We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forever under Construction”
Review of Opernhaus Zurich

Opernhaus Zurich
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.04*
and up
Zurich Highlights Tour
More Info
US$99.39*
and up
Private Tour: Zurich City Highlights
More Info
US$59.37*
and up
Zurich City Highlights with Felsenegg Cable Car Ride
Ranked #20 of 219 things to do in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous performance hall, built in the late 19th century, hosts frequent dramatic and musical events.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Forever under Construction”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Opera house surrounded by construction for the past 3 years. and it will take another few years till the work is done. I feel it takes away from the experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Smoke_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    94
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great setting to attend a performance”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Enjoyed the concert. I was told seats are often not available on short notice so it is worth ordering thickets in advance. You can check the view from each seat on the web site.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank woodinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic opera house”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The building itself is not very interesting but the acoustics is very good and the opera productions are great!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank hugomarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Be Careful, Could be Awful!”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Saw Carmen, very "post-modern": no set. Really wonderful acoustics and a great orchestra. But seating is very tricky. My seat - "Rang-Loge 10 Reihe 3, Platz 9" selling for a mere $120, was at best limited vision, and at worst, the poorest seat I have ever had for any event. Third row of a "box" seat, we were on stools, since only the first two rows seemed meant for actual seating. My view - see the photo - was absurd. Behind a support column, and no way to actually see anything but that column or the head of the person in front of me. And despite the website that advertised German *and* English surtitles, only German was presented, so English speakers were pretty much out of luck. Oh, and did I mention really hot in the theater? Wow, do not do this without knowing exactly what you are doing!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank LarryBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
1,508 reviews
610 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 889 helpful votes
“Wonderful Architecture”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

There were no performances there the day we visited Zürich. The outside of the building is very impressive with busts of famous composers along the top of the building.

Helpful?
1 Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opernhaus Zurich also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Opernhaus Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing