We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!”
Review of Baur au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baur au Lac
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

While researching hotels in Zurich, the Baur au Lac seemed to land near the top of every list I could find. Now I know why. It is simply one of the best hotels we have every had the pleasure at which to stay. Everything about our stay was simply superb. We arrived early from the US, but the staff was able to show us to our room very quickly. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, and were fortunate enough to have been given a lovely upgrade to a city suite, with a large bedroom and separate, equally spacious living room. The bathroom was positively palatial, with white marble and sparkling chrome everywhere, and a beautiful, large soaking tub. The bed was very comfortable, with soft, beautiful linens. We were treated like royalty, from the sumptuous spread of champagne, fruit, and sweets waiting for us in our room, to the greeting by the concierge and doorman each morning when we emerged to walk the city. We enjoyed 2 meals at the hotel. The first afternoon, we had lunch at the terrace restaurant, with a view to the grassy lawn and lake beyond. The food was quite good here, and the setting is spectacular. The last night, we splurged on dinner at Pavillion, their Michellin starred restaurant. The room was one of the most beautiful dining rooms I have ever seen, and the service and food were amazing. The dinner was not inexpensive, but well worth the price to experience this level of service. Without exception, every member of the staff at Baur au Lac was exceedingly helpful and kind, reflecting the high standard of the hotel. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear francomama,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your views about your „Baur au Lac experience” in such a detailed way.

It is with great pleasure that we learn that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary and we are thrilled that you had such a fantastic time with us. Furthermore we are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations in every single aspect of your stay and that all members of staff contributed in leaving a good and lasting impression.

Rest assured that your kind and encouraging review has already been shared with the entire Baur au Lac team. Your thoughtful words are a great motivation for the team and help us to continue in the same direction and to perform our daily services joyfully and with enthusiasm.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Baur au Lac on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    73
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
109
216
45
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Joburg
Level Contributor
343 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We had high expectations and the dinner in no way disappointed .

This is a special place and needs to be enjoyed by fully accepting the special way in which the staff treat their customers. Never before have I experienced such professional and dedicated service. The detailed knowledge of our waiter on all dishes and wines was just unquestionable and the TLC that he afforded us remarkable .

The food did not disappoint , and included asparagus starters , grilled veal and veal and mushrooms for main followed by season strawberries and a cheese dessert. All dishes were impeccably presented and prepared just perfectly.

This is a quality fine dining restaurant and one should therefore expect to pay the appropriate price.

Highly recommended .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EONJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear EONJoburg,

Many thanks for having taken the time to evaluate your recent experience at the Restaurant Pavillon. We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us.

Your kind compliments are much appreciated and shared with the entire team. It’s nice to read you liked the attentive, professional and dedicated service as well as the detailed knowledge of our waiters. Moreover we want to thank you for the compliments on the good quality of food.

Our intention is to provide every guest with a memorable experience and we try to continuously maintain a service with attention to details.

Thank you again for sharing your experience of the Pavillon. We would be more than happy to welcoming you soon again at our restaurant and to treating you with our service.

Kind regards,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
523 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Baur au Lac. From being greeted at the front door, to the person whose job it is to gently rotate the revolving door at the perfect speed for you, the the incredibly helpful concierge who greeted you by name and helped with everything - this is an absolute first class hotel. Easily the best service we had in Paris, Nice, Monte Carlo, Vaduz, Switzerland, London, Venice, Rome - I could go on, but I'm sure you get the point - this place is special.

The beds are incredibly comfortable, and the pillow menu allowed us to fine tune our sleep. Make sure to ask for that upon arrival.

The mini-bar is free (which every 5 star hotel should do - make that every hotel). All the little touches in the hotel were great. A nice sitting area for drinks and coffee in the lobby, as well as a nice outdoor lounge in the gardens.

The Pavilion restaurant is their fine dining restaurant. We didn't have dinner there, but the breakfast was superb, with outstanding service and great food. The bakery selections were fantastic.

Everyone spoke English, which was very much appreciated.

The location is fantastic - only 2 blocks to the Bahnhofstrasse, and a short walk to the water and. Old Town, so superb location.

Just a truly great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzzzdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear zzzzdoc1,

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts about your Baur au Lac experience and for choosing the Baur au Lac for your recent stay in Zurich.

We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experience in such a detailed way and are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil so many aspects of your expectations.

Please rest assured that we will share your encouraging words with our entire team, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue in the same direction and to perform our daily services joyfully and with enthusiasm.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we truly hope to welcome you back at the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a very beautiful hotel with amazing (but very expensive) restaurants. I love the gym - had everything I needed and was clean and empty. Love that everything in the mini bar is free. Love the bedding and towels. Our room was beautiful. Staff was so nice. Enjoyed every meal I ate here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingworkingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear travelingworkingmom,

Thank you for choosing the Baur au Lac for your stay in Zurich and for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had such a great stay with us and in particular appreciated our gym, the bedding and towels of the guest room and the service provided by our staff.

Rest assured that we have already shared your kind review with the entire team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have just spent 1 night here. Wonderful place. Staff very friendly and relaxed. Comfortable rooms with excellent housekeeping. Breakfast is the best I have ever had in a hotel - delicious fruit; wonderful bakery selection. Expensive, of course, but in this case you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon20London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear John20london,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your Baur au Lac experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and especially appreciated our breakfast selection, the comfort of the guest room and the friendliness of our staff.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Baur au Lac in Zurich [3 rooms, 6 guests] for 5 days, as part of a longer holiday. After flying in from the United States we arrived in the early morning and even in our tired, disheveled appearance, every single employee greeted us with a warm hello and a smile. What’s more they worked to get us into our suites almost immediately so we could get some rest and begin enjoying our fantastic stay in Zurich and all of Switzerland.
The hotel itself is wonderful, it is old school, European luxury. From stained glass, heated bathroom floors, fresh flowers, stocked [complimentary] bar, and afternoon treats in the room.
But what is even more important to us, are the content and gracious employees. Every single one, from Bell Captain to Valet, Room Service staff, restaurant employees or House Keeping seemed to take pride in working at the Baur au Lac. Upbeat and happy all.
We loved our entire stay in Switzerland. Five Days wasn’t enough. The cities are great, the country-side and scenery is some of the most beautiful in the world. The food is amazing. The open- air markets can’t be replicated [at least here where I live]. St Moritz was incredible. If you go, give yourself a lot of time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear aztraveler,

Thank you very much for passing on your valuable thoughts about your recent stay at the Baur au Lac.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to record your experience in such detailed way and are delighted to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in so many different areas.

Your kind words about our employees make us very proud.Rest assured that we have already shared your wonderful review with the entire team, who were happy to hear that they contributed to the positive experience you enjoyed with us.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monheim am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and myself stayed at the hotel for only one night we had in Zurich, yet we wished we have lost out Passports and stay there forever...
Maybe the nicest hotel we ever stayed in our life, with amazing staff so helpful and freindly.
We will sure come back for longer stay very soon.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Adi H,

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your "Baur au Lac experience" on tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us and that our employees contributed to make your stay at the Baur au Lac an unforgettable one.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wilhelm Luxem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
464 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
740 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#5 of 139 in Zurich
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#7 of 139 in Zurich
842 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
200 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baur au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baur au Lac

Property: Baur au Lac
Address: Talstrasse 1 | 8001 Zürich, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baur au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baur au Lac has the discerning tastes of its guests to thank for the leading position it has maintained for more than 170 years in the international luxury hotel industry. Set in its own park, the hotel enjoys a unique location overlooking the lake and the Alps - and yet is still but a few minutes' walk from the Paradeplatz financial district and the Bahnhofstrasse, Zurich's celebrated shopping high street. While offering the ultimate in comfort and privacy, the rooms and suites have been equipped with every, yet hardly noticeable technical refinement. The large marble bathrooms with heated floor and daylight match up to the highest demands of comfort, design and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Baur au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baur Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing