We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Swiss.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Swiss.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was stay to the hotel last weekend. The service, the personnel and the rooms was fantastic. I try also the restaurant and was in a top level, food and service outstanding. Continue the great job. I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilfecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear ilfecon,

Thank you very much for writing about your “Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have passed an enjoyable time with us and that especially our service, rooms and food was to your liking.
Your kind words have already been shared with the entire Baur au Lac team and will motivate us to meet your expectations during your next stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    69
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
107
205
44
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful.The decor and rooms are sublimely superior. The decor and ambience peaceful and elegant….The proximity to the Bahnhoffstrasse only a short walk.Also,close to the tram that runs along this road…The garden setting to have sundowners or a meal in summer..serene and beautiful….popular for local trendsetters…However, this hotel is expensive but you get what you pay for….the bar fridge in the room is complimentary…which I thought to be a nice touch…we stayed in a junior suite…..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Roaline D,

Thank you very much for posting such wonderful and kind words about your recent Baur au Lac experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you particularly appreciated the décor and ambience as well as our services and central location. Your kind feedback has been shared with the entire team and we hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back to the Baur au Lac on another occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Baur Au Lac is an institution in Zurich and one of the places I have stayed at with parents and family for the last 25 years. On par with the best Top End hotels of Europe or New York it is the place for some serious luxury. Quite expensive but worth it if you have the cash, another hotel oozing old world charm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karanbir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Karanbir B,

Thank you very much for sharing your Baur au Lac experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have passed another enjoyable time at the Baur au Lac and would like to express our profound appreciation for considering us for more than 25 years.
It is always a pleasure to hear that families like yours have been staying with us for generations.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I held a company event at this hotel the end of October. As an Event Planner I am very particular with venues. This place is top notch. The service is amazing. My first presenter ran over and we had to rearrange the schedule a bit. They immediately were able to accommodate our new schedule as our lunch was pushed back a few minutes. The wait staff was pleasant, kind, and very attentive! I could not be happier and would definitely return.

Only negative, I had some trouble getting access to the internet, but I also did not ask for help so that was half of the problem :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRapkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear LRapkin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We believe that service in our industry is an ongoing process and we strive to do the utmost to meet each customers expectations. Rest assured, that your compliments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Baur au Lac.

Kind regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just few minutes’ away from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich’s celebrated shopping high street, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps.
To try the tuna steak they serve at the restaurant "Rive Gauche".
Beautiful the ambience and the excellent food you find in the other restaurant of the hotel, "The Pavillion".
If you want to live a unique experience in Zurich in one of the place that is part of the best leading hotels in the world for something like 170 years, you should consider the Baur au Lac.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTO_PROVASI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear ROBERTO_PROV,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your views about the Baur au Lac on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you recommend to stay with us for a unique luxury experience and that you enjoy the food in both of our restaurants Rive Gauche and Pavillon.

Furthermore we are happy to hear that our central location in the heart of Zurich was appreciated.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

First time there, this is a gracious old hotel with impeccable service from staff who attend to every detail. Rooms were excellent, shower was 10 out of 10 and the free mini bar was a bonus. Perhaps breakfast could have been included for that price and a multiple night stay. Many fantasic restaurants within 500 to 700 metres, excellent shopping of course. Minor complaint, it took ten minutes for a taxi to arrive we we walked out early in the morning (before rush hour)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerdickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear rogerdickie,

Thank you very much for choosing the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and especially liked our rooms, the free minibar and the power shower.

That our employees were able to give you an impeccable service makes us very proud. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were invited today in the Pavillon at the Hotel Baur au Lac in Zurich newly redone. Fresh looking but very purple. We took something from the business menu which ended up to be very expensive. We had no wine and only one course but everything we had was exellent but overprized. A lot of German waiters nothing to complain about the service but not charming. A pitty it could be different.

Room Tip: This is a Restaurant and all the tables are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Crystal1942,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Pavillon Restaurant.

Your feedback gives us the opportunity to continuously improve our service and to enhance the guest experience. We certainly believe that an engaging and warm service mentality is an essential added value to the Pavillon and Baur au Lac experience.

Please accept our apologies that we missed this opportunity to convince you of that during your recent visit. Rest assured that we will work on this important aspect and hope to welcoming you soon again at the Baur au Lac.

Kind regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#4 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#9 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Property: Baur au Lac
Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing