We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Baur au Lac in Zurich [3 rooms, 6 guests] for 5 days, as part of a longer holiday. After flying in from the United States we arrived in the early morning and even in our tired, disheveled appearance, every single employee greeted us with a warm hello and a smile. What’s more they worked to get us into our suites almost immediately so we could get some rest and begin enjoying our fantastic stay in Zurich and all of Switzerland.
The hotel itself is wonderful, it is old school, European luxury. From stained glass, heated bathroom floors, fresh flowers, stocked [complimentary] bar, and afternoon treats in the room.
But what is even more important to us, are the content and gracious employees. Every single one, from Bell Captain to Valet, Room Service staff, restaurant employees or House Keeping seemed to take pride in working at the Baur au Lac. Upbeat and happy all.
We loved our entire stay in Switzerland. Five Days wasn’t enough. The cities are great, the country-side and scenery is some of the most beautiful in the world. The food is amazing. The open- air markets can’t be replicated [at least here where I live]. St Moritz was incredible. If you go, give yourself a lot of time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear aztraveler,

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts about your recent stay at the Baur au Lac.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to record your experience in such detailed way and are delighted to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in so many different areas.

Your kind words about our employees make us very proud.Rest assured that we have already shared your wonderful review with the entire team, who were happy to hear that they contributed to the positive experience you enjoyed with us.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    69
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
106
204
42
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monheim am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and myself stayed at the hotel for only one night we had in Zurich, yet we wished we have lost out Passports and stay there forever...
Maybe the nicest hotel we ever stayed in our life, with amazing staff so helpful and freindly.
We will sure come back for longer stay very soon.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Adi H,

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your "Baur au Lac experience" on tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us and that our employees contributed to make your stay at the Baur au Lac an unforgettable one.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have to say that, being close to the lake, as well as to the Bahnhofstrasse, this hotel is probably the best located luxury property in Zurich. Even if its entrance hall and bar may look outdated, the rest of the property looks great (plus, don't let that fool you, both the inside bar and the adjunct bar/restaurant Rive Gauche serve great drinks. Also, both restaurants (Rive Gauche and Pavillon) serve great food (even if rather pricey), and the room service is not bad, either. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are pretty large. Be aware, though, that not all rooms are renovated. My parents have deliberately requested the old fashion room for some reason (my fiancé and I stayed in a new one), and it was just as good as the renovated one, except the decor was a lot less 'clean'.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Juliana V,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your „Baur au Lac experience“ on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed the stay at the Baur au Lac and particularly liked our central city location, the specious guest rooms and all our restaurants.

It is with great pleasure to inform you that we will be refurbishing the lobby area over this summer time. Your kind feedback about the friendliness of our staff makes us very proud. Please rest assured that we have already shared your encouraging words with all our employees, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue in the same direction and to perform our daily services joyfully and with enthusiasm.

We truly hope to welcome you and your family back to the Baur au Lac on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

After 10 days in a small apartment in Paris, we checked into the Hotel Baur au Lac for 2 nights on our 35 day Europe trip. It was fabulous! We had a lovely suite, with wonderful linens, and a beautifully appointed bathroom. There was room to spread out and be very comfortable and the mattress was also very comfortable! All of the concierge persons were warm and helpful, as were the front desk persons, who were very welcoming! Although we did not choose to have dinner at the hotel restaurant, (the concierge recommended two marvelous restaurants that we enjoyed!) we did have breakfast there every morning. It was also wonderful.....many beautiful choices on the buffet and hot choices made fresh in the kitchen. We couldn't have asked for more!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brambok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear brambok,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us, it is a true pleasure to read your review.

We are delighted that you had such a great stay and in particular enjoyed the design and comfort of the suite you stayed in as well as the warm and welcoming service of our employees.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Service was top notch. Felt very welcome when we first stepped in the door. Member of Leading Hotels so I was given an upgrade to a suite. Great view and amenities. Bathroom was huge and well appointed. Only complaint is the shampoo and conditioner in one bottle. I always bring my own conditioner since this hotel product doesn't condition my hair well. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel so quiet. Definitely a good night's sleep! Small breakfast buffet compared to other hotels but the staff will get anything you desire in addition to the buffet. Dinner was absolutely fabulous and the chef surprises a marvelous treat and opportunity to taste a variety of special dishes. Concierge was most helpful in suggesting activities while we were there and making sure we got where we wanted to go easily. I have stayed at this hotel many times and it is my hotel of choice in Zurich!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear New2002,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at the Baur au Lac.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the stay with us, including the suite you stayed in, dining at our restaurant and the breakfast during your stay. Furthermore we are pleased to learn that the Baur au Lac team made you feel at home and was able to contribute to the positive experience you enjoyed with us. Rest assured that we have already shared your encouraging comments with our employees.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent a long night at the Baur Au Lac's main dining hall, entirely reserved for the annual company dinner (around 100 people). We were extremely well catered for, obviously it's not an easy thing to accommodate that amount of guests on a non-buffet menu, and I have to say the quality was top-notch. The ambience and decor are decidedly classy, and the access to the smoking lounge was a nice touch - in freezing December weather. Service was very good, considering the time it lasted, and the increasing tipsyness of the guests, staff behaved with the utmost discretion and efficiency. Only a 5* superior establishment can avail itself of such a high class of service, quality of food, and style - there is little doubt in my mind that staying overnight here (if you can afford it!) can only be an equally stylish experience. Evidently, the location is perfect, probably the best in the city, as it is placed where the Bahnhofstrasse meets the lake, in other words the absolute heart of the city. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zerosixzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Zerosixzero,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your annual company dinner with us.

We strive to achieve a positive guest experience that is second to none. We were flattered by your compliments which confirms that we are on the right path.

Especially the fact that your experience lasted for many months after your actual visit is a great compliment to the whole team.

We hope to have you soon again with us and remain with best regards.

Kind regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Baur au Lac is a gem. From the second you arrive, you feel pampered and treated as a Royal family member. The service is perfect and ran with maestria. I love this hotel and cannot recommend it enough. We had dinner at Rive Gauche as we stayed only for one night during this holiday weekend. The food was delicious and the service efficient and courteous. The room was very nicely decorated and the hotel offers complimentary mini bar, internet service. I certainly will be back on my next stay in Zürich. The Baur au Lac is the place to stay if you are looking for a five stars perfection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talamenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear talamenthe,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Baur au Lac and for having taken the time to share your impression on Tripadvisor. Your feedback with regards to our facilities and services is extremely important to us and allows us to monitor and improve our services.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the time spent with us and especially appreciated our service, our restaurant Rive Gauche and the interior design of our rooms. Rest assured that we will share your review with all our employees. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#9 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Property: Baur au Lac
Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing