We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No regrets here!”
Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No regrets here!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Baur au Lac very much. The staff at the front desk set a great mood for us after our tiring journey to switzerland. The receptionists always had a smile on their faces which is definitely something to mention. The concierge staff were informative and could answer all the questions I had. A prime location with one of the best breakfast meals I've had at a hotel. I can recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Zurich!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear SaltMD

Thank you very much for having chosen the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for sharing your views about the hotel on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Your kind words about our staff make us very proud and have brightened the day of the entire team. Furthermore, we are very happy that you are recommending the Baur au Lac.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    72
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
109
214
45
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Baur is quite simply the best best hotel in which I have stayed, Everything is perfect, The setting the positioning, Decor, Service. All faultless and whilst not at all inexpensive it represents what a luxury hotel should. Its classic decor and sumptuous rooms are firmly set in my mind!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Richard W,

Thank you very much for posting your “Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in Zurich and are thrilled to learn that you regard the Baur au Lac as one of the best hotels.

Your kind words about the setting, décor and service make us very proud and will be shared with the entire team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I treated my staff to a Christmas dinner here. As my colleagues came from other country offices, a number of our guys/gals stayed here and without exception all were extremely pleased. The quality of the food in their Michelin restaurant was as expected, exceptional. A colleague had reccomended and he was quite correct.....a heartry and well fed thanks was in order...

Rooms are great, location great, service impeccible (if an olde worldy european style - I had jeans and a jacket/shirt and had some difficulty persuading the Manager to allow me to enter the restaurant as i was 'inappropriately' dressed. In any event he relented and I promised to abide by their rules on my next visit) Overall excellent. I have had a number of companies in Switzerland over the years and many stays/visits and this is probably the best hotel in Zurich. Not for families, unless old european royalty.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear l r,

Thank you very much for sharing your „Baur au Lac experience“ on tripadvisor and for recommending our hotel.

With great pleasure we learn that you and your colleagues were all extremely pleased with the service at the Baur au Lac and the choice of our fine dining restaurant Pavillon for the annual Christmas dinner.

Your kind words have been passed on to all our employees. Especially our Executive Chef, Laurent Eperon, is thrilled to learn that the efforts of this team contributed to your great satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you and your colleagues back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Staying at the Baur au Lac is like driving an old Bentley - a perfectly tuned classic which benefits from all the experience of decades of good living. The staff are really exceptional and deliver a flawless service to their guests. The location is superb and the outside bar/restaurant is a tremendously classy place to dine and pass the evening hours. The rooms are extremely comfortable (despite a surprisingly noisy air conditioning system - Bentley would not tolerate that). What a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Charlie1001,

Thank you very much for choosing the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.

Your thoughtful comparison of the Baur au Lac with a perfectly tuned classic automobile has brightened the day of our entire team. We are all extremely pleased to have met your expectations and were able to deliver accordingly.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We have been staying in Baur Au Lac now for many years every time we visit Zurich. It is our home away from home.They always take an extra effort to accommodate us in the same room that we have become so used to.The concierge is so kind and fun.And I love their breakfast :) With Baur Au Lac you know you are going the get the best service each time.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Okmen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear BC O,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor.

We were absolutely delighted to receive your feedback and happy to hear that you have enjoyed your April stay with us. Furthermore we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the loyalty over the past years.

Rest assured that your encouraging words have been shared with all our employees. Our staff is already looking forward to your next visit and we all hope to have the chance to meet your expectations again during your next stay at the Baur au Lac.

It is always a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I had the extreme pleasure of spending a day and a night in Zurich in between travel locations on our 10th wedding anniversary celebration. The hotel is absolutely without fault although such 'faultless' attention to detail does come at a jaw dropping price! We were lucky enough to have been kindly upgraded to a sumptuously appointed suite and marveled at the art and the comfortable bed. The location is absolutely perfect for both business and shopping. The service is attentive but not invasive and nothing was too much trouble.
The restaurant at breakfast has to be one of the classiest, most welcoming settings we've ever seen--the orchids and in fact, all of the flowers were breathtaking.
My only nit-pic, is that the price for breakfast is ridiculously over the top --especially since you are already paying top dollar for the accommodations--it does seem a bit greedy to not provide breakfast with the price of the room.
Having said that, we thoroughly enjoyed our very short visit and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: River view, but any suite will be spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeemarieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear DeemarieSingapore,

Thank you very much for sharing your views about your recent stay at the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you and your husband had a great time in Zurich and enjoyed your visit at the Baur au Lac.

Your kind words about the location, service and the restaurant Pavillon are very much appreciated. Your annotation regarding the pricing of the breakfast has also been acknowledged.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back on a later occasion.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel during the festival that is held every three years in the city. Given the enormous chaos that accompanies these events, the hotel was a quiet oasis literally a few feet from the center of the action. The staff is extremely friendly and well trained and our hotel room was exceptionally well appointed. We also ate at the Rive Gauche restaurant which was quite good. A perfect place to stay in Zurich and we recommned it without qualification.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisplayer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear tennisplayer1,

Thank you very much for recommending our property and sharing your „Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor.

We are delighted, that you have chosen the Baur au Lac for your visit in Zurich and are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. In addition, we are glad that we were able to keep some of our usual calm atmosphere despite the festive activities throughout the entire city centre.

Your kind remarks about our employees make us very proud. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
462 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
737 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#5 of 139 in Zurich
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#8 of 139 in Zurich
839 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
200 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Property: Baur au Lac
Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing