & Fraumunster, but is nevertheless lovely. On the day I went, there was a woman practicing the organ, so it was very calm and peaceful to sit and listen to her play. Out front during the fall there is a vendor that sells roasted chestnuts. They also have yoga at this church on occasion, as the sign outside read.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    192
    72
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
842 reviews
626 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Check the Clock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

If you are familiar with big clocks, like the one in Middle East and the famous Big Ben, this one holds the biggest church clock in Europe. A very peaceful area of worship, quite and humble and full of history.

Helpful?
Thank Jun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
841 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Largest Church Clock in Europe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This church has the largest exterior clock in Europe. The walk around it is fabulous. Part of walking tour of Zurich.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peaceful...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

very peaceful church, one of the many highlights of our trip. Peaceful church throughout and very beautiful. I loved visiting this church, especially after reading about it before we travelled. Vey pretty inside, really nice. I have lovely photos of the outside of the church. wonderful church!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

After much searching we found it eventually and I'm so glad we did. We happened to come in while a string quartet were practising and itt really added to the atmosphere!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MTeaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Peterskirche also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to St. Peterskirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing