We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service, Classy, Sylish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Widder Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Widder Hotel
Ranked #2 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
280 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Classy, Sylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

“An oasis of tranquility, where luxury and style are matched by the warmness of the welcome.” We couldn’t agree more. My wife and I spent a total of four nights at the Widder in early June. We stayed here as part of a tour package (so I’m not certain of the rate), but online prices looked like our Superior Double Room was probably between 650 and 800 Swiss Francs ($694 or 525 Euros to $854 to 646 Euros). The stay was flawless – from our pickup at the airport, our stay, and back to the airport again.

The positives for this place begin with the fantastic service from the warm, friendly staff. Everyone knew our name no matter where we were in the hotel. There was always a greeting or an offer to assist in some way or another, for example, a towel and bottle of water waiting for me at the front entrance after returning from a run. (A running map was in the room so I had new options each day for my run.) The location in Old Town/Altstadt is ideal whether you are here for shopping, history or museums. It is just a block off Bahnofstrasse (the main shopping street), a five minute walk from the main train station or a five minute walk down to Lake Zurich. I assume it has a good location for business as well since there were definitely business people staying at the hotel. In addition, there are some good restaurants close by but not so much foot traffic that makes the room noisy. The gym is open 24/7 and is a bit small but had everything necessary. The wi-fi is included with your stay as well as the mini-bar (water, beer, juices). We enjoyed coming to the room each afternoon to have a cold drink and some nuts and chocolate before we headed out to dinner. A bit of a side note, my wife was particularly impressed with the quality of the hair dryer and the amenities in the bathroom.
We enjoyed the Widder bar as well, also with great customer service. The piano player provides a great atmosphere to socialize and relax. The bar features an extensive collection of whiskeys and scotch which we enjoyed sampling.

The negatives…there are none. We don’t have a single bad thing to say about this hotel.

Overall, a classy place to stay with great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    49
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
153
29
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Excellent service; excellent job on the architecture and interior design combining heritage with modernity, cozy and romantic rooms (though depending on expectations a bit small, we were lucky to get a room with an oriel and a little sitting area in it, which was extremely cozy); superb location in the heart of the city being right behind Bahnhofstrasse and being part of the old town. And best of all, the Widder Bar is right downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yves i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We enjoyed a lovely few days this spring at the Widder Hotel in Zurich. Located in the heart of the historic district, the Widder provides access to the many charms of Zurich. Breakfast was served in a brightly lit conservatory with a wide arrangement of lovely food and beverage. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Young0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before on one and two night trips. This trip was a one night stay for business meetings. Rooms clean, well appointed with complimentary bar in room, with water, beer, pop, nuts and chocolate - nice touch. Good outdoor lunch patio restaurant and very nice breakfast restaurant with great service and food. I was a little surprised at size of my room - smaller than usual with a single bed but I usually get a larger room and full king size bed - late arrival so I wasn't going to start complaining but rate was same despite room. They said they were fully booked so likely part of the reason. Great location, for restaurants and shopping.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Lovely old hotel that has been updated with modern features. I had the spa suite. I think they did an excellent job of pairing old with new. The room was simply charming and quite spacious for a European hotel. Service was first class. I loved the bar area and we kept going back after moving to another hotel as we found they were booked up for the final leg of the trip ( we moved to London for a few days in between). Location is everything, and I loved being able to walk to shops and restaurants. Only drawback was the bed was actually two small beds put together with a topper. Linens were first rate but I would prefer a proper king size bed.

Room Tip: Spend until it hurts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

The entrance is unimpressive as is the small street that the hotel is located on, but from the service at check-in to the decor, size of rooms and every aspect of my one night stay, I was incredibly impressed by this hotel. The room (303 in my case) was very large with very cool decor blending classic wooden beams with contemporary furnishings and colours. The bathroom (very importantly) was excellent - sizeable and well stocked with plenty of LARGE towels and toiletries. The minibar was all inclusive which was a nice treat. At breakfast, the buffet spread was limited but the a la carte menu covered everything I was looking for. I was on a business trip and needed to work so the spacious desk with ample lighting and plug points was much appreciated. The in-room dinning was as expensive as one expects in Switzerland (nothing more) but of very good standard.

Room Tip: I was in 303 which I highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuderia_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
293 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This hotel is member of the leading hotels of the world chain. It consists of several smaller buildings build together. The style is contemporary and the interior is very nice. A true 5 star luxury hotel in any way, with great service and fantastic food. The bar is a GEM with great service and even better ambience. The location is very central and it will not let you down even if you are well travelled and picky!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#4 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolder Grand
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widder Hotel

Property: Widder Hotel
Address: Rennweg 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Widder Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Widder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widder Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing